Dark Matter

Blake Crouch
A brilliantly plotted, relentlessly surprising science-fiction thriller from the author of the bestselling Wayward Pines trilogy-“Are you happy with your life?”   Those are the last words Jason Dessen hears before the masked abductor knocks him unconscious.   Before he awakens to find himself strapped to a gurney, surrounded by strangers in hazmat suits.   Before a man Jason’s never met smiles down at him and says, “Welcome back, my friend.”    In this world he’s woken up to, Jason’s life is not the one he knows. His wife is not his wife. His son was never born. And Jason is not an ordinary college physics professor, but a celebrated genius who has achieved something remarkable. Something impossible.   Is it this world or the other that’s the dream? And even if the home he remembers is real, how can Jason possibly make it back to the family he loves? The answers lie in a journey more wondrous and horrifying than anything he could’ve imagined—one that will force him to confront the darkest parts of himself even as he battles a terrifying, seemingly unbeatable foe.  Dark Matter is a brilliantly plotted tale that is at once sweeping and intimate, mind-bendingly strange and profoundly human—a relentlessly surprising science-fiction thriller about choices, paths not taken, and how far we’ll go to claim the lives we dream of.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2021-10-25
Took a while to get going, probably as I had read Recursion the day before and saw a lot of similarities. But just like with that one this book took on a line of its own and took me with it
Reviewed: 2021-07-22
4
Reviewed: 2021-02-04
4.10
Reviewed: 2021-01-19
More or less pointless. A drab, mass-maket book with a bit of sci-fi thrown in to try (and fail) to make it heavy or worthy. It isn't.

Got about 1/3 ot the way through, checked some reviews to see if it was really all this bad, and it seems that it gets worse. General agreement that it's Fluff dressed up in sci-fi garb.

3 cos it's an easy read
Reviewed: 2020-11-04
I still think and talk about this book and its weeks later. I have never and likely will never read anything like it again! I couldn't put it down and couldn't figure it out. I still have lots of questions and while I don't usually pick books up again I see myself finding something new in this each time.

HIGHLY recommend.
Reviewed: 2019-08-16

Read for book club. Some parts were hilarious, but I don't think that was the intended emotion.

Reviewed: 2018-10-06
5
Reviewed: 2018-05-07

Maia recommends

Item Posts
@sstewart
@sstewart completed #darkmatteranovel... on 2021-08-08
@sstewart
@sstewart began #darkmatteranovel... on 2021-07-31
@kristenkjohnson
@kristenkjohnson began #darkmatteranovel... on 2021-01-13
@kristenkjohnson
@kristenkjohnson completed #darkmatteranovel... on 2021-01-17
@ellamc
@ellamc began #darkmatteranovel... on 2018-06-14
@ellamc
@ellamc began #darkmatteranovel... on 2018-04-01
@ellamc
@ellamc completed #darkmatteranovel... on 2018-04-03
@msbeavert
@msbeavert completed #darkmatteranovel... on 2018-12-06
@msbeavert
@msbeavert began #darkmatteranovel... on 2018-12-02
@rpavey
@rpavey completed #darkmatter... on 2018-09-09
@rpavey
@rpavey began #darkmatter... on 2018-09-08
@nmurphy
@nmurphy completed #darkmatteranovel... on 2017-08-11
@bikram
@bikram completed #darkmatter... on 2017-06-02
@bikram
@bikram began #darkmatter... on 2017-05-31
@ptakacs68
@ptakacs68 began #darkmatteranovel... on 2017-03-09