American Gods (American Gods, #1)

Neil Gaiman
After three years in prison, Shadow has done his time. But as the time until his release ticks away, he can feel a storm brewing. Two days before he gets out, his wife Laura dies in a mysterious car crash, in adulterous circumstances. Dazed, Shadow travels home, only to encounter the bizarre Mr Wednesday claiming to be a refugee from a distant war, a former god and the king of America. Together, they embark on a very strange journey across the States, along the way solving the murders which have occurred every winter in one small American town. But the storm is about to break...Disturbing, gripping and profoundly strange, Gaiman's epic new novel sees him on the road to the heart of America. It includes extra material exclusive to "Headline Review's" edition.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2019-01-14
This book was so good! A little long, but magical and lovely and it had some real beautiful moments that really changed me.
Reviewed: 2017-10-11
I loved this book. First of all, Gaiman is a fantastic writer. He can really spin a story that keeps you interested, and his writing style is vivid, with amazing imagery. Secondly, this was just a fantastic story. Interesting, creative, unique. Loved it!
Reviewed: 2017-05-21

http://literally.scribd.com/home/2017/4/28/becoming-well-read-american-gods

I definitely think Neil Gaiman did NOT need to add back the 12k words he removed to make the "preferred" addition. The beginning was the best part. The middle/end was kind of a slog. But still very interesting.

Overall: Katniss Everdeen is still my god.

Reviewed: 2016-07-30
Did not finish this book. probably made a mistake getting the 'author's preferred text' which I feel is just self-indulgence. This book rambled, it included uninteresting and fruitless side tracks and it felt like it was trying much too hard. I get the feeling that maybe the editor's excellent advice was completely ignored by Gaiman.
Reviewed: 2015-10-31
I listened to this on audio, and it was fantastic.

The gist of this book is that when folks immigrated to the US, they brought their gods along with them. Then, as these immigrants assimilated into the American culture, their gods were abandoned. These gods, finding themselves unemployed, had to find jobs.

It's a great book, especially for those of us who worship no gods. It made me think, and it made me laugh. I really felt for Shadow, the protagonist of the story.

In many ways, this made me think of a Ingmar Bergman's writings. It'd make an awesome movie.
Gritty and in your face. Highly recommend it.
Item Posts
@gotomochi
@gotomochi began #americangods... on 2018-04-04
@gotomochi
@gotomochi completed #americangods... on 2018-04-19
@spirit0
@spirit0 completed #americangodsamer... on 2017-05-21
@hardik0117
@hardik0117 completed #americangods... on 2017-05-08
@spirit0
@spirit0 began #americangodsamer... on 2017-04-23
@spirit0
@spirit0 began #americangodsamer... on 2017-04-22