1984 (Signet Classics)

George Orwell
View our feature on George Orwell’s 1984. Written in 1948, 1984 was George Orwell’s chilling prophecy about the future. And while 1984 has come and gone, Orwell’s narrative is timelier than ever. 1984 presents a startling and haunting vision of the world, so powerful that it is completely convincing from start to finish. No one can deny the power of this novel, its hold on the imaginations of multiple generations of readers, or the resiliency of its admonitions—a legacy that seems only to grow with the passage of time.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2018-08-02
What a ride. Alright so first, i enjoyed reading it. I got really addicted to it and then it dragged on after meeting Julia and im honestly torn about the ending. I hated the ending but i understood why it has to end that way. It’s a very scary read. Because it can be so realistic. Spine chilling read. But i loved it.
Reviewed: 2018-07-18
Liked it tons more than Brave New World, but it almost would have been better if he had died in the end…
Reviewed: 2018-07-17

Wonderful synopsis on what could happen if society is not vigilant. I thought that it was not the most realistic portrayal of what could happen, but it drew one to think deeply about if society is too controlling already.

Reviewed: 2018-04-12
Мощная, жуткая книга.
Reviewed: 2018-02-24
I finally got "1984" finished. I had started this last year and spent the summer ignoring this one. Turns out that last summer was the calm before the storm and was probably not the best time to be reading anything. Which explains why I've become so hooked on fan fiction.

One of the best quotes from this book:

We know that no one ever seizes power with the intention of relinquishing it. Power is not a means; it is an end. One does not establish a dictatorship in order to safeguard a Revolution; one makes the revolution in order to establish the dictatorship. The object of persecution is persecution. The object of torture is torture. The object of power is power.

Kinda chilling considering the current political climate.

Why did I read 1984? It is on the Amazon 100 Books to Read in a Lifetime list. Also, considered a classic and something that I needed to read at least once in my lifetime.

Full blog post here: http://skullcoffee.blogspot.com/
Reviewed: 2018-01-23

I think this book is better approached by an adult than a high school freshman.  The philosophical undertones are much more difficult to relate to as a hopeful 14-year-old than a cynical adult.  I’m glad I revisited this one.

You have three characters that really matter: Winston, Julia, and O’Brien.  None of them are likable – Winston is the perfect vision of a disgruntled middle-aged man; Julia is a sex-crazed, flighty young woman; and O’Brien is a shadowy figure who is utterly deluded.  While I don’t expect to like all the characters, it certainly helps to find at least one likable.

The story takes place in London, 1984.  The flats have been turned into tenements and Oceania (there are three countries now – Oceania, Eurasia, and Eastasia) is constantly at war with… someone.  Written in 1949, this story certainly gives a chill about what the world could look like 40 years in the future.  With the exception of fashion choices (overalls) the world is described well enough to feel real, while leaving much to the reader’s imagination.

The dystopia element of the tale is where the book shines.  A successful dystopia chooses one aspect – in this case, freedom – and threatens it to show what a future would look like ifsomething changed this aspect.  There is usually a disaster involved (war) and there is usually governmental interference (Big Brother).  Winston starts as a traditional “my life sucks” kinda guy, but it’s not the first half of the story that I find impressive.  It’s the second half, with the breaking of Winston.  I won’t go into too much detail for those who haven’t read it, but the torture techniques are interesting (in a horrifying way) and the lack of happy ending is important.  Far too many dystopias have happy endings, and that sort of defies the point.

I don’t mind Orwell’s writing style, which surprised me considering the genre and age of the book.  A lot of older science fiction I personally find monotonous, but the balance of detail and directness was perfect and it didn’t drag too terribly.  I think the length is perfect – if anything, it could be a little shorter.  It feels a bit rushed in places, by retrospectively, I think that pacing works in the situations presented.

I still don’t love this book.  I can’t get past how little I like Winston.  And Julia.  O’Brien is… alright, but overall I feel I need to love at least one character to love the book.  I did find the philosophy of the book intriguing, especially with the current state of our country and the fear that’s running rampant… but this book didn’t live up to my expectations.  I wanted it to feel revolutionary, but it felt like a small glimpse into a bigger, darker story.

Reviewed: 2017-08-12
Very interesting book. Interesting ending as well
Reviewed: 2017-07-10

I admit I only read this at first so people would think I was smart but then I really did enjoy it. It was such a terrifying look into a future we all hope will never come to pass. 

Reviewed: 2017-02-10

I finished this not five minutes ago, and I need to vent my frustration. This book is brilliant. You dare to hope for a happy ending, it allows you to hope, and when it destroys you, you have no choice but to love it.

If I could geek out about Newspeak for three seconds: the fact that your experience of the world is entirely dependent upon your absurdly poor ability to express yourself is fascinating. My heart.

Reviewed: 2017-02-08
4.13
Item Posts
@shamss
@shamss began #0000001984... on 2015-09-14 00:00:00
@fjnewton
@fjnewton began #0000001984signet... on 2018-08-23
@dagre
@dagre completed #0000001984... on 2018-08-04
@albion
@albion completed #0000001984signet... on 2018-07-08
@albion
@albion began #0000001984signet... on 2018-06-04
@zairhazerdane1
@zairhazerdane1 completed #0000001984signet... on 2018-08-02
@bsorensen96
@bsorensen96 completed #0000001984signet... on 2011-11-23
@ginadavidson
@ginadavidson completed #0000001984... on 2013-02-13
@ginadavidson
@ginadavidson began #0000001984... on 2013-01-23
@zairhazerdane1
@zairhazerdane1 began #0000001984signet... on 2018-07-15
@shixam
@shixam completed #0000001984signet... on 2018-06-26
@shixam
@shixam began #0000001984signet... on 2018-06-22
@jmdawes
@jmdawes completed #0000001984signet... on 2017-07-31
@sissywhitfield
@sissywhitfield completed #0000001984signet... on 2011-01-01
@sissywhitfield
@sissywhitfield began #0000001984signet... on 2011-01-01