Anna and the French Kiss

Stephanie Perkins
Anna was looking forward to her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more.  So she's less than thrilled about being shipped off to boarding school in Paris-until she meets Etienne St. Clair. Smart, charming, beautiful, Etienne has it all . . . including a serious girlfriend.But in the City of Light, wishes have a way of coming true.  Will a year of romantic near-misses end with their long-awaited French kiss?Stephanie Perkins keeps the romantic tension crackling and the attraction high in a debut guaranteed to make toes tingle and hearts melt.'Very sly.  Very funny.  Very romantic.You should date this book.'- MAUREEN JOHNSON,New York Times bestselling author of 13 Little Blue Envelopes and Scarlet Fever

Reviews

Reviewed: 2017-01-01

Read 25th May 2016 - 28th May 2016

Reviewed: 2016-02-15

I read this book in a day, it was a definite page turner and got my attention. My first encounter with Stephanie Perkins was in her collection of short holiday stories; My True Love Gave to Me.  I was impressed then, she captivated me with the way she wrote and her cute idea of being attracted to a voice for her project. 

 

Read more at:

http://www.coloradocozy.org/2016/02/anna-and-french-kiss-review.html

Reviewed: 2016-02-06
I picked this book to read out of the hundreds on my TBR shelf because I wanted something fun and more realistic fiction. This book was perfect. It was just what I needed, and I can't believe I waited so long to read it. Anna and St. Clair are frustrating in parts, but you can totally feel the love they have for each other throughout the book. It also makes me want to visit Paris. I'm very eager to read Lola and the Boy Next Door and Isla and the Happily Ever After because if they are anything like Anna and the French Kiss I'll be one satisfied reader.
Reviewed: 2015-08-27

For the two of us, home isn't a place. It's a person. 

This book is a thoroughly engaging and captivating read. It's a beautiful, laughing, loving, book-- as beautiful as Paris itself. As a person who still haven't gone to Paris, I feel as though I'm in that beautiful city just by going through the pages.

It's quite amazing how I found myself really engaged with the book. It's a page-turner! It's brilliantly done and completely entertaining. And the characters-- wow! It's rare for me to encounter characters that are literally not perfect. I mean, physically and emotionally. Both Anna Oliphant and Étienne St. Clair are not that perfect and it just makes everything realistic. And that's what I love about this book. They also have the chemistry that makes me swoon to bits!

He is no longer St. Clair, everyone's pal, everyone's friend. He is Étienne. Étienne, like the night we met. He is Étienne; he is my friend. He is so much more. 

The plotline is good and there are lots of swoon-worthy moments between Anna and Étienne. I love how their relationship eventually progressed throughout the book. Their love story is ugh-- something you can dream about forever. It's a teeny love story but it's really romantic in a real sense. Plus, it teaches life lessons that relate to family life and friendship.

After reading the book, I found myself daydreaming. I guess I'm still in a book hangover mode. :)

My Rating for this book: 5 Amazing Stars!

Book review also posted on my blog: http://bibliopearl.wordpress.com/2014...
 

Reviewed: 2015-06-16
This book is v interesting
Reviewed: 2015-06-01
This book is absolutely fabulous. I had heard so many fantastic reviews and it took me a long time to actually get around to reading it, but MAN I am hooked on Stephanie Perkins now. Anna and the French Kiss was such a fast paced and addictive read that I just had to know what happened; would Anna and Etienne St Clair finally get together? Ms Perkins style of writing was fabulous and this book is on my list as an all-time favourites.

Anna's world is turned upside down when her Father decides to send her to an American school in Paris. It is apparently the thing to do for rich and prestigious; send their child to a school in another country. So Anna has to leave her life behind and her friends and start a new school in a foreign country where she doesn't speak their language. Talk about a little daunting!

Everything is going smoothly; she meets Meredith next door who introduces Anna to a new group of friends and seems to fit in nicely. Getting to know the dynamics of the group, who is dating who, etc., Anna carry's on. Anna and Etienne seem to get thrown together and knowing he has had a serious girlfriend for years, she tries to not think about him romantically. It is very difficult though, Etienne is so very good looking, witty, charming, an Englishman and very sought after throughout the school.

The more time they spend together, Anna and Etienne’s feelings increase all the more. Etienne takes Anna sightseeing and to some glorious places, but the air is so thick with tension and they try to ignore their feelings.

Anna’s life back home is non-existent anymore. Her best friend since childhood is being vague and she feels like something funny is going on. All the while Etienne and Anna are spending more and more time together and getting into situations that they shouldn’t.

Can Anna and Etienne get it together? What about her other friends, will they be ok with them sneaking behind their backs? What about Etienne’s long-time girlfriend? Where will the crush that Meredith has on Etienne come in?

This is such a sweet, romantic and fun read that I highly recommend to all readers. I loved all the flirting, the vivid descriptions of Paris and the characters. You can sit by and watch as Anna grows into a woman, fighting her fears and becoming an independent woman; making hard decisions even if it means breaking her heart. Fabulous fabulous book!
Reviewed: 2015-05-14
I loved how sweet this book was and, at the time, I really wanted a good romance book and this book was perfect.
Reviewed: 2015-05-10
One of the cutest and deepest books I've ever read. It definitely wasn't a cliche romance.
Reviewed: 2015-03-24
Best book so far this year
Reviewed: 2015-02-09

Stephanie Perkins has a fantastic novel in Anna and the French Kiss.  It was one of the best contemporary novels I've read in a while, and while it is predominantly a romance story it has everything.  Anna goes through life just as a real teen does; she deals with moving to a new country, keeping up in a new school, making new friends, trying to keep her old friends, having a crush, and staying in touch with her family.

Perkins depicts Anna so realistically that she could jump off the page.  Anna doesn’t take advantage of being in a new country, especially one like Paris and she keeps her passion, film, alive! Staying true to yourself is one of the hidden lessons within the book.   I think that's what makes this book so great.  Yes, the characters are developed and the plot is believable, but Perkins doesn’t purposefully throw “life lessons” in the readers face as other contemporary works can, turning them into an after-school special.  Also, as a reader, I was satisfied even when the characters acted in a way opposite from what I wanted because I could see it happening that way in real life.   Overall, a fantastic, fantastic book.  I would recommend it to boys and girls because of the strong themes presented turn it from a contemporary romance to a contemporary life novel.  I’m looking forward to future books by Stephanie Perkins. I bet they’ll be just as great!
Item Posts
@mistborntaylor
@mistborntaylor completed #annaandthefrench... on 2015-06-05
@mistborntaylor
@mistborntaylor began #annaandthefrench... on 2015-05-31
@curling101
@curling101 completed #annaandthefrench... on 2017-11-03
@jamiefillbrandt
@jamiefillbrandt began #annaandthefrench... on 2015-07-24
@jamiefillbrandt
@jamiefillbrandt completed #annaandthefrench... on 2015-07-25
@jamiefillbrandt
@jamiefillbrandt completed #annaandthefrench... on 2015-07-25
@kassidyschnoop
@kassidyschnoop completed #annaandthefrench... on 2016-09-02
@kassidyschnoop
@kassidyschnoop began #annaandthefrench... on 2016-06-28
@hopsalot268
@hopsalot268 began #annaandthefrench... on 2016-07-13
@booklover23
@booklover23 completed #annaandthefrench... on 2013-05-05
@marsftw
@marsftw completed #annaandthefrench... on 2015-06-04
@belleslovelyboo
@belleslovelyboo completed #annaandthefrench... on 2016-04-25
@belleslovelyboo
@belleslovelyboo began #annaandthefrench... on 2016-04-19
@circaway
@circaway completed #annaandthefrench... on 2015-09-17
@kayis813
@kayis813 completed #annaandthefrench... on 2015-02-06