All Quiet on the Western Front

Erich Maria Remarque
Paul Baumer enlisted with his classmates in the German army of World War I. Youthful, enthusiastic, they become soldiers. But despite what they have learned, they break into pieces under the first bombardment in the trenches. And as horrible war plods on year after year, Paul holds fast to a single vow: to fight against the principles of hate that meaninglessly pits young men of the same generation but different uniforms against each other--if only he can come out of the war alive."The world has a great writer in Erich Maria Remarque. He is a craftsman of unquestionably first trank, a man who can bend language to his will. Whether he writes of men or of inanimate nature, his touch is sensitive, firm, and sure."THE NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW

Reviews

Reviewed: 2019-02-22
One of the most powerful books I've read. This one is going to stick with me for awhile.
Reviewed: 2017-10-31

This booked helped me to understand the thoughts of a person enduring years of war, and how they cope with the death of their friends, the seeming insensibleness if it all, the horror of killing others, the simple pleasures in life, and how war indelibly changes a person such that they will never be the same nor will they be understood by those who haven't experienced war.

Reviewed: 2017-04-02
I read this as a sophomore in high school. I had never really considered that the people fighting against the allies may not have all been evil people. It changed my way of thinking about the concepts of good versus evil, enemies versus friends, and what war means for the relatively helpless pawns of the governments.
Reviewed: 2017-03-03
I do remember reading this book sometime in primary school. Can't remember details but do remember that it made a great and lasting impression on me.
Reviewed: 2015-08-25
Ayres, Lew, 1908- > Performances > German fiction > Translations into English > German language > Readers > Germany > Fiction. > 1871-1918 Germany > History > 1871-1918 > Fiction > Historical fiction > Historical fiction Large type books > Large type books Lobby cards > American > 1930-1940 > Lobby cards Motion picture posters > American > 1930-1940 > Motion picture posters Prints > Color > 1930-1940 > Prints Remarque, Erich Maria, 1898-1970. Im Westen nichts Neues > War stories > War stories Wolheim, Louis > Performances > World War, 1914-1918 > Campaigns > Western Front > Fiction > World War, 1914-1918 > Fiction > World War, 1914-1918 > Fiction World War, 1914-1918 > Trench warfare > Fiction
Item Posts
@hannvonjo
@hannvonjo completed #allquietonthewes... on 2019-03-06 00:00:00
@anamomof3
@anamomof3 completed #allquietonthewes... on 2019-05-31
@paulayres
@paulayres began #allquietonthewes... on 2018-03-12
@kcxcbb5
@kcxcbb5 completed #allquietonthewes... on 2006-08-01
@mbeer01
@mbeer01 began #allquietonthewes... on 2017-07-22
@makaylariley
@makaylariley completed #allquietonthewes... on 2015-04-14
@jeffjames77
@jeffjames77 completed #allquietonthewes... on 2002-04-04
@jeffjames77
@jeffjames77 began #allquietonthewes... on 2002-04-04
@scoobasteeve
@scoobasteeve completed #allquietonthewes... on 2015-12-17
@scoobasteeve
@scoobasteeve began #allquietonthewes... on 2015-11-23