Scorch Trials (Maze Runner, Book 2), The

James Dashner
The Scorch Trials picks up where The Maze Runner left off. The Gladers have escaped the Maze, but now they face an even more treacherous challenge on the open roads of a devastated planet.And WICKED has made sure to adjust the variables and stack the odds against them.Can Thomas survive in such a violent world?

Reviews

Reviewed: 2017-08-29
Book Description Read the second book in the #1 New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series that is now a major motion picture and is perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent. The first book, The Maze Runner, is also a movie featuring the star of MTV's Teen Wolf, Dylan O'Brien; Kaya Scodelario; Aml Ameen; Will Poulter; and Thomas Brodie-Sangster! Also look for James Dashner's newest novels, The Eye of Minds and The Rule of Thoughts, the first two books in the Mortality Doctrine series. Solving the Maze was supposed to be the end. Thomas was sure that escape from the Maze would mean freedom for him and the Gladers. But WICKED isn't done yet. Phase Two has just begun. The Scorch. There are no rules. There is no help. You either make it or you die. The Gladers have two weeks to cross through the Scorch--the most burned-out section of the world. And WICKED has made sure to adjust the variables and stack the odds against them. Friendships will be tested. Loyalties will be broken. All bets are off. There are others now. Their survival depends on the Gladers' destruction--and they're determined to survive. Praise for the Maze Runner series: A #1 New York Times Bestselling Series A USA Today Bestseller A Kirkus Reviews Best Teen Book of the Year An ALA-YASLA Best Fiction for Young Adults Book An ALA-YALSA Quick Pick "[A] mysterious survival saga that passionate fans describe as a fusion of Lord of the Flies, The Hunger Games, and Lost."--EW.com "Wonderful action writing--fast-paced...but smart and well observed."--Newsday "[A] nail-biting must-read."--Seventeen.com "Breathless, cinematic action."--Publishers Weekly "Heart pounding to the very last moment."--Kirkus Reviews "Exclamation-worthy."--Romantic Times [STAR] "James Dashner's illuminating prequel [The Kill Order] will thrill fans of this Maze Runner [series] and prove just as exciting for readers new to the series."--Shelf Awareness, Starred "Take a deep breath before you start any James Dashner book."-Deseret News From the Hardcover edition. Editorial Reviews
Reviewed: 2016-06-02

Yay! Dashner didn't let me down. "Scorch Trials" begins with a bang and never slows down. Often middle books in a series are disappointing, but not this one. Full of action, and a fair bit of brutality, this book is a page turner. Having escaped the maze, Thomas and his friends are thrown into another setting full of danger, with killer creatures and the threat of death at every turn, where survival relies solely on their initiative. This is turning into a fabulous series. Now for the finale!

I absolutely enjoyed The Maze Runner, the concept of people being trapped in a giant maze and having to solve the mystery to go out sounds promising and the author executed it quite well. The Maze Runner was full of mystery, suspense, and even creepy at times. There was lots of action, but also time for some character development, I especially enjoyed the relationship between Thomas and the friends he made in this new place. There was no room for stupid romance and all strict to business, which I actually was glad about.

But The Scorch Trials was different. Suddenly we have this Thomas becoming some lovesick person, constantly thinking about girls (and actually being surrounded by a girl). There wasn't much about the relationship between Thomas and his friends. On top of that, the adventures in this book were nothing special and even boring at times. It went downwards the moment Thomas got separated from the rest of the group, and since we're following him, we have to read all the crap he's experiencing. Unlike the smart, sometimes too impulsive, heroic guy in the first book, he had become some weakling in this one. He hadn't achieved anything, except for passing out constantly and having to be rescued by others. The only highlight in the book is the character Minho, he had become funnier and even more likeable than in the first book.
Item Posts
@victorylane
@victorylane completed #scorchtrialsmaze... on 2018-04-27
@victorylane
@victorylane began #scorchtrialsmaze... on 2018-03-05
@jeanielee2007
@jeanielee2007 completed #scorchtrialsmaze... on 2015-09-02
@jeanielee2007
@jeanielee2007 began #scorchtrialsmaze... on 2015-08-15
@megoblein
@megoblein completed #scorchtrialsmaze... on 2015-04-14
@megoblein
@megoblein began #scorchtrialsmaze... on 2014-12-25
@spulino
@spulino completed #scorchtrialsmaze... on 2017-09-03
@madalynekay11
@madalynekay11 began #scorchtrialsmaze... on 2017-03-01
@booklover4eva
@booklover4eva completed #scorchtrialsmaze... on 2012-03-16
@lyz2288
@lyz2288 completed #scorchtrialsmaze... on 2015-05-30
@lyz2288
@lyz2288 began #scorchtrialsmaze... on 2015-05-28
@solsticechild
@solsticechild completed #scorchtrialsmaze... on 2015-04-03
@solsticechild
@solsticechild began #scorchtrialsmaze... on 2015-03-29
@kfalls12
@kfalls12 completed #scorchtrialsmaze... on 2014-09-17
@kfalls12
@kfalls12 began #scorchtrialsmaze... on 2014-09-17