Dark Places: A Novel

Gillian Flynn
I have a meanness inside me, real as an organ.Libby Day was seven when her mother and two sisters were murdered in “The Satan Sacrifice of Kinnakee, Kansas.” As her family lay dying, little Libby fled their tiny farmhouse into the freezing January snow. She lost some fingers and toes, but she survived–and famously testified that her fifteen-year-old brother, Ben, was the killer. Twenty-five years later, Ben sits in prison, and troubled Libby lives off the dregs of a trust created by well-wishers who’ve long forgotten her. The Kill Club is a macabre secret society obsessed with notorious crimes. When they locate Libby and pump her for details–proof they hope may free Ben–Libby hatches a plan to profit off her tragic history. For a fee, she’ll reconnect with the players from that night and report her findings to the club . . . and maybe she’ll admit her testimony wasn’t so solid after all.As Libby’s search takes her from shabby Missouri strip clubs to abandoned Oklahoma tourist towns, the narrative flashes back to January 2, 1985. The events of that day are relayed through the eyes of Libby’s doomed family members–including Ben, a loner whose rage over his shiftless father and their failing farm have driven him into a disturbing friendship with the new girl in town. Piece by piece, the unimaginable truth emerges, and Libby finds herself right back where she started–on the run from a killer.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2017-09-17
Really good book! I read this probably 2 years ago and I still remember it. I guessed the mystery but it was still a great read. A little twisted, but still great.
Reviewed: 2017-08-29
Book Description FROM THE #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF GONE GIRL Libby Day was seven when her mother and two sisters were murdered in "The Satan Sacrifice" of Kinnakee, Kansas." She survived--and famously testified that her fifteen-year-old brother, Ben, was the killer. Twenty-five years later, the Kill Club--a secret secret society obsessed with notorious crimes--locates Libby and pumps her for details. They hope to discover proof that may free Ben. Libby hopes to turn a profit off her tragic history: She'll reconnect with the players from that night and report her findings to the club--for a fee. As Libby's search takes her from shabby Missouri strip clubs to abandoned Oklahoma tourist towns, the unimaginable truth emerges, and Libby finds herself right back where she started--on the run from a killer. Editorial Reviews From Publishers Weekly Starred Review. Edgar-finalist Flynn's second crime thriller tops her impressive debut, Sharp Objects. When Libby Day's mother and two older sisters were slaughtered in the family's Kansas farmhouse, it was seven-year-old Libby's testimony that sent her 15-year-old brother, Ben, to prison for life. Desperate for cash 24 years later, Libby reluctantly agrees to meet members of the Kill Club, true crime enthusiasts who bicker over famous cases. She's shocked to learn most of them believe Ben is innocent and the real killer is still on the loose. Though initially interested only in making a quick buck hocking family memorabilia, Libby is soon drawn into the club's pseudo-investigation, and begins to question what exactly she saw--or didn't see--the night of the tragedy. Flynn fluidly moves between cynical present-day Libby and the hours leading up to the murders through the eyes of her family members. When the truth emerges, it's so twisted that even the most astute readers won't have predicted it. (May) Copyright ® Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title. From The New Yorker Libby Day, the protagonist of Flynn's disturbing second novel, was, as a seven-year-old, the only survivor of her family's brutal murder by her older brother, an event dubbed by the media the "Satan Sacrifice of Kinnakee, Kansas." Twenty-five years later, she has become a hardened, selfish young woman with no friends or family. Since the tragedy, her life has been paid for by donations of well-wishers, but, with that fund now empty, Libby must find a way to make money. Her search leads her to The Kill Club, a secret society of people obsessed with the details of notorious murders. As Libby tries to gather artifacts to sell to The Kill Club (whose members, it turns out, doubt the guilt of her brother), she is forced to reëxamine the events of the night of the murder. Flynn's well-paced story deftly shows the fallibility of memory and the lies a child tells herself to get through a trauma. Copyright ®2008 Click here to subscribe to The New Yorker --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.
Reviewed: 2017-04-09

Wonderful read, the author really kept me moving through the story! I would be aware there is some "dark" content in the book (which makes sense if you read the title). 

I would not waste your time with the movie though, does not stand up to the quality of the book at all. 

Reviewed: 2016-01-16
Libby Day was seven when her mother and two sisters were murdered in 'The Satan Sacrifice of Kinnakee, Kansas'. As her family lay dying, little Libby fled their tiny farmhouse into the freezing January snow. She lost some fingers and toes, but she survived-and famously testified that her fifteen-year-old brother, Ben, was the killer. Twenty-five years later, Ben sits in prison, and troubled Libby lives off the dregs of a trust created by well-wishers who've long forgotten her. The Kill Club is a macabre secret society obsessed with notorious crimes. When they locate Libby and pump her for details-proof they hope may free Ben-Libby hatches a plan to profit off her tragic history. For a fee, she'll reconnect with the players from that night and report her findings to the club, and maybe she'll admit her testimony wasn't so solid after all. As Libby's search takes her from shabby Missouri strip clubs to abandoned Oklahoma tourist towns, the narrative flashes back to January 2, 1985. The events of that day are relayed through the eyes of Libby's doomed family members-including Ben, a loner whose rage over his shiftless father and their failing farm have driven him into a disturbing friendship with the new girl in town. Piece by piece, the unimaginable truth emerges, and Libby finds herself right back where she started-on the run from a killer.
Reviewed: 2015-08-28

I absolutely loved this book! You were guessing until the very end. -April

Item Posts
@500booksblog
@500booksblog completed #darkplacesanovel... on 2018-11-21 00:00:00
@500booksblog
@500booksblog began #darkplacesanovel... on 2018-11-18 00:00:00
@Darci
@Darci completed #darkplacesanovel... on 2018-09-28
@Darci
@Darci began #darkplacesanovel... on 2018-09-20
@ellenmiller
@ellenmiller completed #darkplacesanovel... on 2015-11-17
@kpdickinson
@kpdickinson completed #darkplacesanovel... on 2018-08-19
@kpdickinson
@kpdickinson began #darkplacesanovel... on 2018-08-16
@nolanc23
@nolanc23 completed #darkplacesanovel... on 2018-04-17
@nolanc23
@nolanc23 began #darkplacesanovel... on 2018-04-08
@lyz2288
@lyz2288 completed #darkplacesanovel... on 2018-01-10
@lyz2288
@lyz2288 began #darkplacesanovel... on 2017-12-26
@kristinawithak
@kristinawithak completed #darkplacesanovel... on 2014-08-18
@aylai
@aylai completed #darkplacesanovel... on 2014-10-16
@aylai
@aylai began #darkplacesanovel... on 2014-10-14
@eileenablondi
@eileenablondi completed #darkplaces... on 2014-12-03