Cruel Crown (Red Queen Novella)

Victoria Aveyard
Two women on either side of the Silver-Red divide tell the stories no one else knows.Discover the truth of Norta's bloody past in these two revealing prequels to #1 New York Times bestseller Red Queen.Also includes an exclusive excerpt of the hotly anticipated second book in the Red Queen series! Glass Sword transports readers to the world of Silver tyranny, a Red dawn rising, and one girl's resolve to break down the system that will hold her back no longer.Queen SongQueen Coriane, first wife of King Tiberias, keeps a secret diary—how else can she ensure that no one at the palace will use her thoughts against her? Coriane recounts her heady courtship with the crown prince, the birth of a new prince, Cal, and the potentially deadly challenges that lay ahead for her in royal life.Steel ScarsCaptain Farley exchanges coded transmissions with the resistance as she travels the land recruiting black market traders, smugglers, and extremists for her first attempt at an attack on the capital. She was raised to be strong, but planting the seeds of rebellion in Norta is a tougher job than expected—until she stumbles upon a connection that may prove to be the key to the entire operation: Mare Barrow.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2017-12-07
Currently Reading 2/27/16

QUEEN SONG: This one started off pretty slowly for me but really picked up toward the end. It was interesting to see Coriane's story and how it related to the plot of RED QUEEN. I wished things has been a bit more interesting in the beginning -- I felt like it could have gotten to the action faster -- but the ending was exciting and a little bit twisty!

STEEL SCARS: Wow, I had a REALLY hard time with this novella. I found that I didn't really care about Farley at all and just wasn't not attached to or interested in her story. It kind of went by in a blur.

Mini-Review as originally posted HERE on The Book Addict's Guide 3/30/16: I wanted to check out CRUEL CROWN before I started GLASS SWORD as a sort of memory refreshed and to throw me back in that world. Even though I had only liked RED QUEEN and not loved, I still found myself sucked in that world so I figured it was a great opportunity to read the novellas! The two novellas in this bind-up (in my case, audio bind-up — thanks, HarperTeen, for the review copy!) were QUEEN’S SONG about Coriane, the first wife of King Tiberias and STEEL SCARS which was about Farley.

QUEEN’S SONG ended up being incredibly interesting but it did have quite the slow start for me. I felt like it took a little bit to really establish what the overall plot of the novella was and me and my bad memory didn’t quite remember what had happened to Coriane as we had learned it in RED QUEEN. I remembered the gist but I had a hard time remembering details so this was actually a great chance to see things from Cori’s POV. I really liked her a lot and although I didn’t connect with her personality as much as I had hoped, her story did keep me hooked the whole time. The ending was really interesting and I loved how there was a little twist there.

STEEL SCARS did not go as well. I had an incredibly hard time getting into this story at all. I wasn’t sure where it was going and I just really didn’t care about Farley’s story at all. I felt like not a whole lot was happening and to be totally honest… I didn’t even bother to finish it. I didn’t feel like it was important to the overall plot of the RED QUEEN series and I was just so bored.

I’m glad I ventured into the novellas but I also don’t feel drawn to pick up more should more come out. I guess that could change if I end up loving GLASS SWORD but now I’m sort of meh about starting GLASS SWORD too. Kind of a bummer that the novellas ended up having the opposite effect on me than I had hoped.
Reviewed: 2016-12-30
An interesting look into Queen Coriane and Farley. I was more fond of Queen Song, which focuses on Coriane, but I do have to admit I enjoyed the communications excerpts in Steel Scars more than the diary excerpts in Queen Song. If anything, Queen Song felt too short. It covered such a lengthy period in such a short time. I also felt Steel Scars would have been better if it continued further. Regardless, I am quite pleased to have the opportunity to see these different perspectives and expansion of the setting beyond Mare's perspective.
Reviewed: 2016-02-06
Review on http://thebookishlibrarian.blogspot.com/
Item Posts
@kpdickinson
@kpdickinson completed #cruelcrownredque... on 2017-02-21
@kpdickinson
@kpdickinson began #cruelcrownredque... on 2017-02-13
@xojessmarie
@xojessmarie completed #cruelcrownredque... on 2018-03-05
@xojessmarie
@xojessmarie began #cruelcrownredque... on 2018-03-05
@jeanielee2007
@jeanielee2007 completed #cruelcrownredque... on 2017-12-27
@jeanielee2007
@jeanielee2007 began #cruelcrownredque... on 2017-12-27
@edensteffey
@edensteffey completed #redqueennovellac... on 2017-04-05
@edensteffey
@edensteffey began #redqueennovellac... on 2017-02-21
@bekahgirl23
@bekahgirl23 completed #cruelcrownredque... on 2017-03-21
@apthetcgraffiti
@apthetcgraffiti completed #cruelcrownredque... on 2016-12-30
@jelaplan
@jelaplan completed #cruelcrownredque... on 2016-01-31
@jelaplan
@jelaplan began #cruelcrownredque... on 2016-01-31