Harry Potter and the Cursed Child - Parts One & Two (Special Rehearsal Edition Script): The Official Script Book of the Original West End Production

J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne, John Tiffany
The Eighth Story. Nineteen Years Later.Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on July 30, 2016. It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2019-11-30
Scholastic Incorporated
Reviewed: 2019-07-14
Audiobook - would’ve been a good book if it weren’t a sequel to the Harry Potter series. The characters are so out of their characters 98% of the time. The story’s not bad but just the way the characters are acting is what fuels me! Harry Potter being disrespectful and threatening Minerva? You’re kidding. Worst HP sequel book.
Reviewed: 2019-07-04
Okay...who the heck thought that this book was a good idea??? I mean, it is a good idea. As a huge Harry Potter fan, I would love a sequel to the series, but this is most definitely not what I would have in mind. I didn’t like that it was done exclusively as a play. I think that’s a huge part of why I didn’t like it. It’s also just so confusing. All the hat between Draco and Harry (honestly, I thought that crap was resolved). And the drama with Harry and his son (nope, not having it). I don’t even know what else to say about this book. None of the original characters even seemed the same. I get they’re older adults now, but I didn’t feel that the personalities of any of them were there. It was like they were all completely different people. The plot was terrible and the writing style (minus the fact it was a play) made it seem like it was written for little kids. It makes me sad to do this, but 2 stars is all this book will get from me.
Reviewed: 2019-06-17
Not at all what I was expecting, which is sometimes a good thing when delving into one of your favorite book series. I thoroughly enjoyed Albus and Scorpius' friendship the most. Not as spectacular or willing to hold my attention like the originals but enough to keep my Harry Potter addiction in check.
Reviewed: 2016-08-09

A gift, another Harry Potter book after all these years. A moment to be shared between generations, much like the story itself, as parents can see the passion for Hogwarts spreading to their sons and daughters, just like it originated for themselves years before. There are only a few times in life that an event seems to blend time and space like I have seen with this book release. Parents seeing images of their younger selves, in the checkout line, clutching what was then copies of Goblet of Fire, blending into the current image of their children dancing with anticipation holding Cursed Child. At least that is the way that I figured it was happening for people, my son was completely oblivious to the book release, and was more interested in finding out if he could advance order the next Riordan book.

Beyond my fanboy glee at seeing another edition in the Tales of Hogwarts, I was mildly annoyed to see it maintained its scripted format versus an adapted novelization format. After 5 minutes of reading, I no longer cared as I was entranced in the story, and dreaming of what the Sorting Hat would have said about me.

The story introduces us to the Potter, Weasley, and Malfoy children picking up right at the end scene from Deathly Hallows. Similar to the originals, whenever the families got together, mischief ensues. I loved seeing the development of new friendships and first crushes. Harry Potter goes from superhero of the world to one of the bumbling adults in a character development arc that brought tears and laughter. Hermione and Ron are still awkward with each other. Ginny has taken over the role of worried mother.  I would love to see more stories about them, but it seems that Rowling is done with the storyline.

 

It wouldn’t even be fair to rate the book. I can’t remain objective when reading about some of my most beloved characters. I wouldn’t even bother with “recommend” for this one, make it a MUST read. 

Reviewed: 2016-08-04

Omg. I never thought I'd get to experience the glorious rush of another Harry Potter book like the series, but man, I experienced it. I would've loved a novelization, but honestly, I felt like the script allowed me to use my imagination a bit more wildly. Also, I'm just happy and grateful that J.K. Rowling graced us with this story so soon instead of me having to wait another year or two for a novelization. I'm in love!

Item Posts
@gosstucker
@gosstucker began #harrypotterandth... on 2021-04-03
@gosstucker
@gosstucker completed #harrypotterandth... on 2021-04-04
@saltyjoker25
@saltyjoker25 began #harrypotterandth... on 2019-10-21
@saltyjoker25
@saltyjoker25 completed #harrypotterandth... on 2019-10-20
@maragtzr
@maragtzr completed #harrypotterandth... on 2016-08-17
@maragtzr
@maragtzr began #harrypotterandth... on 2016-08-13
@chrisbillones07
@chrisbillones07 completed #harrypotterandth... on 2019-07-03
@woodsangel
@woodsangel completed #harrypotterandth... on 2017-01-23
@zairhazerdane1
@zairhazerdane1 began #harrypotterandth... on 2019-02-12
@obzen
@obzen completed #harrypotterandth... on 2018-07-08
@kpdickinson
@kpdickinson completed #harrypotterandth... on 2016-08-16
@kpdickinson
@kpdickinson began #harrypotterandth... on 2016-08-08
@glee95
@glee95 completed #harrypotterandth... on 2018-05-13
@glee95
@glee95 began #harrypotterandth... on 2018-05-12
@tomasmramirez
@tomasmramirez completed #harrypotterandth... on 2018-05-05