Great Gatsby, The

F. Scott Fitzgerald
The Great Gatsby, F. Scott Fitzgeraldâ

Reviews

Reviewed: 2018-08-24

While Moby-Dick is THE American novel of our eternal values, Gatsby is THE American novel of, for, and about modern times.

Reviewed: 2017-09-17
Good book. I read this for fun, not for school. Would read again.
Reviewed: 2017-08-29
Book Description The Great Gatsby, F. Scott Fitzgerald's third book, stands as the supreme achievement of his career. This exemplary novel of the Jazz Age has been acclaimed by generations of readers. The Great Gatsby, F. Scott Fitzgerald's third book, stands as the supreme achievement of his career. This exemplary novel of the Jazz Age has been acclaimed by generations of readers. The story of the fabulously wealthy Jay Gatsby and his love for the beautiful Daisy Buchanan, of lavish parties on Long Island at a time when The New York Times noted "gin was the national drink and sex the national obsession," it is an exquisitely crafted tale of America in the 1920s. The Great Gatsby is one of the great classics of twentieth-century literature.
Reviewed: 2017-02-08
3.88
Reviewed: 2016-09-12

FR 6    England     1070L   no GLE

copies

1.  .50  PB  F  bumped, crease on front cover, corners bent, lots of underling, notes on back cover page, tear on spine,  L1  25/04/39    8x5

2.  .36  HB  G    no dust jacket, dark teal board w/black spine,  L1    25/1953   8.5x5.5

.50  PB   B-C   text book, (w/ notes and preface by Bruccoli)

 

Reviewed: 2015-07-14
Perhaps one of the most overrated books in American literature. Mildly entertaining with an overall laziness that makes it seem phoned-in.
Reviewed: 2015-05-14
I feel like The Great Gatsby should be more of a play rather than a novel. Some of the emotions and dialogue could be confusing or a little bland, especially from the women characters (but even more so Daisy), I get that is their personality but while reading it it didn't seem like a character flaw, just odd writing. I enjoyed the plot surrounding Daisy, Tom, Gatsby and the Wilson's, what I liked even more was that it was told from a different persons point of view so you kind of felt the frustration Nick was going through while all of this was going on even though he wasn't a big part of it he was still around it and drawn in against his will. The book is fairly short but I felt it kind of moved slow and had parts that were just filler but it makes sense why they are in the story towards the end. Overall The Great Gatsby was a good read, I felt it is a bit overrated with how much hype it gets and would much rather of read it in a play format.
Reviewed: 2015-02-05

A short read, which doesn't make it any less of a master piece. A story set in 1920's. It's about a mysterious man, Gatsby, Who throws a parties every night that he never attends. His neighbor becomes good friends with and gets to know Gatsby. This book has amazing themes but the best has to be dissatisfaction, which is a driving force of why Gatsby was so successful among other things. I have read this book a few times and each time is has been though provoking to me. You can check out this book at the Colona Public Library. ~Ashley

Item Posts
@nancypickard
@nancypickard completed #greatgatsbythe... on 2018-08-09
@nancypickard
@nancypickard began #greatgatsbythe... on 2018-08-06
@goofaloo
@goofaloo completed #greatgatsbythe... on 2015-09-25
@goofaloo
@goofaloo began #greatgatsbythe... on 2015-09-24
@kcxcbb5
@kcxcbb5 completed #greatgatsbythe... on 2013-06-01
@ginadavidson
@ginadavidson completed #greatgatsbythe... on 2012-03-31
@bsorensen96
@bsorensen96 completed #greatgatsbythe... on 2012-09-23
@powerawbs
@powerawbs completed #greatgatsbythe... on 2018-04-21
@sissywhitfield
@sissywhitfield began #greatgatsbythe... on 2011-01-01
@shctclibrary1
@shctclibrary1 began #greatgatsbythe... on 2018-04-04
@nancypickard
@nancypickard began #greatgatsbythe... on 2018-03-23
@ariel
@ariel completed #greatgatsbythe... on 2018-02-18
@ariel
@ariel began #greatgatsbythe... on 2018-01-30
@j3ssrobertson
@j3ssrobertson completed #greatgatsbythe... on 2018-01-06
@andrewbingham09
@andrewbingham09 completed #greatgatsbythe... on 2010-07-24