Anne Frank: The Diary of a Young Girl

Anne Frank
Discovered in the attic in which she spent the last years of her life, Anne Frank's remarkable diary has since become a world classic -- a powerful reminder of the horrors of war and an eloquent testament to the human spirit. In 1942, with Nazis occupying Holland, a thirteen-year-old Jewish girl and her family fled their home in Amsterdam and went into hiding. For the next two years, until their whereabouts were betrayed to the Gestapo, they and another family lived cloistered in the "Secret Annex" of an old office building. Cut off from the outside world, they faced hunger, boredom, the constant cruelties of living in confined quarters, and the ever-present threat of discovery and death. In her diary Anne Frank recorded vivid impressions of her experiences during this period. By turns thoughtful, moving, and amusing, her account offers a fascinating commentary on human courage and frailty and a compelling self-portrait of a sensitive and spirited young woman whose promise was tragically cut short.


Reviewed: 2017-02-08
Reviewed: 2016-12-17
Little girl can write so beautiful narration... unbelievable.
Reviewed: 2016-09-08

G 11      1080L   GLE 5.9


(RENUMBERING TO #5, from #3 12/23/16)  3.   1.00  PB G bent front corner, crease in middle of corner at edge    52/93/71     7x4

4.  .50  PB  G  bumped corners, lignin throught, tiny stain on page edge, shows wear on spine from reading L1  52/93/23   7x4


Reviewed: 2015-11-28
I can't believe I had never read this before. Heartbreaking to read about what happened to all of them after their discovery and capture.

I was surprised by this book. I expected more thoughts around being discovered, but in a way it is nice to see that she really was a young girl with hopes for the future. She was annoyed by her perfect older sister and her mom drove her crazy. It could apply to any girl at any time period.

I would be absolutely stir-crazy in the Annex. It's a miracle they didn't get caught sooner. Bad food, no food, no entertainment, strict schedules. You couldn't use the bathroom when you wanted.
I realize those in the concentration camps had it much worse, and it seems Anne did, too. For a young girl, she didn't complain too terribly much about being stuck there. She knew she was fortunate in a lot of ways.

I thought it was interesting to see how she matured during their time in the Annex. Deep down inside, she was just a regular teenaged girl, the same world-over. She really could have been a talented writer. What a shame.
Reviewed: 2015-05-05

I am not yet done with this book yet, but I want to be...I really like Anne Frank. I think that it is eerie how similar we are, in thoughts and feelings and personality traits. But this seems to drag on and on and on and on and on.....

NOW I am done (a couple hours later). I skimmed the rest of the book. I don't know what it is about this book, but I love it and hate it at the same time. I have given in 3/5 stars for this reason. I think the writing is so-so, but the legacy is incredible. I think the actual person of Anne Frank is an inspritation to all. Her wit and wisdom was far beyond her years and children of the same age today could only wish they had the ability to express their feelings in such an adult manner.

One of my favorite parts of the book was when Anne said she wanted to be a writer and to maybe even publish her diary someday. Little did she know...

Reviewed: 2014-10-21

This is such a sad story, but it gives great insight into Anne's life and what it was like to live in Occupied Territory during WWII.

Item Posts
@rebajw completed #annefrankthediar... on 2018-02-14
@rebajw began #annefrankthediar... on 2018-02-04
@pulnskims93 completed #annefrankthediar... on 2017-11-02
@pulnskims93 began #annefrankthediar... on 2017-10-27
@rue began #annefrankthediar... on 2017-03-12
@elemmont117 began #annefrankthediar... on 2017-02-21
@baix0x began #annefrankthediar... on 2016-12-23
@baix0x began #annefrankthediar... on 2016-11-30
@mrscutting completed #annefrankthediar... on 2016-09-06
@mrscutting began #annefrankthediar... on 2016-09-02
@swilfong completed #annefrankthediar... on 1977-06-05
@jennduarte2 completed #annefrankthediar... on 2015-08-25
@ariel completed #annefrankthediar... on 2015-05-05
@ariel began #annefrankthediar... on 2015-04-24