Shades of Earth: An Across the Universe Novel

Beth Revis
The final book in the New York Times bestselling trilogy, perfect for fans of Battlestar Gallactica and Prometheus! Amy and Elder have finally left the oppressive walls of the spaceship Godspeed behind. They're ready to start life afresh--to build a home--on Centauri-Earth, the planet that Amy has traveled 25 trillion miles across the universe to experience. But this new Earth isn't the paradise Amy had been hoping for. There are giant pterodactyl-like birds, purple flowers with mind-numbing toxins, and mysterious, unexplained ruins that hold more secrets than their stone walls first let on. The biggest secret of all? Godspeed's former passengers aren't alone on this planet. And if they're going to stay, they'll have to fight. Amy and Elder must race to discover who--or what--else is out there if they are to have any hope of saving their struggling colony and building a future together. They will have to look inward to the very core of what makes them human on this, their most harrowing journey yet. Because if the colony collapses? Then everything they have sacrificed--friends, family, life on Earth--will have been for nothing. FUELED BY LIES. RULED BY CHAOS. ALMOST HOME. Praise for the ACROSS THE UNIVERSE trilogy: "Entirely original, deeply compelling, and totally unputdownable--I've found a new favorite!" --Carrie Ryan, New York Times bestselling author of The Forest of Hands and Teeth "A murder mystery, a budding romance, and a dystopian world gracefully integrated into a sci-fi novel that blows away all expectation." --Melissa Marr, New York Times bestselling author of Wicked Lovely "A fast-paced, action-packed follow-up . . . that explores not only the nature of authority and loyalty but fear of the unknown and fulfilling one's personal destiny." --LA Times

Reviews

Reviewed: 2015-11-28
A mostly satisfying conclusion to the Across the Universe series. The ending was cheesy, but I liked it. Don't judge me for liking a happy ending the best.

Amy, Elder, and half of the population have left Godspeed to form a new colony on Centauri-Earth. The new planet is dangerous and isn't the world Amy hoped it would be, even with her parents unthawed along with the rest of the team from Earth. And quickly find they aren't alone and must pull together, shipbornes and earthbornes, to survive.

The dynamics of the series change with the new setting. We get far less of Elder and more about Amy, her relationship with her parents, and her survival on the planet. Even Elder's thoughts were mostly about her. I felt book 2 was more of a focus on Elder, and this book evens things out by having more of a focus on Amy. The one thing I would have liked was a epilogue set in the future to let us know how the colony survived, because I like to tie a bow on things.

I'm glad I checked out this series from the library without knowing anything about it. It is a good addition to the ever-growing young adult dystopian fiction world with the added bonus of being set in space. 3 stars.
Item Posts