11/22/63

Stephen King
On November 22, 1963, three shots rang out in Dallas, President Kennedy died, and the world changed. What if you could change it back? Stephen King’s heart-stoppingly dramatic new novel is about a man who travels back in time to prevent the JFK assassination—a thousand page tour de force. Following his massively successful novel Under the Dome, King sweeps readers back in time to another moment—a real life moment—when everything went wrong: the JFK assassination. And he introduces readers to a character who has the power to change the course of history. Jake Epping is a thirty-five-year-old high school English teacher in Lisbon Falls, Maine, who makes extra money teaching adults in the GED program. He receives an essay from one of the students—a gruesome, harrowing first person story about the night 50 years ago when Harry Dunning’s father came home and killed his mother, his sister, and his brother with a hammer. Harry escaped with a smashed leg, as evidenced by his crooked walk. Not much later, Jake’s friend Al, who runs the local diner, divulges a secret: his storeroom is a portal to 1958. He enlists Jake on an insane—and insanely possible—mission to try to prevent the Kennedy assassination. So begins Jake’s new life as George Amberson and his new world of Elvis and JFK, of big American cars and sock hops, of a troubled loner named Lee Harvey Oswald and a beautiful high school librarian named Sadie Dunhill, who becomes the love of Jake’s life—a life that transgresses all the normal rules of time. A tribute to a simpler era and a devastating exercise in escalating suspense, 11/22/63 is Stephen King at his epic best.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2018-08-16
Receiving a horrific essay from a GED student with a traumatic past, high-school English teacher Jake Epping is enlisted by a friend to travel back in time to prevent the assassination of John F. Kennedy, a mission for which he must reacclimate to 1960s culture and befriend troubled loner Lee Harvey Oswald. By the best-selling author of Full Dark, No Stars.
Reviewed: 2018-04-12
It's not about JFK assassination, really
Reviewed: 2016-06-24
Time travel is one of those things that I just can't ever seem to wrap my head around. There are so many variables and questions... and it just generally ends up confusing me, and if it's not handled well, it usually ends up irritating me, too. So, I don't read a lot of time travel stories.

But this is King. And once again, he holds on to his title.

This book was incredible. I don't even know what to say about it. It's so fresh in my mind, and there are so many things I want to mention, so many notes I took, but mentioning them wouldn't make sense out of context, and I don't want to spoil anything for anyone.

So I'll just say a few things. I loved how this story built up and up, layer upon layer of awesomeness. I loved the characters, as usual with King's stories. They could literally walk through the door right now and I wouldn't be a bit surprised. I loved the plausibility of the events, despite the rabbit hole and the Yellow Card Man. But then, I loved the little tie-ins to the Dark Tower multiverse too, and so that made those things fit perfectly in the story for me.

I can't think of a single thing I didn't like about this book. It was just incredible.

So much win. That is all.
Reviewed: 2016-06-16
Wow - I haven't read King in years but picked this up at the airport despite having my Kindle with me. (Old habits die hard.) The familiar humor and pop culture references are here as usual but this is hardly like anything else I've read by King. The time travel is played with enough detail-to-mystery ratio to suspend your disbelief and in the end, the novel really isn't about time travel as much as a question of how you live your life for your own and others' benefit. Highly recommended!
Reviewed: 2016-03-04
This is such a Stephen King novel!!!! Okay, that's not enough said. This is a time travel sci-fi book built around a Stephen King experience with a dramatic romance thrown in for good measure! Yes, that's better.

In 11/22/63 King explores the possibility of history, and the fate of the world through time travel. Jake/George is our protagonist. He goes through much to change the outcome of the Kennedy assassination only to find the outcome is devastating, but not in the way he hoped.

I absolutely loved this book the first time. I loved it again the second time, and I loved it again this time. Cried every time too. Got to love a book that touches the emotions.

Thank you Mr. King.

So who would I recommend this book for? Obviously individuals who have enjoyed other Stephen King or Dean Koontz novels. Also those who enjoy novels regarding time travel, suspended reality, young adult novels, historical fiction, and gentle romance. It's a great story. Enjoy.
Reviewed: 2016-01-24
Excellent book!
Reviewed: 2015-07-15

This book could lead into a review half as long as the book, so I will do my best to keep it simple. Before I say anything else, I would recommend this book if you are a fan of 'the mind of Stephen King'. I don't think anyone could have written this story better, but it was not without flaws as far as I'm concerned. The flaws came later in the lengthy book, too far in to make me choose to put it down. Overall it was good, but it could have been shorter. Much shorter. Where he went to great pains (and many words) to describe the past, from every detail of the little run-down apartments, to quite a few references to the same little girls jumping-rope, I felt tied up loose ends in record time. About 2/3 or 3/4 quarters of the way through, I found myself skipping over long passages of almost repetitious description and sometimes even the internal thoughts of 'George Amberson', in order to move the story forward. In the last 50 or so pages, I found myself struggling (and re-reading) to keep up.

Although it was a good story overall, as I've heard said that even the best of speakers can hold a group's attention for 90 minutes before losing them, I think even the best of writer's have a limit. After reading this good, but overly meaty book, I would say that limit would have been in the vicinity of 600 pages. Max.

Reviewed: 2015-05-14
Now this is a good book with a real ending Mr. King, unlike in Under the Dome. No uncertainty about how I felt about 11/22/63 when I finished it. I knew I loved it. Going into this book I didn't expect there to be a love story in it and through out most of the book I was complaining about him falling in love because it was going to mess up the mission but by the end I was in tears over the relationship. King did a really good job explaining the characters that are part of history, I don't know much about the JFK assassination so it was helpful he gave some explanation about who was who and why they mattered. I really want to see this book become a movie and that he will write more books like this.
After I closed this book with a heavy sigh --it had taken me a week, but I've had gone for another month if I could--, I could see this was the work of a man who not only loved writing and storytelling, he is very much in love indeed. The love story in 11/22/63 is on par with the greats of history, especially in the ways of sacrifice. In that aspect it's been the first time King makes me openly weep. As for the main subject, this is a mixture of a spy novel entwined with scifi which is doubtless the best King has written. Steve, you had me a bit worried with From a Buick 8, but I can see your better years are still ahead of you.

--

Luego que cerré el libro con un pesado suspiro --me tomó una semana, pero habría seguido por un mes si pudiera--, podía ver que este era el trabajo de un hombre que amaba escribir y contar historias, pero que está muy enamorado a la vez. La historia de amor en 11/22/63 está a la par de las grandes de la historia, especialmente en cuanto a sacrificio. En ese aspecto, ha sido la primera vez que King me ha hecho llorar. En cuanto al tema principal, esta es una mezcla de novela de espionaje mezclada con ciencia ficción que es sin duda lo mejor que King ha escrito. Steve, me tenías preocupado con From a Buick 8, pero puedo ver que tus mejores años aún están frente a ti.
Saved by the ending ...
Item Posts
@nolanc23
@nolanc23 completed #0000112263anovel... on 2018-03-27
@mkstew
@mkstew completed #0000112263anovel... on 2018-03-09
@nolanc23
@nolanc23 began #0000112263anovel... on 2018-03-02
@mkstew
@mkstew began #0000112263anovel... on 2018-02-07
@keegan714
@keegan714 completed #112263anovel... on 2017-08-28
@tli555
@tli555 completed #112263anovel... on 2017-06-02
@thejanissary
@thejanissary completed #112263... on 2016-07-21
@thejanissary
@thejanissary began #112263... on 2016-07-11