Eclipse (The Twilight Saga, Book 3)

Stephenie Meyer
Readers captivated by Twilight and New Moon will eagerly devour Eclipse, the much anticipated third book in Stephenie Meyer's riveting vampire love saga. As Seattle is ravaged by a string of mysterious killings and a malicious vampire continues her quest for revenge, Bella once again finds herself surrounded by danger. In the midst of it all, she is forced to choose between her love for Edward and her friendship with Jacob --- knowing that her decision has the potential to ignite the ageless struggle between vampire and werewolf. With her graduation quickly approaching, Bella has one more decision to make: life or death. But which is which?

Reviews

Reviewed: 2018-01-17
What pulls me in is Edward's selfless love for Bella. He knows how much she loves Jacob and doesn't stop her from being friends, even though Jacob's motives are underhanded.
Reviewed: 2017-08-29
Book Description Readers captivated by Twilight and New Moon will eagerly devour Eclipse, the much anticipated third book in Stephenie Meyer's riveting vampire love saga. As Seattle is ravaged by a string of mysterious killings and a malicious vampire continues her quest for revenge, Bella once again finds herself surrounded by danger. In the midst of it all, she is forced to choose between her love for Edward and her friendship with Jacob --- knowing that her decision has the potential to ignite the ageless struggle between vampire and werewolf. With her graduation quickly approaching, Bella has one more decision to make: life or death. But which is which?
Reviewed: 2017-05-28
I was actually reluctant to continue with this series. New Moon was an emotional nightmare ridden with drama!, angst, and Bella vegging out mentally because the love of her life pulled a Peter Parker on her; I was fostering a mild love/hate relationship with both Bella and Edward by the end of Books 2 (complete with eye rolls aplenty -- is that being too callous?), which made me question my determination to, as always, see a series through to the end.

But curiosity overrode my distaste, and I'm glad it did. While [b:New Moon|49041|New Moon (Twilight, #2)|Stephenie Meyer|https://d202m5krfqbpi5.cloudfront.net/books/1361039440s/49041.jpg|3203964] was not exactly my favorite book, after reading Eclipse, I understand why things had to be as they were: the blunders and emotionally-driven recklessness set the stage for further character growth and maturation. While the drama continues in this book (Bella officially completes a love triangle with her realization of her affections for Jacob in addition to those she has for Edward), we see Bella become more mature as she wrestles with and realizes the increasingly difficult and complicated decision of whether or not to become a vampire, a decision that looms before her inevitably like a coming storm; she also decides to see through her responsibilities for the sake of her family and friends. THANK GOODNESS, because that means Bella lets Alice plan a traditional wedding in lieu of the quick gig that Bella wanted in a Vegas love chapel. Needless to say, I'm totally excited about the upcoming nuptials, although I feel horrible for Jacob post-epilogue. But in situations like that, what can you do, right? It was her choice, and she chose Edward.

I also want to say that I'm happy to see that Stephenie Meyer's writing skills are improving. It's definitely more solid now, as opposed to being a wee shaky, with the bits of awkward prose that we find in the first two books; and we see her developing a better grasp on handling bittersweetness -- so key to the series, I think.

All in all, to conclude this rather long review, I was more or less satisfied with the book upon my reading it. Yeah, the Edward-Victoria showdown was a bit of a letdown (seriously, it totally sucks not having vampire vision in situations like that), and I'm surprised that Bella is not a vampire yet (the Volturi won't be pleased). But Eclipse won me back into the Twilight universe, and I'm eagerly awaiting [b:Breaking Dawn|1162543|Breaking Dawn (Twilight, #4)|Stephenie Meyer|https://d202m5krfqbpi5.cloudfront.net/books/1361039438s/1162543.jpg|2960529], which should be coming out later this year?
Reviewed: 2016-09-10
Addictive, teen romance/fantasy melodrama. I would equate it to a PG trashy romance - no masterpiece, but it's fun and you don't want to be caught reading it.
Reviewed: 2016-07-05
Hardback
Reviewed: 2016-06-24
Alright, I admit it. I'm hooked. Yeah, I'm surprised too, because I said that I was going to keep my "Reserving Judgement" hat on. But, oddly enough, in the 6 days that I was forced to wait for Eclipse, I couldn't stop thinking about the story. Try as I might, it lodged itself in my head and just stood there, daring me to try to read something else, even something as exciting as I usually find Grisham. (Sorry, Grisham.)

Those 6 days also convinced me that as many issues as I had with the first two books, I invested more than I thought in it, and rated it a bit low. Anything that sticks in my mind like this, even if it is "trash" as some see it, deserves at least 4 stars. So, I'll be upping the ratings on the first two books.

And now, let's move on, shall we? Again, I'm not going to go into plot here. I will say that the emotional experience that Bella went through in New Moon was hard to witness, but her confusion in Eclipse was worse in a way. My poor guts were in knots waiting to see what would happen, and I don't mean whether Bella or Edward or Jacob or the others are going to live or die. I mean I wanted to know who was going to be happy together when the end came, if come it did.

I have discovered that I am (again, to my own surprise) FIRMLY Team Edward. Go figure. All I've done was rag on him about how controlling he is, and yet here I am, wanting Bella to make the "right" choice between him and Jacob and stay with Edward. But, in my defense, (and Edward's too) Edward has radically changed his relationship outlook. He's now all for Bella having exactly who and what she wants if it makes her happy, even if it is not him. That's cool with me, even if it is cliche.

But, even if I was not convinced that Edward loves Bella with every fiber of his being, I doubt I could be Team Jacob after reading Eclipse. I was so disappointed in him. For being as young as he is, he is one manipulative S.O.B., and I was shocked at his behavior. I don't know if it was caused by his newfound werewolf attitude, but the Jacob that I rather liked in New Moon was nowhere to be found here. I did pity him in a way, but pity is not enough to cut it with me, even if it is with Bella.

Anyway... I really did enjoy this book, and the series so far. I'm almost scared to see where the last book takes us, but I'll be brave and read it anyway.
Reviewed: 2016-01-16
As Seattle is ravaged by a string of mysterious killings and a malicious vampire continues her quest for revenge, Bella once again finds herself surrounded by danger. In the midst of it all, she is forced to choose between her love for Edward and her friendship with Jacob - knowing that her decision has the potential to ignite the ageless struggle between vampire and werewolf. With her graduation quickly approaching, Bella has one more decision to make: life or death. But which is which?
Item Posts
@books4ever
@books4ever completed #eclipsethetwilig... on 2018-04-11
@books4ever
@books4ever began #eclipsethetwilig... on 2018-03-24
@books4ever
@books4ever began #eclipsethetwilig... on 2018-03-24
@jeanielee2007
@jeanielee2007 completed #eclipsethetwilig... on 2012-04-27
@jeanielee2007
@jeanielee2007 began #eclipsethetwilig... on 2012-04-27
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 began #eclipsethetwilig... on 2011-06-01
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 completed #eclipsethetwilig... on 2011-06-01
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 began #eclipsethetwilig... on 2009-12-01