Mockingjay

Suzanne Collins
Against all odds, Katniss Everdeen has survived the Hunger Games twice. But now that she's made it out of the bloody arena alive, she's still not safe. The Capitol is angry. The Capitol wants revenge. Who do they think should pay for the unrest? Katniss. And what's worse, President Snow has made it clear that no one else is safe either. Not Katniss's family, not her friends, not the people of District 12. Powerful and haunting, this thrilling final installment of Suzanne Collins's groundbreaking The Hunger Games trilogy promises to be one of the most talked about books of the year.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2018-09-13
The perfect finally to the trilogy. Really brought everything together, with of course, more death. With a realistic ending to all the war.
Reviewed: 2018-01-17
I wasn't really sure of some of the choices that were made early on in this book and wasn't sure how Suzanne Collins could pull off a great finale to The Hunger Games Trilogy. But she did! It was another one of those books I couldn't put down. The themes in this series are excellent. There is no victor in War.
Reviewed: 2017-12-07
Original review from first read 6/9/11 (3 stars): An interesting ending to the series, but I have to say, I was a little disappointed. There was a giant build up to the end of the entire novel and it seemed to all end too quickly and I was confused as to what was going on at first. The end caught me by surprise because I didn't know it was happening. All-in-all, it was still a good read, enjoyable, and a must to finish the series.

Review from second read 3/21/13: Wow, so I first read this book almost two years ago and upon the second reading, I can definitely say my opinion has improved!!! Still my least favorite of the trilogy but I bumped my rating up from three stars to four.
I think I was SO excited to finish the series the first time around that I raced through the ending too much and lost a lot of content by jumping here and there. I had the audiobook this time so my pacing was set for me!
There were a lot of things I didn't remember about the end so that was really fun still being able the be surprised.
Oh, and the epilogue was sooooo cheesy. I could have totally done without that (and forgot it was even in the book).

Review originally posted on The Book Addict's Guide: This is my second time around reading the entire trilogy of THE HUNGER GAMES and honestly, I was hoping as I went into MOCKINGJAY the second time around that I would come out on the other side with a better overall opinion of it. When I first read MOCKINGJAY, I wrote in my Goodreads review that I felt like it ended much too quickly and I was really disappointed with the turns it took. The beauty of re-reading this book via audiobook was that I wasn’t allowed to rush through anything. Here’s the thing: Whenever I get excited about ANY part in a book, I rush rush rush to read and find out what happens. I skip paragraphs of description and just read dialogue, I jump to the next page, I skim through pages so I can get to the end faster… And I totally think that ruined my reading experience the first time around! MOCKINGJAY still isn’t my favorite book of the series by far, BUT I did rate it a whole star higher on Goodreads this time around!

So that probably should have been the last paragraph of the review, but somehow it’s the first. I gave away the ending!!!! Oh well.
Moving on… I think MOCKINGJAY was my least favorite of the series for a few reasons. For one, I felt like Katniss was exceptionally whiny in this book. I mean, yes, no kidding that she has a ton of crazy stuff to deal with (and I also partially blame the narrator of the audiobook because I think she has a really weird voice which is NOT how I would have Katniss sounding in my head at all) but I see less and less of her bravery and determination in MOCKINGJAY. Too many times I felt like she was giving up instead of using her “fire” (ha) to fight back.

I also really did not like the development of the love triangle in this book. I was already more on Gale’s side than Peeta’s so the whole hijacked-Peeta did not help me like him more in this book. I remember through the first read it was annoying and almost painful to read about Peeta hating Katniss so much, but somehow this time around, it didn’t feel nearly as abrasive at all.

Then there’s my issue with seemingly all final books in dystopians: The politics. I’m rarely interested in political story arcs in books. I’m just not interested in politics in real life and fictional politics often frustrate me instead of interest me. Now I get that the entire trilogy is kind of centered around this political aspect (whoops?) but MOCKINGJAY really gets into the ins and outs of how to take down President Snow and the capitol and some of it just lost my interest.

Oh, and I TOTALLY forgot about the epilogue. Probably because it was super cheesy. I really could have done without that.

I’m really glad that MOCKINGJAY turned out to be a better read for me the second time around, but it still was my least favorite of the series. I really think the audio version helped me with pacing but took a little away from how I felt about Katniss as a character.
Would I re-read the series again? I’m actually not sure. Usually I’ll re-read my favorite series until the cows come home, but at least for now, I feel satisfied with going back over these books once. I may skim through CATCHING FIRE before the movie comes out and I really do feel like I can always go back to THE HUNGER GAMES and enjoy it, but I don’t know if I really want to push as far to read MOCKINGJAY for a third time.
Reviewed: 2017-10-14

Don't read unless you want little hints of absolute distopian future. The critical reader will find all sorts of juicy political commentary on current American affairs.

Reviewed: 2017-04-11
Really wanted to read this series for a couple of years now. Glad that I finally did - action-packed and suspenseful throughout!
Reviewed: 2017-04-03
IT WAS DELICIOUS
Reviewed: 2017-03-11

This series is a super fun and super quick read. Undeniably entertaining. And you can read it in a day.
-mm

Reviewed: 2017-01-29
I'm docking off a star purely because Katniss's confusing textual analysis of "The Hanging Tree" made her say the word "freaky" and that seems very out of character.
Reviewed: 2017-01-02
A bit of a disappointment at the end, but I suppose it's hard to avoid such a thing with such a well-received series. The story follows to the conclusion of the rebellion and what happens to the inhabitants afterwards, including a slight epilogue.

I felt there was a bit of a cop-out by making Gale possibly evil in invoking him possibly playing a part the death of Prim. I had no preference over which suitor Katniss might choose, but I couldn't help the author didn't quite pull it off. I get that they were fighting for their lives and Katniss was not very involved in the military aspect of the rebellion, but I felt the author did it just to create a clear like between Peeta and Gale.

I also didn't care for Katniss killing President Coin. Again, I realize she was grieving over all that had happened and all she had lost, but that seemed a little out of the blue. It just didn't quite work for me.

Overall, it was an enjoyable series, if rather depressing.
Reviewed: 2016-11-01
read
Item Posts
@mama2eeee
@mama2eeee completed #mockingjay... on 2012-12-01
@ginadavidson
@ginadavidson completed #mockingjaythehun... on 2011-02-23
@drewpy94
@drewpy94 completed #hungergames00000... on 2018-07-04
@drewpy94
@drewpy94 began #hungergames00000... on 2018-07-01
@jeanielee2007
@jeanielee2007 completed #mockingjay... on 2012-04-17
@jeanielee2007
@jeanielee2007 began #mockingjay... on 2012-04-17
@savannah20
@savannah20 completed #mockingjay... on 2017-08-11
@emmiemae
@emmiemae completed #mockingjay... on 2016-07-20
@electricidiot
@electricidiot completed #mockingjaythehun... on 2017-04-28
@ams1190
@ams1190 completed #mockingjay... on 2017-04-16
@ams1190
@ams1190 began #mockingjay... on 2017-04-04
@livloves
@livloves completed #mockingjay... on 2012-12-27
@mrscutting
@mrscutting began #mockingjay... on 2016-08-26
@booklover23
@booklover23 completed #mockingjay... on 2015-07-30
@bayakers
@bayakers completed #mockingjay... on 2011-08-27