Harry Potter and the Cursed Child - Parts One & Two (Special Rehearsal Edition Script): The Official Script Book of the Original West End Production

J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne, John Tiffany
The Eighth Story. Nineteen Years Later.Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on July 30, 2016. It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2019-07-14
Audiobook - would’ve been a good book if it weren’t a sequel to the Harry Potter series. The characters are so out of their characters 98% of the time. The story’s not bad but just the way the characters are acting is what fuels me! Harry Potter being disrespectful and threatening Minerva? You’re kidding. Worst HP sequel book.
Reviewed: 2019-07-04
Okay...who the heck thought that this book was a good idea??? I mean, it is a good idea. As a huge Harry Potter fan, I would love a sequel to the series, but this is most definitely not what I would have in mind. I didn’t like that it was done exclusively as a play. I think that’s a huge part of why I didn’t like it. It’s also just so confusing. All the hat between Draco and Harry (honestly, I thought that crap was resolved). And the drama with Harry and his son (nope, not having it). I don’t even know what else to say about this book. None of the original characters even seemed the same. I get they’re older adults now, but I didn’t feel that the personalities of any of them were there. It was like they were all completely different people. The plot was terrible and the writing style (minus the fact it was a play) made it seem like it was written for little kids. It makes me sad to do this, but 2 stars is all this book will get from me.
Reviewed: 2019-06-17
Not at all what I was expecting, which is sometimes a good thing when delving into one of your favorite book series. I thoroughly enjoyed Albus and Scorpius' friendship the most. Not as spectacular or willing to hold my attention like the originals but enough to keep my Harry Potter addiction in check.
Reviewed: 2018-09-28


Hmmmm...I am left a little frazzled after this book. On the one hard there are some absolutely breathtaking scenes that left me in an emotional state of tears and on the other hand this really felt so disjointed and off from the beloved series that we have read over and over again.

So how to rate?? This is one that undoubtedly has to be broken down a bit. So let's see where this one lands...

Albus and Scorpius - 5 Stars
These sons of Malfoy and Potter are just amazingly depicted and heartbreaking to read about. I loved ever moment they were on page. Their relationship with each other and the relationships they have with their parents kinda tore me up.

Malfoy - 5 Stars
Of the original characters, I found him to be the one I most enjoyed reading about. His current life and loves and the reflections his character has on the past were a bit gut wrenching to the point my daughter asked me why I was crying and I could hardly form a sentence to explain what was happening.

Snape - 5 Stars
Yes...Snape. And I will not go into much detail but the scenes with this beloved character is reason enough to read this.

Potter - 4 Stars
Harry kinda drove me nuts at times and I am not sure we really got full closure on what the riff was with him.

The Story - 2 Stars
The whole plot was OTT and just a mess. Yes, you will need a pen and paper to keep up and honestly even that will not help. I mean, even in Back to the Future II we got a map...but nothing here even came close to being resolvable...so I guess just role with it and don't worry so much about the details.

"The Cursed Child" - 1 Star
I am not sure I even know who this was. Hmmmm. Harry, Voldemort, Albus, Scorpius, Malfoy, Diggory or another character I will not mention? I honestly have no clue.

The Writing - 3 Stars
I have to say I am torn here which is why this lands in the middle for me. There are portions of this...conversations between our characters that have absolutely nothing to do with the story at all which are shear perfection. Unbelievable passages and love which for me was so in keeping with the love I felt during the original books. And yet there are other parts which seemed disjointed and off from what I know. This is written as a play and while at times I felt so much was missing it was also quite intriging. I would love to see this played out on stage.

In the end this averages to about a 3.5...which I guess is probably where I would land.

Should you expect Book #8 of Harry Potter...no. But for the glimpses and exchanges between these beloved characters it is worth the journey for sure. I love these characters and they will forever hold a special place in my heart.

Reviewed: 2018-01-04

I highly recommend this harry potter its full of fun exciting twists and thrills.

Reviewed: 2017-09-10

Meh. Can't say I was overly impressed by this book. It just seemed like a little much, and rather unnecessary. 

Reviewed: 2017-08-29
Book Description "The Eighth Story. Nineteen Years Later. Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play will receive its world premiere in London's West End on July 30, 2016. It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn't much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children. While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places."
Reviewed: 2017-01-17
Though undoubtedly better on stage, J.K. Rowling's latest venture to expand the Wizarding World is still a fabulous fan letter to a generation now facing the challenges of adulthood after growing up with Harry.
Reviewed: 2017-01-01
I enjoyed this script more than I thought I would. I like the fact that it adds another dimension to the already multi-dimensional world J.K. Rowling has created with Harry Potter. Reading a script set in the wizarding world rather than a detailed book (like books 1-7) took some getting used to, but after conquering this hurdle I thoroughly enjoyed reading this play. It is an easy read. I read most of it in one day.
Reviewed: 2016-09-27

I struggled while reading this screen play. I was overly excited for it to come out but was very disappointed. I struggled to see this as a sequel to the original series. Simply because something has a similar topic, does not make it as good as the original. I liked the suspense and plot twists as I was reading but did not enjoy them after I finished the book. I found them hard to believe. It did not fit with the complicated characters and development from the original series and anything that has been published after the fact. I would use this book to teach authors choice as well as exploring screenplays with my students. It's a great screen play and show the progression between multiple years in such a short amount of time.

Item Posts
@chrisbillones07
@chrisbillones07 completed #harrypotterandth... on 2019-07-03 00:00:00
@woodsangel
@woodsangel completed #harrypotterandth... on 2017-01-23 00:00:00
@zairhazerdane1
@zairhazerdane1 began #harrypotterandth... on 2019-02-12
@obzen
@obzen completed #harrypotterandth... on 2018-07-08
@aiimee
@aiimee completed #harrypotterandth... on 2018-06-19
@aiimee
@aiimee began #harrypotterandth... on 2018-06-18
@kpdickinson
@kpdickinson completed #harrypotterandth... on 2016-08-16
@kpdickinson
@kpdickinson began #harrypotterandth... on 2016-08-08
@glee95
@glee95 completed #harrypotterandth... on 2018-05-13
@glee95
@glee95 began #harrypotterandth... on 2018-05-12
@tomasmramirez
@tomasmramirez completed #harrypotterandth... on 2018-05-05
@slamunyon
@slamunyon completed #harrypotterandth... on 2018-04-05
@slamunyon
@slamunyon began #harrypotterandth... on 2018-03-24
@jeanielee2007
@jeanielee2007 completed #harrypotterandth... on 2016-08-03
@jeanielee2007
@jeanielee2007 began #harrypotterandth... on 2016-07-31