Hatchet

Gary Paulsen
ALONE Thirteen-year-old Brian Robeson is on his way to visit his father when the single-engine plane in which he is flying crashes. Suddenly, Brian finds himself alone in the Canadian wilderness with nothing but a tattered Windbreaker and the hatchet his mother gave him as a present -- and the dreadful secret that has been tearing him apart since his parent's divorce. But now Brian has no time for anger, self pity, or despair -- it will take all his know-how and determination, and more courage than he knew he possessed, to survive. For twenty years Gary Paulsen's award-winning contemporary classic has been the survival story with which all others are compared. This new edition, with a reading group guide, will introduce a new generation of readers to this page-turning, heart-stopping adventure.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2017-12-14
I wasn't on the edge of my seat with this story or anything, but my children were. I'm rating it high for that, because I didn't read it for me. I read it for them, and they really took a lot from it.
Reviewed: 2017-02-21

I remember reading this book when i was in 5th grade. My memories of the book were that it was a good story and I was interested in reading it again from an adult perspective. To my great disappointment I am unable to finish the book. The story so far is a good one but I am greatly put off by the abundant (or at least it seems abundant to me) use of repeating words and phrases throughout the beginning of the book. Due to the fact that this book has won multiple awards and how I liked it so much when i was younger, I am sure that the problem i have is just a personal preference now I am an adult.

Reviewed: 2016-11-09

Hatchet is an excellent book to incorporate into an upper elementary school classroom. This book grabs the interests of both girls and boys, and therefore is great to use for the entire class. This book would be great for reading groups for the class because I think that it grabs the interest of all readers. Personally I usually do not read survival books like this one, but I am very glad I did! I read this book with a small group of advanced fourth grade readers, and the students were always eager to continue reading.

When using this book in a classroom I would incorporate questions that make readers think what they would do in a situation like Brian. Brian, the main character, has endured a plane crash and is stranded in the Canadian woods with only a few items. Brian is only thirteen and he is placed in a situation where he must develop strategies for survival. One of these items was a hatchet, which relates to the title. When reading this book I would ask the students to look for the significance of the hatchet and I would ask students why the author included this in the title.

I really enjoyed this book and I highly recomend it to other teachers. The book was full of suspense and curiousity and it even brought family drama into the mix. The book was difficult to put down at the end of a chapter because I always wanted to know what was happening next. I would definitely recomend this book for any teachers who are working with upper elementary school students.

Reviewed: 2016-07-05
Paperback
Item Posts
@jdanz
@jdanz completed #hatchet... on 2019-01-21
@jdanz
@jdanz began #hatchet... on 2019-01-20
@gdorney1
@gdorney1 completed #hatchet... on 2018-05-27
@gdorney1
@gdorney1 began #hatchet... on 2018-05-19