Little Women (Signet Classics)

Louisa May Alcott
In picturesque nineteenth-century New England, tomboyish Jo, beautiful Meg, fragile Beth, and romantic Amy come of age while their father is off to war.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2021-07-22
4
Reviewed: 2021-02-20
The (Dutch) version I have was handed down to me from my mother and I think I've read it, but it's been so long I can't remember - so here it goes, onto my 'to read in the long term' list.
Reviewed: 2021-02-04
4.09
Reviewed: 2020-12-24

Hard for me to figure out what to rate this one. First time looking into this well beloved and timeless classic. But for me, it was just okay. While I felt for the strong bond of the March family, I didn't really bond or care for anyone one member in particular. And while the story seems to really center around the sister Jo (Josephine), I found her to be pig-headed and albeit annoying at times. And while I do know that it was not uncommon nor unheard of for younger women to marry older men due to the era, that is not an ideal that I preach. The fact that three out of the four sisters marry much older men to me was not romantic at all nor was it something I found to be swoon worthy. I didn't really find myself to be engaged in this story as I found it to be slowly paced and the prose was very dated for me. I think that is one of the reasons why I'm not a big Classics reader, because of the olden time vernacular. Also, why do they call their mother "Marmie"? I just don't get it. After thinking about it for a bit prior to writing this review, I've settled on the star rating of two stars. To me that is the most I feel it is worth, based on my opinion.  

Reviewed: 2020-05-05
I tried so so hard to like this and get into this but it was like pulling teeth to read through this. I don’t know if it was me or the writing or what but I did not want to read it. I actually really liked the sisters and I feel like I should have wanted to know what happened but I didn’t. So disappointed but maybe will revisit one day.
Reviewed: 2018-08-18

It's been a lot of years avoiding the movie, but boy am I grateful that I read this book before seeing the movie. I quite enjoyed the flawed characters, and how realistic their girlish squabbles were. It's refreshing to read a classic where all of the main characters are made from the same perfect mold.

 

Now, I think that I would feel differently if I would have watched the movie first. I watched it after reading the books and found the character beyond annoying. They cam across as pouty little imps. The version of the movie that I watched was the one where Katherine Hepburn plays Jo. I have been a long time fan of Katherine Hepburn, but I hated the way that she overplayed Jo's boyish ways. Blah!

Item Posts
@rottgrl88
@rottgrl88 completed #littlewomensigne... on 2017-12-23
@rottgrl88
@rottgrl88 began #littlewomensigne... on 2017-11-30
@martius
@martius completed #littlewomen... on 2018-05-23