Maze Runner, The

James Dashner
Read the first book in the New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent. The Maze Runner motion picture featuring the star of MTV's Teen Wolf, Dylan O’Brien; Kaya Scodelario; Thomas Brodie-Sangster; Will Poulter; and Aml Ameen, and hits theaters September 19, 2014! Also look for James Dashner’s newest book The Eye of Minds, book one in the Mortality Doctrine series.   If you ain’t scared, you ain’t human.   When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his name. He’s surrounded by strangers—boys whose memories are also gone.   Nice to meet ya, shank. Welcome to the Glade.   Outside the towering stone walls that surround the Glade is a limitless, ever-changing maze. It’s the only way out—and no one’s ever made it through alive.   Everything is going to change.   Then a girl arrives. The first girl ever. And the message she delivers is terrifying.   Remember. Survive. Run. Praise for the Maze Runner series:   "[A] mysterious survival saga that passionate fans describe as a fusion of Lord of the Flies, The Hunger Games, and Lost."—EW.com   “Wonderful action writing—fast-paced…but smart and well observed.”—Newsday “[A] nail-biting must-read.”—Seventeen.com“Breathless, cinematic action.”—Publishers Weekly   “Heart-pounding to the very last moment.”—Kirkus Reviews   “Exclamation-worthy.”—Romantic Times   [STAR] “James Dashner’s illuminating prequel [The Kill Order] will thrill fans of this Maze Runner [series] and prove just as exciting for readers new to the series.”—Shelf Awareness, Starred   “Take a deep breath before you start any James Dashner book.”—Deseret NewsFrom the Hardcover edition.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2018-01-25

The Maze Runner is a great book and it is a really action packed book. It is also a really good movie to. The book is about a teenager ,Thomas, that gets sent to The Maze ,which is a prison baseacly, and he has to survive in the middle of the maze. Well he decided to go in the maze when it was turninig night. The Maze has these things called Greavirs which are bad. In the middle of the story the Greavirs get in the middle of the maze where all of the people are and most of the people die. SSso Thomas and the other runners have to find clues to get out of the maze. And once they get all of the clues, they can excape the maze and thats when the Scorch Chriles begins

Reviewed: 2016-07-05
Paperback
Reviewed: 2015-03-11

A Young Adult dystopian trilogy that'll keep you guessing right up until the last few pages of the book. I picked up this book because I've come to enjoy dystopian worlds and this one seemed like it could be a good one.

I gave this book a pretty low rating not because I didn't enjoy the story. In fact, I really think it had a solid plot. I was totally engaged the whole time I was reading. There was always something happening that you think gets you closer to finding out more, but then you actually end up feeling even more in the dark. I like how all major happenings were spread out evenly, because this was one of the reasons I never got bored.

However! The reason I only gave this book a 3.5 out of 5 stars is because the conversations were SO freakin' frustrating! I couldn't understand what was the whole point of making up some sort of exclusive Glader language, when all the author did was replace a few swear words with stupid words like "klunk," "shank," and "shuck?" This made every conversation very awkward to read. I got so irritated after a while that I just skipped over a most of the conversations since you can pretty much get the gist after skimming it over.

The writing isn't really that bad. But I found something lacking in a sense that the author could have tried to make the conversations more believable. I mean, who talks like this?

"You are the shuckiest shuck faced shuck in the world!"

Seriously, WHAT?

Aside from that, the author could have done a lot better with making the characters more believable. On the positive side, I'm glad he only tried to focus on a few major characters. Because his character building is the worst! I couldn't relate to any of them at ALL. I couldn't see anything past their exterior superficial personalities. I couldn't empathize with how they were feeling and especially what makes the Gladers act so annoyingly secretive.

My favorite character in this book is probably Chuck, because he is the least annoying of all the boys despite his being supposedly the "annoying one."

Anyway! My curiosity was one of the main things getting me going with this book. I just hated how the conversations were shaped. They could have been better written to make it less frustrating that nothing is revealed until the very end.

Reviewed: 2015-01-02

What a great read. I loved the craziness of this world. I mean mazes, walls that move, monsters called grievers, runners trying to solve the maze, not remembering anything, the changings. I was just in awe, I was so into it. I liked the writing style, it was easy, good flow, wasn't confusing. Although everything that happens was pretty much a mystery to me, you get all your questions answered little by little, in the best of ways in my opinion. I enjoyed the concept of how they all have built a community, groups for different jobs, everything in order, so that it all functions and no chaos ensuesI loved Thomas and Chuck, they were my favorites characters, especially Chuck. He was like a little brother to Thomas and I loved that he helped him so much through the entire story no matter what. I also liked Minho, Newt and Theresa. The only reason I knocked a little off my rating was that the characters weren't as developed as much, I didn't know that much about them. But it makes sense since none of them remembered anything about themselves. But I'm hoping we get more development as the series continues. just love how amazing this adventure was. I even enjoyed the movie, although some things were different from the book, it was still amazing. It brought to life the whole maze, and even the grievers which were close to how I had imagined them. I have already purchased The Scorch Trials, The Death Cure, The Kill Order and will be reading them soon. Excited and hoping for a good ending.... Crosses fingers. 

Reviewed: 2014-06-05

Feel like I don't have much to say because not much happened.  Takes place over about two weeks at the end of the life of the Maze, when things are getting weird.  All the characters are smart kids whose primary emotions are frustrated and determined -- except one kid is also angry. 

 

POSSIBLE SPOILERY STUFF

 

I don't really feel the need to read the whole trilogy, except that I'm a little curious to find out who would build this huge complex, including the maze, to put childrent through it like lab rats. 

I would have liked this more if it had been told from the beginning of the maze, to see them meeting the challenges as they were new, figuring it all out.  I also feel like Ender's Game did the whole testing children thing much better, and accomplished it in one (albeit longer) book.

Item Posts
@ellenmiller
@ellenmiller completed #mazerunnerthe... on 2014-09-18
@baix0x
@baix0x completed #mazerunnerthe... on 2016-11-24
@shctclibrary1
@shctclibrary1 began #mazerunnerthe... on 2018-04-03
@jeanielee2007
@jeanielee2007 completed #mazerunnerthe... on 2015-06-30
@jeanielee2007
@jeanielee2007 began #mazerunnerthe... on 2014-05-25
@jetvellinga
@jetvellinga completed #mazerunnerthe... on 2018-02-08
@megoblein
@megoblein completed #mazerunnerthe... on 2014-12-25
@megoblein
@megoblein began #mazerunnerthe... on 2014-11-26
@baix0x
@baix0x began #mazerunnerthe... on 2016-11-22
@lyz2288
@lyz2288 began #mazerunnerthe... on 2014-09-20
@lyz2288
@lyz2288 completed #mazerunnerthe... on 2014-10-27
@lyz2288
@lyz2288 began #mazerunnerthe... on 2014-10-04
@ebethm
@ebethm completed #mazerunnerthe... on 2015-11-30
@ebethm
@ebethm began #mazerunnerthe... on 2015-11-29
@solsticechild
@solsticechild completed #mazerunnerthe... on 2015-01-13