Throne of Glass

Sarah J. Maas
After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin. Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king's council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she'll serve the kingdom for three years and then be granted her freedom. Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilirating. But she's bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her... but it's the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best.Then one of the other contestants turns up dead... quickly followed by another. Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2018-05-07
Celaena is a well known assassin. But when she is caught and sent to Endovier, a death camp, she thinks she is on her death bed. Until the Crown Prince of Adarlan, Dorian Havilliard, takes her to compete for the King’s Champion assassin. She is up against 23 other male champions and if she wins she will become the personal assassin for the King for four years and then be free. But if she loses she will be sent back to Endovier. But someone or something is killing the champions in the middle of the night. One by one. With Chaol Westfall, the captain of the guard, training her and Dorian, teasing and flirting with her, will she have what it takes to win? Holy moly! This book is fantastic! There was never a dull or boring moment while I was reading. Celaena is kick-butt character and grows so well throughout the story. I loved Chaol and Dorian. The bickering between Celaena and Dorian was so fun and adorable. I just loved everything about this book. It’s full of action, mystery and a side of romance. Celaena was trained to be an assassin by the King of Assassins, Arobynn. Reading about her past with him, just sounded awful. He took her in when her parents died and trained her but he was rough on her. And it didn’t sound like he was a great father figure to her. Celaena is suppose to be competing in tests against the other Champions and it was so fun reading of these tests. Celaena has been told by Chaol to back down and not show her competitors her strengths and Celaena wants to be a show off and get the recognition that she deserves. You can just feel her frustration when she has to back down from her strengths. She is also hiding her name from everyone. Since she is so well-known, Chaol and Dorian had the idea to give her a fake name so nobody would know who she is. She also befriends Nehemia Ytger, the princess of Eyllwe, who is staying at the castle to learn the culture and language. But as her friendship grows with Nehemia, she starts to feel bad for lying to her about who she is. While Celaena is preparing and training for her tests, some of the Champions are found dead the next mornings and Celaena can’t help but think that she might be next. She starts to uncover secrets about the magic in the castle, which has been supposedly outlawed, and she wonders if the two are connected to the deaths. I’m pretty sure that I’m team Dorian but don’t get me wrong, I love Chaol. I just don’t think that Chaol and Celaena are suppose to be together. He trains her and I think he’s good at being her friend. But I feel like it’s so stereotypical for the main character to get with the prince, even though I really want to see them together. So i guess I’ll just have to wait and see in the next book.
Reviewed: 2017-12-07
Initial Impressions 7/20/14:Closer to 4.5 stars. And it's times like this I hate Goodreads for no half stars. Sigh.
I FINALLY READ THRONE OF GLASS, YOU GUYS! Woooo!
Okay, so. The blurb on the front says for fans of Game of Thrones and the Hunger Games and I usually think blurbs are ridiculous and they mean nothing to me but this I actually 100% agree with! I say... plot of Harry Potter and The Hunger Games meets the fantasy world of Game of Thrones and the characters of Shadow and Bone.
Of course, the book stands on its own. This is one of those books where I have similar feelings to other books and that's what makes it greater and in fact does NOT take away from my reading experience. (Also, that "As you wish" line...? Princess Bride reference intended or pure coincidence?)
Anyway, I really, really enjoyed it. The only thing that didn't bowl me over was that it wasn't like OMG TWISTS and I didn't totally get lost in the fantasy world... And I read the novellas before Throne of Glass and felt a BIT more connected to those. But yes, I mean, solid. Strong. Such a pleasure to read.

Full review posted HERE on The Book Addict's Guide 8/25/14: I first tried to read Throne of Glass almost two years ago when it first came out and for whatever reason, I just couldn’t get into it. I wasn’t a big fantasy reader back then so maybe it was just the wrong time for me, but I eventually let it go back to the library unfinished, knowing I wanted to give it another shot someday. When Bloomsbury introduced their Throne of Glass series read along, I knew that was the perfect time to dive back in and hope I would enjoy it this time around!

As I said in my review for the novellas, I owe Nikki from There Were Books Involved a huge thanks for encouraging me to read the novellas first. Since I was hesitant to get back to THRONE OF GLASS due to my less than exciting first attempt, I really wanted to get to know the world and characters better and I felt like I had a good grip on what this world was really all about when I started THRONE OF GLASS. The only downside to reading the novellas first, I think, was that… well, I actually enjoyed the atmosphere of them a bit more. Well, don’t get me wrong — I really did enjoy ToG too, but there was definitely a different feel, and rightly so. Celaena went through hell and back before ToG even started so when we first see her in the beginning of the novel, she’s already quite a different person in some ways than she was before.

I couldn’t help but make comparisons to THE HUNGER GAMES for some reason. In the novel, Celaena is entered into the competition to become the king’s champion and for whatever reason, I got a real Katniss vibe from her, though I think this easily happens with several strong female characters in similar situations. But this wasn’t a bad thing! I really admired Celaena’s dedication to her friends, her determination to win the competition to better her life, and her flat out talent. The aspect of the whole competition thing that I wasn’t a huge fan of was that it seemed fairly predictable. I guess it can’t really end any other way, but I was hoping for a bigger twist or two, I think.

I think what I enjoyed most is that while this was an enjoyable first book and I felt like it could have used a little more “oomph” here and there, Sarah J. Maas doesn’t rush into cramming all of the twists and surprises and plot elements all at once. It’s a longer series (six books instead of the common trilogy nowadays) so there’s plenty of time to allow plot to develop and for characters to grow. It had a very specific story line that wrapped up nicely for book one and at the same time led in perfectly to book two, and the best part about all of that is that it got me excited for the rest of the series.

THRONE OF GLASS was definitely an interesting read for me and thank goodness it held my attention this time! I think it was just right book but wrong time when I first attempted it and the novellas really did ground me in this world so I didn’t have to discover what it was all about all at once. The book didn’t totally knock me over but I really, really enjoyed it and I’m so excited to continue on with the series. I totally understand why so many people are in love with Sarah J. Maas’ books!
Reviewed: 2017-01-29
Team Chaol, yo. TEAM CHAOL, that's all I have to say.

Also that I like that this book is not actually about assassinating anybody. Very clever. Game of Thrones meets Hunger Games is a pretty apt description.
Reviewed: 2016-02-19

I LOVED THIS BOOK!! Celaena is such a badass, but still loves to dress up in pretty things and be girlie. This was another book that had great descriptions and I could watch it play out like a movie in my head. There was a little bit of everything, action, romance, magic, and even a little mystery. I am missing more of an explanation of the clock tower and the location of the tomb, but maybe those are to come in later books.

Reviewed: 2015-04-24
It wasn't my favorite book in the series so far, but it is the first book so I had to read it. It took about 7 hours straight to finish it, a quick and entertaining read. Celaena is such a badass that you'll want to become like her, minus all the killing ( maybe
Item Posts
@wond3rlandkitty
@wond3rlandkitty began #throneofglass... on 2018-08-01
@wond3rlandkitty
@wond3rlandkitty completed #throneofglass... on 2018-08-01
@wond3rlandkitty
@wond3rlandkitty began #throneofglass... on 2014-01-26
@librarygoof
@librarygoof completed #throneofglass... on 2015-11-16
@librarygoof
@librarygoof began #throneofglass... on 2015-11-12
@bookerspace
@bookerspace began #throneofglass... on 2018-05-21
@makaylamw
@makaylamw completed #throneofglass... on 2017-07-27
@makaylamw
@makaylamw began #throneofglass... on 2017-01-20
@dalbraik19
@dalbraik19 completed #throneofglass... on 2016-07-23
@wellreadwoman
@wellreadwoman completed #throneofglass... on 2017-04-01
@wellreadwoman
@wellreadwoman began #throneofglass... on 2017-03-31
@kofsperling
@kofsperling completed #throneofglass... on 2017-01-01
@katemreads
@katemreads completed #throneofglass... on 2015-01-10
@katemreads
@katemreads began #throneofglass... on 2015-01-01
@makaylariley
@makaylariley completed #throneofglass... on 2016-05-01