Anna and the French Kiss

Stephanie Perkins
Anna was looking forward to her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more.  So she's less than thrilled about being shipped off to boarding school in Paris-until she meets Etienne St. Clair. Smart, charming, beautiful, Etienne has it all . . . including a serious girlfriend.But in the City of Light, wishes have a way of coming true.  Will a year of romantic near-misses end with their long-awaited French kiss?Stephanie Perkins keeps the romantic tension crackling and the attraction high in a debut guaranteed to make toes tingle and hearts melt.'Very sly.  Very funny.  Very romantic.You should date this book.'- MAUREEN JOHNSON,New York Times bestselling author of 13 Little Blue Envelopes and Scarlet Fever

Reviews

Reviewed: 2017-01-01

Read 25th May 2016 - 28th May 2016

Reviewed: 2016-02-15

I read this book in a day, it was a definite page turner and got my attention. My first encounter with Stephanie Perkins was in her collection of short holiday stories; My True Love Gave to Me.  I was impressed then, she captivated me with the way she wrote and her cute idea of being attracted to a voice for her project. 

 

Read more at:

http://www.coloradocozy.org/2016/02/anna-and-french-kiss-review.html

Reviewed: 2016-02-06
I picked this book to read out of the hundreds on my TBR shelf because I wanted something fun and more realistic fiction. This book was perfect. It was just what I needed, and I can't believe I waited so long to read it. Anna and St. Clair are frustrating in parts, but you can totally feel the love they have for each other throughout the book. It also makes me want to visit Paris. I'm very eager to read Lola and the Boy Next Door and Isla and the Happily Ever After because if they are anything like Anna and the French Kiss I'll be one satisfied reader.
Reviewed: 2015-08-27

For the two of us, home isn't a place. It's a person. 

This book is a thoroughly engaging and captivating read. It's a beautiful, laughing, loving, book-- as beautiful as Paris itself. As a person who still haven't gone to Paris, I feel as though I'm in that beautiful city just by going through the pages.

It's quite amazing how I found myself really engaged with the book. It's a page-turner! It's brilliantly done and completely entertaining. And the characters-- wow! It's rare for me to encounter characters that are literally not perfect. I mean, physically and emotionally. Both Anna Oliphant and Étienne St. Clair are not that perfect and it just makes everything realistic. And that's what I love about this book. They also have the chemistry that makes me swoon to bits!

He is no longer St. Clair, everyone's pal, everyone's friend. He is Étienne. Étienne, like the night we met. He is Étienne; he is my friend. He is so much more. 

The plotline is good and there are lots of swoon-worthy moments between Anna and Étienne. I love how their relationship eventually progressed throughout the book. Their love story is ugh-- something you can dream about forever. It's a teeny love story but it's really romantic in a real sense. Plus, it teaches life lessons that relate to family life and friendship.

After reading the book, I found myself daydreaming. I guess I'm still in a book hangover mode. :)

My Rating for this book: 5 Amazing Stars!

Book review also posted on my blog: http://bibliopearl.wordpress.com/2014...
 

Reviewed: 2015-03-24
Best book so far this year
Reviewed: 2015-01-08
The quintessential love story! I'm so happy that I finally read Anna and the French Kiss! The hype is totally true.. It's the cutest story ever! This has definitely become one of my favorite contemporaries! The main character in this book is Anna Oliphant. She's a great character and very easy to relate. She's also smart and have a great sensee of humor. Anna felt like a real person. I can really connect to what Anna feels throughout the book. For example, the story begins with Anna getting settled into dorm life. Similiar to her, I went abroad for university so I immediately thought of my first day when I was there. Adapting to a new environment, finding new friends, learning a new language.. it brought so many memories. I really love how Stephanie Perkins wrote Anna. She's the kind of pwrson who appeals to both teenagers and adults. For teenagers, she really captured how it's like to experience a relationship and for adults, it reminded us of how we forst fall in love. Speaking of falling in love, it brings us to the swoon-worthy character that Etienne St. Clair. Wow.. where do I begin? First off, he has an accent. That's a great sign. He's also funny, understanding and romantic. With those kind of qualities, what's not to love about him? Now I understand why so many people put him at the top of fictional boyfriends list. He's a perfect boyfriend material. We girls need an Etienne in our lives ;) There are also side characters in the book such as Meredith, Josh and Rashmi. Love all of them! I love that from the first day they were nice with Anna and eventually become close friends through the whole year. There was also Toph and Bridgette. It's really unfortunate that Anna and Bridgette can't be best friends as they were before but at the same time, this kind of conflict oftrn happens. I'm glad that they resolve the problem in the end. As for the character that I didn't like, that would have to be Amanda. I hate her so much! The way she stressed some words when she was speaking was so annoying! She's also really rude and bitchy.. hate those kind of people. Now to the relationship between Anna and Etienne. It's one of my favorite romances ever! I love that it's isn't insta-love. Although St. Clair already liked her from the first day of school, the way Stephanie Perkins wrote it, it flowed very nicely. They have problems here and there, like with Ellie and the love triangle with Meredith, but from those problems they get to know each other very well and become stronger as a couple. They also bonded from life experiences. They both have problems with their dads (which is unfortunate) but in a way it brings them closer together and I really like this aspect from the book because it was realistic. Yes it has flaws and there's nothing wrong with that. There's no sich thing as a perfect relationship and sometimes a connection between two people are created from difficult situations. Another thing that I really like from Anna and the French Kiss is Stephanie Perkins's writing style. There's something fun in the way she writes. It has that spunk and sass which makes it very enjoyable to read. I like her writing right of the bat. Anna is the perfect example of today's generation of teenagers. I think that's why like this book so much. Her writing is so relatable that it's as if Anna is our best friend and she's telling us her life story. I wish she was my best friend.. that would be so much fun! Overall, I adored Anna amd the French Kiss! It illustrates the perfect love story in one of the most beautiful cities in the world. Reading this book makes me want to go to Paris and visit Point Zero, Eifell Tower and all the sights that are mentioned in the book. It's also a fun and heartwarming read and you can't help to smile and feel happy when you finished the book. I'll re-read this book a lot, that's for sure! And it's now safe to say that I'm officially a Stephanie Perkins fan! I'll read anything that she writes :)
Reviewed: 2015-01-02

After my last read, dystopian with so much death and sadness, I knew that I needed a little happiness to perk my up a bit and Anna and the French Kiss did just that. I swear, the entire time I was reading this there was a cheesy smile on my face and it was really funny. I loved the romance and that it wasn't so much of an insta-love like all the books I have read lately. Anna and Étienne... I love them. (Although I kind of like Josh a little because of how artistic he is.. and I would've loved to know more about him) But Étienne is amazing and dreamy, and I found myself reading everything he said in that lovely English Accent. Yes I am one of those girls who love the accent lol. The entire story, it just felt so real like it could happen to me. I loved the friendships Anna built and how they became a little family away from their own families and even the bits about Anna's family... I mean when she talks about her dad, I just laugh a little because he's a writer about romance between people with cancer and stuff and I immediately think of Nicholas Sparks and maybe... John Green (Except I love John Green) But lets get back to Anna. I just loved how Anna and Étienne's friendship grew, that there were best friends and it wasn't just full on lust and I want to take your pants off type of story. And I loved that the characters where a little older than the usual YA Romance where they are like 16 years old and found their soulmate and are like in love at first sight. Plus, the fact that the story takes place in Paris just makes me want to fly out there and find my own Étienne. Completely recommend!!  

Item Posts
@emilieb
@emilieb completed #annaandthefrench... on 2016-03-17
@emilieb
@emilieb began #annaandthefrench... on 2016-03-09
@mistborntaylor
@mistborntaylor completed #annaandthefrench... on 2015-06-05
@mistborntaylor
@mistborntaylor began #annaandthefrench... on 2015-05-31
@curling101
@curling101 completed #annaandthefrench... on 2017-11-03
@jamiefillbrandt
@jamiefillbrandt began #annaandthefrench... on 2015-07-24
@jamiefillbrandt
@jamiefillbrandt completed #annaandthefrench... on 2015-07-25
@jamiefillbrandt
@jamiefillbrandt completed #annaandthefrench... on 2015-07-25
@kassidyschnoop
@kassidyschnoop completed #annaandthefrench... on 2016-09-02
@kassidyschnoop
@kassidyschnoop began #annaandthefrench... on 2016-06-28
@hopsalot268
@hopsalot268 began #annaandthefrench... on 2016-07-13
@booklover23
@booklover23 completed #annaandthefrench... on 2013-05-05
@marsftw
@marsftw completed #annaandthefrench... on 2015-06-04
@belleslovelyboo
@belleslovelyboo completed #annaandthefrench... on 2016-04-25
@belleslovelyboo
@belleslovelyboo began #annaandthefrench... on 2016-04-19