Harry Potter and the Cursed Child - Parts One & Two (Special Rehearsal Edition Script): The Official Script Book of the Original West End Production

J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne, John Tiffany
The Eighth Story. Nineteen Years Later.Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on July 30, 2016. It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2018-01-04

I highly recommend this harry potter its full of fun exciting twists and thrills.

Reviewed: 2017-09-10

Meh. Can't say I was overly impressed by this book. It just seemed like a little much, and rather unnecessary. 

Reviewed: 2017-08-29
Book Description "The Eighth Story. Nineteen Years Later. Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play will receive its world premiere in London's West End on July 30, 2016. It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn't much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children. While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places."
Reviewed: 2017-01-17
Though undoubtedly better on stage, J.K. Rowling's latest venture to expand the Wizarding World is still a fabulous fan letter to a generation now facing the challenges of adulthood after growing up with Harry.
Reviewed: 2017-01-01
I enjoyed this script more than I thought I would. I like the fact that it adds another dimension to the already multi-dimensional world J.K. Rowling has created with Harry Potter. Reading a script set in the wizarding world rather than a detailed book (like books 1-7) took some getting used to, but after conquering this hurdle I thoroughly enjoyed reading this play. It is an easy read. I read most of it in one day.
Reviewed: 2016-09-27

I struggled while reading this screen play. I was overly excited for it to come out but was very disappointed. I struggled to see this as a sequel to the original series. Simply because something has a similar topic, does not make it as good as the original. I liked the suspense and plot twists as I was reading but did not enjoy them after I finished the book. I found them hard to believe. It did not fit with the complicated characters and development from the original series and anything that has been published after the fact. I would use this book to teach authors choice as well as exploring screenplays with my students. It's a great screen play and show the progression between multiple years in such a short amount of time.

Reviewed: 2016-09-26
With the newest installment of the infamous Harry Potter franchise, J.K. Rowling introduces the eigth story, nineteen years later with "Harry Potter and the Cursed Child". Years after the Battle of Hogwarts, audiences return to the wizarding world with this newly script-style text where readers can dive into a theatrical performance and perspective of the characters we have all come to know and love in a new and mature way. The story begins with a continuation of the final Potter scene at Platform 9 3/4 of "Harry Potter and the Deathly Hollows" where we left Harry, Ron, Hermoine, Ginny, and Draco being seen sending off their children for their very first year at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. In this play, audiences take a look at young lives of the offspring of our favorite leading characters and the new journey they embark in during their time as Hogwarts students. The story focuses on Harry's second child, his son, Albus Severus Potter and his struggle of finding his own place in the wizarding world. Albus defines Hogwarts as a place unlike the safehaven like his father did, but more as an atmosphere of being overshadowed by his father's infamous reputation. Feeling much pressure by everyone's expectations of being the child of Harry Potter, Albus defies the social norms of being what everyone wants him to be, and instead sets off on his own journey. Creating new friendships along the way, Albus follows what he believe's is right, no matter what people have to say about it. Based on this book, readers will develop the understanding that the coming of age of a young adult is something that is truly vulnerable and you can't expect a person to fit into any sort of mold that an individual or society creates for you. Lessons for this book would include focusing on perspective and narrative writing and portraying such writing forms in various styles, including screenplays, scripts, and diaries.
Reviewed: 2016-09-26
"Harry Potter and the Cursed Child" is an excellent read for anyone who loves the Harry Potter series. With the return of beloved characters 19 years later, the play tells the story of the next generation of Hogwarts students that happen to be the children of Harry Potter, Hermonie Granger, Ron Weasley, Genny Weasley, and Draco Malfoy. Different from the other novels, this is written as a play, consisting of two acts. With this new layout, readers who love plays will have an easy time reading this play. However, it may be confusing to some readers who struggle with plays as their are many scenes in which consist of flashbacks and traveling back in time, making it difficult to keep track of the events that occur throughout the novel. However, I thought that it was a great addition to the Harry Potter franchise as it brought me back to the Wizarding World. With new characters, plot, layout, and themes, "Harry Potter and the Cursed Child" was very enjoyable and was an easy read. What I learned from reading this play is the theme, be happy with what you have. In the play the main character, Albus Potter, is unhappy with living up to the reputation that his father, Harry, has set for him. With using time turners to travel back in time to stop the death of Cedric Diggory, it causes ripples into the present. With drastic changes to the present, Albus finds himself constantly traveling back in time to fix his mistakes and bring the present back to it's normal state. I would teach this play if I wanted to introduce students to the format of a play and to the literary device of flashbacks. With constant use of flashbacks throughout the play, it is a good piece of literature that clearly represents it in mostly every scene.
Reviewed: 2016-08-09

A gift, another Harry Potter book after all these years. A moment to be shared between generations, much like the story itself, as parents can see the passion for Hogwarts spreading to their sons and daughters, just like it originated for themselves years before. There are only a few times in life that an event seems to blend time and space like I have seen with this book release. Parents seeing images of their younger selves, in the checkout line, clutching what was then copies of Goblet of Fire, blending into the current image of their children dancing with anticipation holding Cursed Child. At least that is the way that I figured it was happening for people, my son was completely oblivious to the book release, and was more interested in finding out if he could advance order the next Riordan book.

Beyond my fanboy glee at seeing another edition in the Tales of Hogwarts, I was mildly annoyed to see it maintained its scripted format versus an adapted novelization format. After 5 minutes of reading, I no longer cared as I was entranced in the story, and dreaming of what the Sorting Hat would have said about me.

The story introduces us to the Potter, Weasley, and Malfoy children picking up right at the end scene from Deathly Hallows. Similar to the originals, whenever the families got together, mischief ensues. I loved seeing the development of new friendships and first crushes. Harry Potter goes from superhero of the world to one of the bumbling adults in a character development arc that brought tears and laughter. Hermione and Ron are still awkward with each other. Ginny has taken over the role of worried mother.  I would love to see more stories about them, but it seems that Rowling is done with the storyline.

 

It wouldn’t even be fair to rate the book. I can’t remain objective when reading about some of my most beloved characters. I wouldn’t even bother with “recommend” for this one, make it a MUST read. 

Reviewed: 2016-08-04

Omg. I never thought I'd get to experience the glorious rush of another Harry Potter book like the series, but man, I experienced it. I would've loved a novelization, but honestly, I felt like the script allowed me to use my imagination a bit more wildly. Also, I'm just happy and grateful that J.K. Rowling graced us with this story so soon instead of me having to wait another year or two for a novelization. I'm in love!

Item Posts
@obzen
@obzen completed #harrypotterandth... on 2018-07-08
@aiimee
@aiimee completed #harrypotterandth... on 2018-06-19
@aiimee
@aiimee began #harrypotterandth... on 2018-06-18
@kpdickinson
@kpdickinson completed #harrypotterandth... on 2016-08-16
@kpdickinson
@kpdickinson began #harrypotterandth... on 2016-08-08
@glee95
@glee95 completed #harrypotterandth... on 2018-05-13
@glee95
@glee95 began #harrypotterandth... on 2018-05-12
@tomasmramirez
@tomasmramirez completed #harrypotterandth... on 2018-05-05
@slamunyon
@slamunyon completed #harrypotterandth... on 2018-04-05
@slamunyon
@slamunyon began #harrypotterandth... on 2018-03-24
@jeanielee2007
@jeanielee2007 completed #harrypotterandth... on 2016-08-03
@jeanielee2007
@jeanielee2007 began #harrypotterandth... on 2016-07-31
@yehudawise
@yehudawise completed #harrypotterandth... on 2018-01-13
@josephinebooks
@josephinebooks completed #harrypotterandth... on 2017-09-17
@joshnovalis
@joshnovalis completed #harrypotterandth... on 2017-08-04