1000 New Helpful Hints

Suzanne Collins
Katniss is a 16-year-old girl living with her mother and younger sister in the poorest district of Panem, the remains of what used be the United States. Long ago the districts waged war on the Capitol and were defeated. As part of the surrender terms, each district agreed to send one boy and one girl to appear in an annual televised event called,

Reviews

Reviewed: 2018-11-12
I thought that over all it was very good. I watched the movie first so when I read it the only parts that really stuck out to me were either the parts that were different or the parts that were explained a lot more. I really liked the way they world was built. I thought that it was a lot different then the worlds that have been in the other popular distopian trilogies that I have read. Overall very much enjoyable read :)
Reviewed: 2018-11-10
A strange experience. I had the impression that this was well-written, but it lacked almost all of the features which would typically warrant such a label. For example, there's not a single memorable sentence in the whole book. This quite remarkable, since it means there's (also) nothing memorably bad. It's as if Collins was able to (deliberately or not) purge any trace of style from her work.

The novel is pure plot. There's no character motivation that is not explained, usually up front. Very little is described or explained about the setting, except where it's relevant to the action. The obvious theme of economic justice is not explored in any way other than narrowly, as a motivating force for the protagonist. For me, it was interesting to read as if it were experimental. 'What would happen to if you wrote a novel and stripped away everything but the plot?'

Of course, it's not really an experimental novel. And maybe it's a common phenomenon, and I just haven't read a book like it lately. At times, the writing seemed almost mercenary. For example, early on Collins mistakenly refers to a group of arrows as a 'sheath' (rather than 'sheaf'). Now, this is just the quibbliest of quibbles, but it stuck with me. Was it just sloppy copy-editing or sloppy research? If the latter, how could you make a mistake like that? The protagonist's distinguishing characteristic is 'good with a bow and arrow'. Surely, I thought, someone might have at least googled something about 'archery' before press time. The best answer I could think of was that the people responsible said 'oh, it's a young adult novel...kids won't notice that kind of thing...it won't affect sales, so why spend any time on it.' At the same time, I always figured that 'young adult' meant something more than 'like for adults, but sloppier'.

No way of knowing, really. Maybe it was just an honest mistake. But those sorts of quibbles, combined with the 'pure plot' structure, continually gave me the impression of a book written not from the heart, but the wallet. Perhaps, in my old age, I've developed some sort of mental block that prevents me from enjoying (by all accounts) enjoyable commercial trash. Maybe it's just the old fashioned 'if you don't give a crap, why should I'?

Still interesting for the pure plot thing though (hence the three stars instead of two).
Reviewed: 2018-09-13
Excellent book, really good starting intro for the trilogy and and has a weirdly realistic feel to a possible future on the North American continent.
Reviewed: 2018-08-16
In a future North America, where the rulers of Panem maintain control through an annual televised survival competition pitting young people from each of the twelve districts against one another, sixteen-year-old Katniss's skills are put to the test when she voluntarily takes her younger sister's place.
Reviewed: 2018-07-18
True love from the first page :)
Reviewed: 2018-06-28
The Hunger Games series is my favorite series of all time. That pretty much says it all. Also, Peeta. Just Peeta❤️
Reviewed: 2018-04-21
This is an amazing fun ride that leaps out of the gate and never stops running. In the Country that is formed after the fall of the USA America has been split into 12 districts and the Capitol. The Capitol being modern Rome demands entertainment/punishment from the 12 districts. This is the Hunger Game that pits a boy and girl tribute from each district against each other in a winner take all game of survival. It is an interesting look at how people respond to power and chaos. Also I see it as a critical look at the reality show gone extreme.

Older novels have taken the reality show concept, but most were written before reality shows came about. Running Man being a prime example. So the game playing and how the game was played centered on the cat and mouse with little thought of performing for the audience. This one makes the audience performance even more important than the cat and mouse. Which we now know from the shows is how the games are actually played and why the audience responds to them. Take a hard look at yourself and try to figure out why Survivor or the Bachelor is so popular. We are modern day Rome.
Reviewed: 2018-01-17
Another book I couldn't put down. A lot great themes going on, trust, war, survival, government control, rebellion. At first this book reminded me of The Lottery, but I changed my opinion as I kept reading. Collins gives her main character, Katniss, humanity throughout the whole book when such horrific things were happening.

The government rationing of goods as a form of control made me thinking of several countries who use this type of control over their people. I can't wait to read the second and third books.
Reviewed: 2017-09-17
A fun plot, and great action sequences. It would have been a enjoyable light read if it had not been so very serious. Good lord! So much Wangst! Collins lays on the angst far too strongly far too early. You have no time to actually become attached to Catnis before you are bombarded by the excruciatingly annoying details of her dark and troubled past. She whines and moans her way through her role, reducing the tragedy of situation to something on the level of a spoiled child not getting a toy that she wants and subsequently throwing a temper tantrum. Thankfully, Collins seems to have realized her error, and the sequels are slightly funnier. But if you are looking for a fun young adult novel with a good mixture of drama and comedy, I would suggest you try either the Artemis Fowl series, or the Skulduggery Pleasant series.
Reviewed: 2017-04-11
Really wanted to read this series for a couple of years now. Glad that I finally did - action-packed and suspenseful throughout!
Item Posts
@mama2eeee
@mama2eeee completed #hungergamesthe... on 2012-10-01
@ginadavidson
@ginadavidson completed #hungergamesthehu... on 2010-12-08
@drewpy94
@drewpy94 completed #hungergames00000... on 2018-05-08
@drewpy94
@drewpy94 began #hungergames00000... on 2018-05-07
@fromelliott
@fromelliott completed #hungergamesthehu... on 2010-08-24
@fromelliott
@fromelliott began #hungergamesthehu... on 2010-08-20
@booklover23
@booklover23 completed #hungergamesthe... on 2012-03-23
@bayakers
@bayakers completed #hungergamesthe... on 2011-08-14
@bayakers
@bayakers began #hungergamesthe... on 2011-08-03
@booklover4eva
@booklover4eva completed #1000newhelpfulhi... on 2009-01-01
@electricidiot
@electricidiot completed #hungergamesthe... on 2016-01-10
@electricidiot
@electricidiot began #hungergamesthe... on 2016-01-06
@tjanla
@tjanla completed #hungergamesthe... on 2014-06-30
@eorlingas23
@eorlingas23 completed #hungergamesthe... on 2012-05-16
@eorlingas23
@eorlingas23 began #hungergamesthe... on 2012-05-08