Shatter Me

Tahereh Mafi
I have a curse.I have a gift.I'm a monster. I'm more than human.My touch is lethal.My touch is power.I am their weapon.I will fight back.No one knows why Juliette's touch is fatal, but The Reestablishment has plans for her. Plans to use her as a weapon. But Juliette has plans of her own. After a lifetime without freedom, she's finally discovering a strength to fight back for the very first time—and to find a future with the one boy she thought she'd lost forever.In this electrifying debut, Tahereh Mafi presents a riveting dystopian world, a thrilling superhero story, and an unforgettable heroine.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2017-05-02

Though I absolutely loved reading this book, so much so that I read it in under 9 hours in one sitting, I will openly acknowledge that it has its problems. The book is so over-dramatic that it was quite difficult for me to like in the beginning, once I grew accustomed to the very high levels of drama, I was able to enjoy it more, but that still doesn't make it okay. The book also shares a HUGE number of similarities between the Twilight saga, the Hunger Games trilogy and the final book and the Divergent series. So many similarities that I actually just began to laugh every time I noticed a new one, I wish I had created a list. Another issue I had was that it is clear Tahereh Mafi doesn't know how to smoothly transition from poetic imagery and description to novelistic writing, dialogue and scene descriptors. There were so many moments throughout the novel where I had no idea what the surroundings looked like, or indeed what the characters were actually doing, instead I got many, many, many beautiful descriptors of what is happening in Julliette's head. And that is all well and good if you're writing poetry, but you're not, you're writing a novel, and that kind of writing is hard to swallow at times. Though the writing is very beautiful and the make out scenes, amazing (like truly incredible, holy shit, better than anything in the Fifty Shades of Grey trilogy and they don't even have sex in this book!), I felt there were too many problems for me to say that this book is excellent. It is highly enjoyable for sure and I am actually very keen on starting the next book in the series.

Reviewed: 2015-11-07
Sooo Good!!
Reviewed: 2015-09-19
*4.5*

SO GOOD!

Conversemos.

Uno de los mayores problemas que tiene la mayoría con este libro es el estilo en el que está escrito o "sobre escrito". Es poético, extiende demasiado una simple acción, le añade demasiado detalle, etc, etc. Pero a mí todo aquello me hizo amarlo más.

I'm a sucker for poetic writing. There. Me encanta cuando las personas intentan describir algo utilizando otras palabras, cuando lo explican desde otro punto de vista. Puede que se sienta forzado pero cuando lo piensas desde el punto de vista psicológico, nos encontramos frente a una persona que ha estado encerrada y sin contacto humano por tres años. Seguro que ha tenido buenas conversaciones con ella misma.

Juliette es una persona emocionalmente inestable, necesitada de afecto, y que se ha aferrado a lo único bueno que ha conocido. Su mente y sus pensamientos han sido sus más leales compañeros. Todas aquellas veces en que uno de esos pensamientos son tachados en el libro es una muestra de su estado mental y de como intenta darle sentido a lo que la rodea. Puede que resulte molesto a ratos, pero que alguien se haya atrevido a mirarlo e intentar describir aquella condición me parece espectacular.

[Reseña no terminada]
Reviewed: 2015-01-02

My back story of this book is this: I've had this book since it first came out, the original cover, the one with the girl. And while it caught my attention I really love the new covers. Now all this time I had the book I never actually read it. Now I regret it that so very much because I enjoyed the story so much. I enjoyed Tahereh's writing style, the use of scratch outs is definitely something unique. But the metaphors were sometimes a little confusing... But still I liked where the story was going. A girl with a lethal touch, afraid to touch anyone or hurt anyone. I won't go into great detail because I don't want to spoil it for anyone but trust me there are so many great things about this book. Highly recommend it!  I love how the story is following through and I can't wait to get started on Unravel Me which is the second in the triology. I will also need to pick up the novellas! I'm really interested in this new world. 

Item Posts
@fjnewton
@fjnewton began #shatterme... on 2018-08-23
@elkev96
@elkev96 completed #shatterme... on 2018-04-28
@ebooker
@ebooker completed #shatterme... on 2018-07-02
@ebooker
@ebooker began #shatterme... on 2018-07-01
@jeanielee2007
@jeanielee2007 completed #shatterme... on 2016-03-08
@jeanielee2007
@jeanielee2007 began #shatterme... on 2016-03-02
@missabell16
@missabell16 completed #shatterme... on 2018-01-20
@missabell16
@missabell16 began #shatterme... on 2017-11-21
@megoblein
@megoblein completed #shatterme... on 2015-11-18
@megoblein
@megoblein began #shatterme... on 2015-11-14
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 completed #shatterme... on 2017-06-03
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 began #shatterme... on 2017-05-31
@dalbraik19
@dalbraik19 completed #shatterme... on 2017-04-29
@madalynekay11
@madalynekay11 completed #shatterme... on 2017-04-20
@bookishbritt
@bookishbritt completed #shatterme... on 2014-07-09