We Were Liars

E. Lockhart
A beautiful and distinguished family.A private island.A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.A revolution. An accident. A secret.Lies upon lies.True love.The truth. We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from National Book Award finalist and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart. Read it.And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2017-01-29

I don't know exactly what about this book makes me feel so lackluster towards it. Some combination of the twist feelings more like a cheap literary trick and an exhaustion of reading about rich people problems. If anything, I probably liked it more from listening to the audiobook, instead of having to read the jank and annoying switches in prose. It actually sounded pretty poetic in the audiobook. 

Overall, it just didn't elicit any true passion from me either way.

Reviewed: 2016-11-15

"We Were Liars" by E. Lockhart was one of my favorite books I have read in a while. From the beginning, the author leaves the audience in suspense by not telling the reason for the main character's lack of memory. The book starts off by having the main character, Cadence Sinclair recalling her summers spent on her grandparent’s island with her entire family. The estate belongs to Cadence's grandparents; each house on the island was built for each of their daughters. Cadence retells her love for the island up until summer fifteen. Something tragic happened to Cadence during the summer fifteen on the island. However, no one talks about that summer. It wasn't until Cadence visits the island with her father years later that she began to remember everything that happened that summer.

 

This intriguing book is great for read aloud with classes. It would be ideal for middle and high school students due to the constant setting changes and the author's requirement to remember material from the beginning of the book.

Reviewed: 2015-09-27

Liked, this one. Did not guess the twist at the end, which I always appreciate. That being said it ended up being way more depressing than I thought, but over all well done.

Reviewed: 2015-08-03
Not one of my favorite books, although it was ok but it was a struggle for me to read.
Reviewed: 2015-04-07
Cadence spends every summer on her grandfather's private island with her mother, her two aunts, and her cousins. Two years ago, the summer before the eldest cousins, the Liars, turned sixteen something bad happened, and Cady suffered a traumatic injury that has left her with debilitating migraines and few memories of that summer. This summer she's back on the island and trying to find out what happened then.

This is a beautifully crafted story: the voice is good, the characterization crisp, the sense of place is overwhelming almost. The conversations between the Liars range back and forth between the big issues of life and silly insults, and those feel so apt. The pacing is compelling. It's all very, very good.

My only disappointment with the book is that I wanted more of it. It could have been five times as long and I might still have wanted more. I loved seeing what books Cady read and loved as a child, I loved the Martha Stewart menues the aunts plan for meals, I loved the descriptions of the cottages on the island, and trips to town. I was fascinated by the family, all of them, and would have loved more. And the use of fairytales was perfect: trying to make real life fit into an appropriate story.

Library copy.
Item Posts
@librarygoof
@librarygoof completed #wewereliars... on 2015-04-11
@librarygoof
@librarygoof began #wewereliars... on 2015-04-10
@booktheives
@booktheives completed #wewereliars... on 2018-06-14
@booktheives
@booktheives began #wewereliars... on 2018-06-12
@mistborntaylor
@mistborntaylor completed #wewereliars... on 2017-10-03
@mistborntaylor
@mistborntaylor began #wewereliars... on 2017-10-02
@kpdickinson
@kpdickinson completed #wewereliars... on 2017-09-10
@kpdickinson
@kpdickinson began #wewereliars... on 2017-09-06
@kg05
@kg05 completed #wewereliars... on 2017-03-16
@msbeavert
@msbeavert completed #wewereliars... on 2017-10-25
@msbeavert
@msbeavert began #wewereliars... on 2017-10-24
@jamiefillbrandt
@jamiefillbrandt began #wewereliars... on 2014-09-06
@jamiefillbrandt
@jamiefillbrandt completed #wewereliars... on 2014-09-21
@jamiefillbrandt
@jamiefillbrandt completed #wewereliars... on 2014-09-21
@spirit0
@spirit0 completed #wewereliars... on 2015-04-01