Lost Hero (Heroes of Olympus, Book 1), The

Rick Riordan
After saving Olympus from the evil Titan lord, Kronos, Percy and friends have rebuilt their beloved Camp Half-Blood, where the next generation of demigods must now prepare for a chilling prophecy of their own:Seven half-bloods shall answer the call,To storm or fire the world must fall.An oath to keep with a final breath,And foes bear arms to the Doors of Death.Now, in a brand-new series from blockbuster best-selling author Rick Riordan, fans return to the world of Camp Half-Blood. Here, a new group of heroes will inherit a quest. But to survive the journey, they’ll need the help of some familiar demigods.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2017-09-28
Jason, Piper, and Leo, three students from a school for "bad kids," find themselves at Camp Half-Blood, where they learn that they are demigods and begin a quest to free Hera, who has been imprisoned by Mother Earth herself.
Reviewed: 2016-07-05
Hardback
Reviewed: 2016-05-30
Really liked this one...I just wish I'd waited to read it until closer to time for the second book in the series to come out.

I wasn't sure how much I'd like the switching of perspective between the three lead characters, but it actually worked for me. I also like how the author is handling the whole Greek/Roman mythology thing.

It was great getting to revisit favorite characters from the Percy Jackson series and well as meet new characters, and all three lead characters are quite likable...with Leo being a personal favorite.
Reviewed: 2016-02-06
This was one of my least favorite books in the Heroes of Olympus series. I really like Piper and Leo, but I still can't find it in my heart to like Jason. He's okay, but I just still haven't gotten attached to him like I have Percy. I'm guess my problem is I'm having a hard time warming up to the Roman demigods and Gods alike. I'm more attached to the Greek Gods and of course I'm attached to Percy and everyone at Camp Half-Blood. I've read the first four books in this series, so maybe rereading them before reading the last one will help me like the Romans better, but I think that's why I dislike Jason so much. Plus Jason seems too perfect. He's the opposite of Percy. He's way more uptight and serious than Percy is. Percy's laidback and joking personality is what made us all love Percy in the Percy Jackson series. Putting in a character that's the opposite of Percy doesn't really make Jason more lovable. Like I said Leo is awesome (I love his jokes and the way he thinks) and Piper is pretty cool (she's the opposite of the way you'd think a daughter of Aphrodite would be). Maybe Jason will grow on me in the reread.
Reviewed: 2015-08-26
Rick Riordan has done it again! I'm already in love with this series and these characters. And that ending! So glad I have the whole series.
Reviewed: 2015-02-09
FANTASTIC!  Seriously, I don’t say that lightly, but this book warrants it.  As I mentioned in my The Red Pyramid review (also by Riordan, in case you missed it), I love the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series that he writes.  The Lost Hero (The Heroes of Olympus, Book 1) is a continuation of that series, and it adds so much to the world Riordan has created.   First of all, it is huge, topping out at 553 pages, when the biggest any of the Percy Jackson books get is 381 pages.  Of course it is also jammed packed full of adventure, so no wonder it’s bigger. Secondly, it introduces three awesome new characters: Jason, Piper, and Leo, all of whom are kickass!  Thirdly, (is that a word?) it has a flying metal dragon, a deadly mall, and a sinister plot to destroy the world as we know it.  Intrigued, yet?   Riordan is adding a lot to the world in the form of a secret!  And I can’t allude to it anymore than that or it gives it ALL away.  The mystery keeps the story going, and it was one of the best parts because I constantly found hints to the big secret as I read. But believe me, once you get even halfway through you’ll know what’s going on (not completely, but I’m sure you’ll have an inkling) and how awesome the next couple books are going to be.     I think my favorite part of the book is the dialogue and the characterization.  As usual the characters are three-dimensional, something I always appreciate in a good story, and something some YA novels tend to lack.  I felt that there were conflicts and flaws as well as reconciliations and strengths for each Jason, Piper, and Leo.  They are all super powerful in their own right and also super funny.  I love when teenagers are portrayed as teenagers, or at least the ones I use to hang out with.  By that I mean, snarky and sarcastic, with a heart of gold.  The dialogue is also quippy and smart with a real soul to it.  I’m always a sucker for good dialogue (that’s why I like Hemingway so much).  Yes, the plot is great, epic even, but it was the dialogue that kept me hooked in.   Overall, FANTASTIC (Oh I said that already didn't I?).  Seriously pick up The Lost Hero and while your at it add the entire Percy Jackson and the Olympians series to that order as well.
Item Posts
@albion
@albion completed #lostheroheroesof... on 2014-01-01
@albion
@albion began #lostheroheroesof... on 2014-01-01
@victorylane
@victorylane began #lostheroheroesof... on 2018-06-25
@victorylane
@victorylane completed #lostheroheroesof... on 2018-06-25
@sroberts5772
@sroberts5772 completed #lostherobookonet... on 2017-04-01
@jeanielee2007
@jeanielee2007 completed #lostheroheroesof... on 2012-04-17
@jeanielee2007
@jeanielee2007 began #lostheroheroesof... on 2012-04-17
@emmiemae
@emmiemae completed #lostheroheroesof... on 2018-02-05
@victorylane
@victorylane completed #lostheroheroesof... on 2018-02-03
@victorylane
@victorylane began #lostheroheroesof... on 2018-01-26
@emmiemae
@emmiemae began #lostheroheroesof... on 2018-02-01
@victorylane
@victorylane began #lostheroheroesof... on 2018-01-26
@madalynekay11
@madalynekay11 completed #lostheroheroesof... on 2017-09-20
@madalynekay11
@madalynekay11 began #lostheroheroesof... on 2017-09-08
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 completed #lostheroheroesof... on 2014-06-20