Tales of Beedle the Bard, The

J. K. Rowling
From J. K. Rowling, a new addition to the bookshelves of every Harry Potter fan: THE TALES OF BEEDLE THE BARDTHE TALES OF BEEDLE THE BARD, a Wizarding classic, first came to Muggle readers' attention in the book known as HARRY POTTER AND THE DEATHLY HALLOWS. Now, thanks to Hermione Granger's new translation from the ancient runes, we present this stunning edition with an introduction, notes, and illustrations by J. K. Rowling, and extensive commentary by Albus Dumbledore.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2019-05-17
The stories themselves, and even more so, the commentary by Albus Dumbledore, were both entertaining and uplifting as well as highly thought-provoking. A very good use of commentary by a character as if in an academic setting, with metaphors dealing with racism and prejudice that go far beyond this small and very readable book itself.
Reviewed: 2016-07-05
Hardback
Reviewed: 2016-06-24
I enjoyed the stories in this little book. They were very simply written, but touching all the same. And aren't fairy-tales supposed to be simply written? Since they are allegorical, if they are too complicated, then readers will miss the point.

Case in point: The tale about the Fountain of Luck. I felt that it was similar to The Wizard of Oz, in that what they most sought after was within themselves from the start, they just didn't know it.

Simple, fun, and heck, it's JK Rowling. ;)
Reviewed: 2016-05-30
I love these little side books, this one and the two Hogwarts text books that came before. They're great fun to read and really add to the illusion of a 'real' magical world.

This book consists of five tales, the magical equivalent of Muggle fairy tales. All five are charming--a couple are quite dark--albeit quick reads, but in my opinion very satisfying.

I enjoyed reading Dumbledore's notes at the end of each tale along with the footnotes added by JKR.
Item Posts
@bananabelle
@bananabelle completed #talesofbeedlethe... on 2018-06-18
@jeanielee2007
@jeanielee2007 completed #talesofbeedlethe... on 2012-04-17
@jeanielee2007
@jeanielee2007 began #talesofbeedlethe... on 2012-04-17
@bchamb121
@bchamb121 completed #talesofbeedlethe... on 2017-06-23
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 completed #talesofbeedlethe... on 2015-01-17
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 began #talesofbeedlethe... on 2015-01-17