Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, The

Michelle Hodkin
Mara Dyer doesn't believe life can get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there. It can.                                                                                                                                                  She believes there must be more to the accident she can't remember that killed her friends and left her strangely unharmed. There is.                                                                                                       She doesn't believe that after everything she's been through, she can fall in love. She's wrong.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2018-01-25
I have always been wanting to read this series, more so because of the creepy feeling it gives out. Going in, I had a very vague idea of what it might be, so it was pretty confusing as it was a psychological thriller-slash-urban fantasy. This first book mostly goes into setting up Mara's and Noah's relationship - it is a bit insta love-y at the start but by the end it makes more sense. So, Mara - she is this PTSD patient who finds out that she actually can cause what she thinks to happens in real life. Naturally, her being a survivor of a trauma means that she is also an unreliable narrator, which is apparent by the numerous hallucinations and blackouts she has throughout the book. Noah, who despite knowing this, doesn't run away from her like she expects. Instead, together they try to find out what her powers mean and how she can do the things she can.

The writing and the plot keeps you in suspense pretty much throughout, and with Mara's consciousness a fragile thing, it is difficult to ascertain what events are real and what are her imagination, and what are supernatural. As she finds that her powers are getting more out of her control (if they ever were), she is scared of what she is becoming. It is very sad thing to watch, her suffering but not being able to say anything about it to anyone except Noah. Her family, while supportive, have a trigger finger on the button to psychiatric care, and she wants to avoid that fate. So, Noah is pretty much her rock, even if she finds him infuriating and arrogant in the beginning; he turns out to be pretty decent actually despite all the bad boy character tropes at the start.

The ending was a like a major cliffhanger, with preconceived ideas being overturned and the possibility of a new big bad looming. Overall, it is an interesting start to the series and I am intrigued as to where it will go.
Reviewed: 2017-12-07
Initial Impressions 1/7/16: 3.5 - 4 stars
But... but... I still have SO MANY QUESTIONS.
This was definitely addicting and interesting but the middle dragged for me a bit. As a psychological thriller with a (possible) paranormal twist, the one big issue I had with the book was that I wanted to see so much more of that throughout the whole book. More clues, more ideas, more "happenings", more theories. There were plenty of things that happened but it was like okay that happened... but WHY.
The ending did get super twisty and I rushed to finish it BUT it just opened more doors and didn't really close any at all. Guess I just have to pick up book two like... now. SERIES BINGE READ, HERE I COME. It better be good.

Full review originally posted on The Book Addict's Guide 2/8/16: I was SUPER excited to finally start this series! THE UNBECOMING OF MARA DYER kicked off with a bang (maybe quite literally) and really hits the ground running! I was immediately intrigued and was hoping for some super twisty things to happen!

The middle of the book dragged for me just a little bit. When books kick off with such a big start and then the pacing slows, I tend to have trouble staying hooked unless more crazy and/or twisty things continue to happen. There was a lot of necessary set-up of Mara’s new life in Florida and how she meets Noah Shaw/comes to fall for him but there were so many THINGS I couldn’t wait to find out that it did slow down for me just a tad!

There was SO much hype about how much this book/series messes with readers’ heads that I just really wanted so much more of that throughout the book. There were a lot of things that happened but there was very little explanation in this book. I knew (well, hoped) that it would be explained in later books but I do get frustrated when more questions appear than answers. I feel like in order to keep readers hooked, you need them to feel like they got something and aren’t left feeling so confused or in the dark. It’s also more exciting to actually get some answers and then be able to ponder what that means for the rest of the series!

The ending did get super twisty and I totally raced to finish the book! Thank goodness I already knew I was binge-reading the series because I would have had to after that ending!
Reviewed: 2015-08-26
I loved this! It's crazy and messed with my head. What the heck is going on?!
Item Posts
@zoeslibrary
@zoeslibrary completed #unbecomingofmara... on 2015-01-24
@zoeslibrary
@zoeslibrary began #unbecomingofmara... on 2015-01-23
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 completed #unbecomingofmara... on 2014-11-07
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 began #unbecomingofmara... on 2014-11-01
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 completed #unbecomingofmara... on 2013-10-02
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 began #unbecomingofmara... on 2013-09-28