Girl on the Train: A Novel, The

Paula Hawkins
A debut psychological thriller that will forever change the way you look at other people's lives. Rachel takes the same commuter train every morning. Every day she rattles down the track, flashes past a stretch of cozy suburban homes, and stops at the signal that allows her to daily watch the same couple breakfasting on their deck. She’s even started to feel like she knows them. “Jess and Jason,” she calls them. Their life—as she sees it—is perfect. Not unlike the life she recently lost. And then she sees something shocking. It’s only a minute until the train moves on, but it’s enough. Now everything’s changed. Unable to keep it to herself, Rachel offers what she knows to the police, and becomes inextricably entwined in what happens next, as well as in the lives of everyone involved. Has she done more harm than good? Compulsively readable, The Girl on the Train is an emotionally immersive, Hitchcockian thriller and an electrifying debut.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2018-06-03
I was honestly surprised by how much I enjoyed reading this book. The writing and story were super good, and the characters and their development over the course of the story were top-notch. I highly recommend The Girl on the Train.
Reviewed: 2017-12-07
Initial Impressions 10/29/16: After much anticipation, I finally picked up The Girl on the Train! I totally see the Gone Girl comparison but I also liked that the book did go in a very different direction. It was really interesting to see the many unreliable narrators (always a fan) and I was always kept on my toes because I was never quite sure who or what to believe. That does create a problem sometimes because I love these sorts of thrillers so I always start to form some wild accusation in my head, sometimes which I like better than the actual book, but I guess not all books can have endings so wild because otherwise it'd be really played out!
I really couldn't put this book down. I was so interested and hooked and I loved the mystery and suspense of it all. The ending was good and actually not what I expected BUT I also didn't quite love it. I enjoyed that it wasn't what I expected but I felt after that whole book that it lost a little excitement towards the reveal and I really wasn't a fan of the villain speech to reveal it all.

Full review as orginally posted HERE on The Book Addict's Guide 12/9/16: After much anticipation, I finally picked up THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN! I totally see the GONE GIRL comparison but I also liked that the book did go in a very different direction. There are so many thrillers nowadays that compare to big titles and they’re big shoes to fill! I wasn’t as blown away by GONE GIRL as some but I did enjoy the many twists and not knowing what to expect. THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN had that same sort of feel but the ending actually felt a bit more predictable.

It was really interesting to see the many unreliable narrators in this book (always a fan) and I was always kept on my toes because I was never quite sure who or what to believe! That does create a problem sometimes because I love these sorts of thrillers so I always start to form some wild accusation in my head, and sometimes I like my theories better than the actual book. Not all books can have endings so wild, though, because otherwise it’d be really played out and we’d all expect twists all the time and be able to guess them all! THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN still had a nice twist at the end, mostly putting all the pieces together, but it wasn’t as twisty as I anticipated. I enjoyed that it wasn’t what I expected but I felt after that whole book that it lost a little excitement towards the reveal and I really wasn’t a fan of the villain speech to reveal it all.

I wasn’t super duper in love with the book and yet I really couldn’t put this book down. I was so interested and hooked and I loved the mystery and suspense of it all. The unreliable narrators were great and I actually really enjoyed the writing style, with different POV switches as well as those POVs taking place at different points in time. It was really interesting to see it all come together in the end and I actually appreciate that the narrators were unreliable but in a very realistic and somewhat relatable way.

THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN is a very solid mystery and thriller and I can see why it captivated so many people! It really is a great GONE GIRL comparison and it allows readers to step into a relatable role and still distance themselves from these specific experiences. I’m really glad I finally read it!
Reviewed: 2017-12-01
I started reading this book (and stalled) at least three times. The release of the movie with Alison Janney convinced me to finish it. (I love Alison Janney) All in all, it's a good story. I didn't figure out who the evil doer was until at least three quarters of the way through. I'm glad I finally read it. But, it has two main problems.

First is Rachel. She is the lead off main voice of the book. And, she's a drunk who does a lot of stupid, cringeworthy stuff. And, she is probably the root of the reason I couldn't get started with this book. I tend to empathize with the characters. And, I found it hard to put myself in Rachel's shoes. She kept doing stuff that made me need to turn away and not look. Hence, I kept putting the book down.

The second flaw is that it drags on a bit. Did she do it? Didn't she? Rachel does something drunk and stupid and we start to wonder all over again. I think a good 5 or 6 chapters could have been trimmed. Near the end, I just wanted it over with.
Reviewed: 2017-11-02
Despite the fact that there wasn't one likable character in this story, it still draws you in. The main character, Rachel, we discover has a lot of problems. She's recently divorced but she was drinking even before that. She's lost her job but because she's living in a room she rents from an old acquaintance, she gets up and takes the train in to London every day as if she's still working.

The one bright spot in her commute is when the train stops each day and she gets a look into her old neighborhood. There's the perfect couple she sees often when the train stops for that short time. She's dubbed them Jason and Jess. They seem so perfect, so in love. Until one day when Rachel sees Jess with another man.

The trouble with Rachel is that her drinking is causing blackouts and she can't remember what she's seen or done during that time. She's prone to apologizing for her unknown behavior before she even knows what she's done. Is there a way she can recall what really happened when Jess goes missing.

A winding and twisting tale to keep you guessing. The ending satisfied me.
Reviewed: 2017-08-29
Book Description The #1 New York Times Bestseller, USA Today Book of the Year, now a major motion picture starring Emily Blunt. Don't miss Paula Hawkins' new novel, Into the Water, coming May 2017. The debut psychological thriller that will forever change the way you look at other people's lives. "Nothing is more addicting than The Girl on the Train."--Vanity Fair "The Girl on the Train has more fun with unreliable narration than any chiller since Gone Girl. . . . [It] is liable to draw a large, bedazzled readership."--The New York Times "Marries movie noir with novelistic trickery. . . hang on tight. You'll be surprised by what horrors lurk around the bend."--USA Today "Like its train, the story blasts through the stagnation of these lives in suburban London and the reader cannot help but turn pages."--The Boston Globe "Gone Girl fans will devour this psychological thriller."--People EVERY DAY THE SAME Rachel takes the same commuter train every morning and night. Every day she rattles down the track, flashes past a stretch of cozy suburban homes, and stops at the signal that allows her to daily watch the same couple breakfasting on their deck. She's even started to feel like she knows them. Jess and Jason, she calls them. Their life--as she sees it--is perfect. Not unlike the life she recently lost. UNTIL TODAY And then she sees something shocking. It's only a minute until the train moves on, but it's enough. Now everything's changed. Unable to keep it to herself, Rachel goes to the police. But is she really as unreliable as they say? Soon she is deeply entangled not only in the investigation but in the lives of everyone involved. Has she done more harm than good?
Reviewed: 2017-01-03

Superficial characters. Predictable plot. The author used a template for a commercial novel and tried to recreate Gone Girl. Only finished it because I bought it in hardback. 

Reviewed: 2016-11-01
to-read
Reviewed: 2016-06-24
I won a copy of this from a Shelf Awareness giveaway, and received my e-ARC from Netgalley. I entered simply because I liked the style of the cover. I had not read the description of the book, and had no idea what I would be reading if I won... but I'm glad that I went for it.

I can definitely see the comparisons drawn between The Girl On The Train and Gone Girl and Before I Go To Sleep now that I've finished. (I haven't yet read The Silent Wife, so I can't talk about that one.) It's almost as if this book is looking up to those others, and I think that TGOTT had a similar feel to them, but in the end was just a little unsure of which one it wanted to be when it grew up.

I can see the comparisons, but I can't say that TGOTT quite reached the levels of either as far as the thriller aspect went. I actually enjoyed the build up of the book much more than the resolution. I had guessed early on about certain aspects, and was right, so in that I found the outcome a little predictable - but GETTING there was enjoyable. I never quite knew who to trust or what I should be looking for, but it came around in the end to where I thought it might, if that makes sense. Though I will say that the ending and resolution did feel a bit rushed, and didn't QUITE fit the build-up and characters as we knew them. Certain conclusions and judgements were

But, I did like reading about the main cast of characters, and I could identify with each of them, in a way. I didn't actually LIKE any of them though. These are messy, chaotic, trainwrecks (see what I did there?) and their lives made me cringe. But, at the same time, I felt like Rachel, our titular girl on the train, because I couldn't help watching and filling in their gaps and thinking about them.

I loved the insight into Rachel's struggles with depression and alcoholism, and felt that this was the most realistic of the 'character issues' depicted in the book - and everyone had some, believe me.

I also liked how this story was told from three different women's perspectives, as well as flashbacks. It seems like it should be confusing, but it wasn't. It just worked.

All in all, I liked this story, though I think that it could use just a tiny bit more polish to make it shine. If this was Hawkins' debut, then I think she's one to watch.
Reviewed: 2016-06-07
This was a very trying book for me. I really wanted to like it but the first 200 pages just did not hold my interest. It was much darker than I'm used to and it played more heavily on my fears. Usually when I'm reading I enjoy a new adventure with love and joy. You will not find that here.

The last half of the book it really picked up and you could start actually piecing the story together. There was a lot more substance and I even started to like the main character. She was much more bold and intelligent than I thought she would be.



Reviewed: 2016-05-31
This book has been compared to "Gone Girl" but I found that while the characters were dysfunctional and quite repulsive, "The Girl on the Train" lacked the complexity and chilling suspense that "Gone Girl" had. Told from three women's perspective i found the plot was a bit predictable and it was easy to work out who the murderer was. Overall, an okay read, but don't be expecting another "Gone Girl".
Item Posts
@Darci
@Darci completed #girlonthetrainan... on 2018-12-01 00:00:00
@thecompound
@thecompound completed #girlonthetrainan... on 2018-11-30 00:00:00
@mrfiles
@mrfiles completed #girlonthetrainan... on 2018-11-13 21:00:00
@mrfiles
@mrfiles began #girlonthetrainan... on 2018-11-06 21:00:00
@Darci
@Darci began #girlonthetrainan... on 2018-10-21
@ellenmiller
@ellenmiller completed #girlonthetrainan... on 2015-03-28
@librarygoof
@librarygoof completed #girlonthetrainan... on 2015-10-30
@librarygoof
@librarygoof began #girlonthetrainan... on 2015-10-29
@hstewart
@hstewart completed #girlonthetrainan... on 2017-03-25
@hstewart
@hstewart began #girlonthetrainan... on 2017-02-18
@shixam
@shixam completed #girlonthetrainan... on 2016-06-11
@celipal93
@celipal93 completed #girlonthetrainan... on 2017-04-23
@eileenablondi
@eileenablondi completed #girlonthetrainth... on 2015-02-17
@eileenablondi
@eileenablondi began #girlonthetrainth... on 2015-02-17
@nmurphy
@nmurphy completed #girlonthetrainan... on 2016-10-15