Allegiant

Veronica Roth
What if your whole world was a lie?What if a single revelation—like a single choice—changed everything?What if love and loyalty made you do things you never expected?The explosive conclusion to Veronica Roth's #1 New York Times bestselling Divergent trilogy reveals the secrets of the dystopian world that has captivated millions of readers in Divergent and Insurgent.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2017-08-07
Ending was very ballsy and meaningful, not very satisfying to me as a reader though.
Reviewed: 2017-05-23

Where do I even begin with this book? I guess I have a love-hate relationship with it. Veronica's writing is phenomenal but this book literally made me cry for days when I first read it - it still makes me cry - and I really wasn't sure how long it was appropriate to mourn a fictional character. 

Life outside of the city is definitely different in the Bureau but I always imagined it how America is now - with a lot more ruins, of course - and I absolutely loved how detailed everything was. You could tell that Veronica had thought out the side characters meticulously, giving each their own personality that you don't normally find when a character is only mentioned on one page. 

The ending was something that I'm not sure I agree with. I understand why she ended it the way that she did - it just seemed like the right thing to do with how said character was in the previous books - but it still made me feel like a part of myself died with the story. I know that it'll continue to live on as long as I cherish the story though, I just wish things had turned out differently.

Reviewed: 2017-01-29
I'll up it to 1.5 stars for making me feel something other than a boundless rage at the end. (Everyone complains about the end, but it's the best part. No more crap!)

Summation: Tris and Four didn't have distinguished enough voices for the alternating POV thing to work. Half the time I would forget who was the "I," if I left the book to go do something for five minutes or more in the middle of a chapter.

Also, all I thought the whole time was "THIS IS NOT HOW GENES WORK!" And it's not: http://reflectionofreality.com/post/98102281799/why-the-premise-in-allegiant-doesnt-make-sense

When you write something, particularly a thing with religious-y undertones, getting basic facts about science correct would be great.
Reviewed: 2016-07-05
Hardback
Reviewed: 2016-06-14
2,5 stars

Why I had to wait so long to read this because I don’t remember what happened in Insurgent any more! Or maybe it was a good thing because I can’t help but to feel disappointed… I loved Divergent and liked Insurgent so I’m just so sad that it ended like this.

In this book we have dual pov between Tris and Tobias/Four. And I can’t believe what I read. Where did this wimpy, whining, insecure mess come from? All Four’s chapters are basically one big whiny fest where he does one bad decision after another. That’s like a another person altogether from Four at Divergent. And apparently Tris can do no wrong in this book which was annoying as well.

We finally see the world outside and I wasn’t impressed. There are no factions but the life still isn’t that different and they still deal with pretty much same problems.

So yeah, disappointed is the word of the day… Maybe if I hadn’t loved Divergent so much this would have been better.
Reviewed: 2016-01-30
This book probably should of received a 5/5 star rating but I have it a 4/5 star rating. This is because the book I ordered and received did not have the right pages. All the pages were out of order starting where page one should of been I have page 209. The book is all out of order! After finishing I think I understand the gist of it but it would of been way easier to read it if it was right!
Reviewed: 2015-08-26
I thought the ending was perfect. It was sad but realistic. It was not what I expected and I think that's why I loved it.
Reviewed: 2015-07-09
It's actually much closer to a 3 than even a 3.5 - but I wanted to balance out the reviews of the people who are just pissed that Roth made a bold authorial choice in the end. The author tells the story they want, kids, not the story you want them to tell. That's the whole idea. So it gets 4 stars here and 3ish 3.5 in real life.

Anyway, I found the continual switched-allegiances (ha) and the continual bickering to be mostly annoying by this point. There are some interesting Big Ideas raised here but they never really get the play they deserve (considering they are truly BIG ideas)... and while the ending brought home the message of the first book in a nice way, I'm pretty sure this book is a letdown nonetheless.

More on the whole trilogy at RB: http://wp.me/pGVzJ-Qq
Reviewed: 2015-07-01

Overall I liked this book :D It's not better than Divergent, but in my opinnion, it's better than Insurgent. :D I like the dual point of view, but sometimes t felt like it's the same person... But, I read the book while listening to an audiobook, so I didn't have a big problem with the dual point of view. :D

Reviewed: 2015-04-03

** spoiler alert ** It was amazing and thought provoking.

I didn't cry when she died, but rather when the ones she loved and cared about did. Then I realised I never cry when they die, but at the reactions of their loved ones. Their tears and grief and struggles to understand and except the death. They lost so much, yet her death hit the hardest. She died in sacrifice and not because she wanted to but for all those she loved and cared about and thousands more. Now you can rest in peace and 'Be Brave Tris'

Item Posts
@kpdickinson
@kpdickinson completed #allegiant... on 2016-03-28
@kpdickinson
@kpdickinson began #allegiant... on 2016-03-21
@bluephoenix84
@bluephoenix84 completed #allegiantbook000... on 2018-04-30
@bluephoenix84
@bluephoenix84 began #allegiantbook000... on 2018-04-19
@jeanielee2007
@jeanielee2007 completed #allegiant... on 2014-02-09
@jeanielee2007
@jeanielee2007 began #allegiant... on 2013-10-27
@makaylamw
@makaylamw completed #allegiant... on 2016-03-04
@makaylamw
@makaylamw began #allegiant... on 2016-02-24
@caityreads11
@caityreads11 completed #allegiant... on 2014-04-16
@mrscutting
@mrscutting began #allegiant... on 2016-08-26
@gomiller
@gomiller completed #allegiant... on 2016-03-26
@gomiller
@gomiller began #allegiant... on 2016-03-21
@klutzykallin
@klutzykallin completed #allegiant... on 2016-07-04
@cclimer94
@cclimer94 completed #allegiant... on 2016-02-24
@cclimer94
@cclimer94 began #allegiant... on 2016-02-17