Kite Runner, The

Khaled Hosseini
The unforgettable, heartbreaking story of the unlikely friendship between a wealthy boy and the son of his father's servant, The Kite Runner is a beautifully crafted novel set in a country that is in the process of being destroyed. It is about the power of reading, the price of betrayal, and the possibility of redemption; and an exploration of the power of fathers over sons, their love, their sacrifices, their lies. A sweeping story of family, love, and friendship told against the devastating backdrop of the history of Afghanistan over the last thirty years, The Kite Runner is an unusual and powerful novel that has become a beloved, one-of-a-kind classic.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2018-08-16
Traces the unlikely friendship of Amir, a wealthy Afghanistani youth, and a servant's son, in a tale that spans the final days of the nation's monarchy through the atrocities of the present day. Reader's Guide available. Reprint.
Reviewed: 2018-01-17
Wow. Well written, the novel all came together at the end. Great insight into Afghanistan and its cultures and how the Taliban's rule of terror changed the country.
Reviewed: 2017-11-16
“A man who has no conscience, no goodness, does not suffer.”

I am a Pakistani who got chances to make some Afghani friends,later they went back to their home country so we are no more in touch,what I mean to say is that I am familiar with their culture and traditions,also most of the words used are also used in Urdu so I didn't have to consult the notes.In short,it was an easier read for me.
I immensely enjoyed reading this novel,if "enjoy" is even the right word,i don't know!Because I also cried a lot.
I liked many things about this book,one of those is it's quotable quotes.

“there is only one sin, only one. And that is theft. Every other sin is a variation of theft. When you kill a man, you steal a life... you steal his wife's right to a husband, rob his children of a ather. When you tell a lie, you steal someone's right to the truth. When you cheat, you steal the right to fairness... there is no act more wretched than stealing.”

Why this novel became one of my favorites,and why I feel like reading this book made a difference,
* The overall story,
* Amir's gray character,
* Baba's interesting character,
* Hassan's lovable character,
* Writing style,
* Historical background,
* Emphasis on ethics,
I recommend it to everyone!
Reviewed: 2017-05-11

This book was a real eye-opener. As a child growing up in the post 9/11 world, I had only ever thought of Afghanistan and the rest of the Middle East as sandy deserts, already ravaged by the years and years of war. The Kite Runner made Afghanistan beautiful, some place you could be homesick for. This book made me see that the Middle East had a culture that was not just religion and war. Reading it was a turning point in many of my (family-influenced) political opinions; it huamanized the people of that region and immigrants. I would definitely recommend that everyone read this book. 

Reviewed: 2016-08-26
August 2007: http://www.3rsblog.com/2007/08/just-finished-kite-runner.html
Reviewed: 2016-06-24
Wow. It has been a long time since I read a book that made my jaw literally drop. A really long time. I've read some good books, but this book shocked me to the point that my jaw dropped and I sat shaking my head in wonder. This book was so good, on so many levels, that me talking about it surely can't do it justice.

Without giving too much away, I will just say that I was enlightened and appalled by this book. I couldn't believe some of the events that occurred in the story. No, I take that back, I could believe them, but I didn't want to.

The Kite Runner tells the story of Amir, and his relationships from childhood to adulthood, focusing mainly on his father, Baba, and their servants, Ali and his son Hassan. Amir describes the prejudice that ran rampant in Afghanistan in the 70's - and still does, apparently. He tells the story of not only the loss of his childhood, but the loss of his country as well.

I think that's all that I will write. Just read this book.
Reviewed: 2016-05-10
Available
Reviewed: 2015-11-28
You know how some books are emotionally draining to read, yet you end up glad you read them? That's this book for me.

Frequently on banned and challenged book lists, the Kite Runner is filled with violence, sexual situations, and extremely unlikeable characters. It's not a happy book. It's the story of an flawed, privileged boy growing up in pre-war Afghanistan who searches for forgiveness and redemption for the mistakes made in his youth. Some scenes were extremely difficult to read. Some scenes made me sad for the characters. Some scenes left me indigent to the violence in the world--the stadium scene specifically. It's a story about how secrets can shape our lives, and it's a story about relationships.

If you can't take dangerous, violent situations involving children, give this one a pass. You will not be uplifted by the end, but I think it's worth reading. Just be sure to have something funny and sweet ready to read immediately after you are done to restore your faith in humanity. Maybe a good Dave Barry book, or The Princess Bride.
Reviewed: 2015-05-14
Going into The Kite Runner, I had no clue what it was going to be about whatsoever. I heard a few times it was a really good book and a quick read. Those rumors held true. I loved the book. The first part of the book focuses on Amir and the rest of the characters in his childhood and the disturbing event that defined his life. The 2nd part focused on his life in America and finally the 3rd part his chance at redemption. Each character had a good depth and I felt I had a understanding of each one and knew who they were. I liked the beginning of the novel the most. I felt that part did a good job laying down the background for the rest of the book so I had a emotional connection with what I was reading. In the beginning of the novel I remember thinking Baba was Hassan's father but I ignored it because everyone could tell he was Hazara, so when it was revealed later on it was still shocking. The disturbing scene was done in a way that made it haunting but not over the top, which is good because it's creepy if its in such detail. I would of liked to of read more detail in the 2nd part after Hassan and Ali left, because it seemed like Amir and Baba got closer but we didn't really see how, just when they were in America they were already closer. The 3rd part was hard to read at times and parts annoyed me. I liked that it was revealed Baba was Hassan's father, I even liked how Rahim set up Amir into taking Sohrab. I didn't like how Assef was the same abuser, seemed a little too neatly done I guess and caused an eye roll. Since it was him I wanted to know if he knew Sohrab was Hassan's son. I know a lot of people didn't like how the end was with more tragic stuff happening on top of already tragic events, but I thought when Sohrab tried to take his own life after being promised to come to America to finding out maybe not yet was a intense scene, especially when he was tired of life after the attempt. That chapter got to me bad, and I think it was reasonable and accpeted that he was silent for a year even in America. The last chapter was great though, not a sappy ending but a ending that left on a positive note while also being in the right tone of the book, finally Amir is resolved and is connecting with Sohrab.
Item Posts
@kcxcbb5
@kcxcbb5 completed #kiterunnerthe... on 2005-10-01
@raizarivera03
@raizarivera03 completed #kiterunnerthe... on 2017-02-10
@raizarivera03
@raizarivera03 completed #kiterunnerthe... on 2017-02-12
@kuimugweru
@kuimugweru completed #kiterunnerthe... on 2017-02-23
@kuimugweru
@kuimugweru began #kiterunnerthe... on 2017-02-18
@vern4301
@vern4301 began #kiterunnerthe... on 2016-07-14