Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Book 7)

J. K. Rowling
The heart of Book 7 is a hero's mission--not just in Harry's quest for the Horcruxes, but in his journey from boy to man--and Harry faces more danger than that found in all six books combined, from the direct threat of the Death Eaters and you-know-who, to the subtle perils of losing faith in himself. Attentive readers would do well to remember Dumbledore's warning about making the choice between "what is right and what is easy," and know that Rowling applies the same difficult principle to the conclusion of her series. While fans will find the answers to hotly speculated questions about Dumbledore, Snape, and you-know-who, it is a testament to Rowling's skill as a storyteller that even the most astute and careful reader will be taken by surprise.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2018-10-06
5
Reviewed: 2018-08-16
In Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, the seventh and final book in the epic tale of Harry Potter, Harry and Lord Voldemort each prepare for their ultimate encounter. Voldemort takes control of the Ministry of Magic, installs Severus Snape as headmaster at Hogwarts, and sends his Death Eaters across the country to wreak havoc and find Harry. Meanwhile, Harry, Ron, and Hermione embark on a desperate quest the length and breadth of Britain, trying to locate and destroy Voldemort four remaining Horcruxes, the magical objects in which he has hidden parts of his broken soul. They visit the Burrow, Grimmauld Place, the Ministry, Godric Hollow, Malfoy Manor, Diagon Alleyut every time they solve one mystery, three more evolvend not just about Voldemort, but about Dumbledore, and Harry own past, and three mysterious objects called the Deathly Hallows. The Hallows are literally things out of a children tale, which, if real, promise to make their possessor the aster of Death;and they ensnare Harry with their tantalizing claim of invulnerability. It is only after a nigh-unbearable loss that he is brought back to his true purpose, and the trio returns to Hogwarts for the final breathtaking battle between the forces of good and evil. They fight the Death Eaters alongside members of the Order of the Phoenix, Dumbledore Army, the Weasley clan, and the full array of Hogwarts teachers and students. Yet everything turns upon the moment the entire series has been building up to, the same meeting with which our story began: the moment when Harry and Voldemort face each other at last.
Reviewed: 2018-07-25
A right good book, but it didn't completely fulfill my expectations. J.K. has some questions that she needs to answer. Epilogue should have been longer, talked about EVERYBODY. More detail would have been lovely...but ah well, who am I to complain?

I almost wish she had spent more time on it. The things that were completely impossible (even with magic, I mean really- Ron can open things with fake hissing??)stuck out like sore thumbs. Some of it was really brilliant though, for example the first page is one to read trice.
Reviewed: 2018-01-03
I have never cried for imaginary characters the way I cried through this book. I thought it gave excellent closure to a beloved series, and despite some clunky expository passages, was well-structured. I'm so glad I waited in a mile-long line in the wee hours of the morning to get my hands on it. Since it debuted, I've read it multiple times and it still gets to me every time. I've watched the students of Hogwarts grow up and they feel like family. I even liked the Epilogue (from an emotional POV, rather than a critical one).

As you can tell, my reaction to this book is based purely in the heart and not in the head, which is how I have read the series from the very beginning. There are very few books that can prevent me from tearing them apart piece by piece in my head, but HP has done it. They are not masterpieces of prose style, but for once in my adult reading life, I couldn't give a damn. My inner child is perhaps responsible for this, and thank god. Harry Potter keeps that tiny, neglected little thing from withering away in the dusty cupboard under the stairs where adulthood seems determined to stow the incredulous wonder of childhood.
Reviewed: 2017-12-07
Initial Re-Read Impressions 2/27/15: Ahhhh my series re-read is complete again! <333 I haven't done this since... oh, at least ten years, if ever. I don't think I've ever re-read all of the books IN ORDER like I did this past year or two. (I could be wrong, but if I had it was when I had just graduated high school or thereabouts.)
So Deathly Hallows... I think this is the book that made me the most EMOTIONAL. I mean, clearly with The Battle of Hogwarts and all, but also in many other ways. The deaths were not the only things that made me emotional. Everything comes to a close here (naturally, in the last of a series) but I really actually FELT a lot of the relationships in here. I'm still not a big Harry/Ginny person although book Ginny in DH is way better than movie Ginny always. The whole "Always" scene with Snape is so much better in the book (well not SO much better -- also, Alan Rickman as Snape forever <333) but I REALLY wish the movie had included the teenage relationship of Snape & Lily because that REALLY solidified that they were best friends and not just two young kids who used to be friends but it didn't really feel that deep. I really felt their friendship a lot more!
Really this was the most spot-on movie except for maybe the first book. It's a toss-up. There is SO MUCH that's able to be in the movie version since it's split into two and aside from things they changed for time, I'm assuming, everything was pretty much the same so that was really neat to see.
I'm also a little sad this re-read has come to an end!!! I've been re-reading via audio for the past few years now (thank you library) and it was SO much fun and such a nice place to be able to fall back to when I needed a good, comforting read. I will definitely have to do this every few years! :D
Reviewed: 2017-08-29
Book Description The magnificent final book in J. K. Rowling's seven-part saga comes to readers July 21, 2007. You'll find out July 21! Editorial Reviews Amazon.com Review Readers beware. The brilliant, breathtaking conclusion to J.K. Rowling's spellbinding series is not for the faint of heart--such revelations, battles, and betrayals await in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows that no fan will make it to the end unscathed. Luckily, Rowling has prepped loyal readers for the end of her series by doling out increasingly dark and dangerous tales of magic and mystery, shot through with lessons about honor and contempt, love and loss, and right and wrong. Fear not, you will find no spoilers in our review--to tell the plot would ruin the journey, and Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows is an odyssey the likes of which Rowling's fans have not yet seen, and are not likely to forget. But we would be remiss if we did not offer one small suggestion before you embark on your final adventure with Harry--bring plenty of tissues. The heart of Book 7 is a hero's mission--not just in Harry's quest for the Horcruxes, but in his journey from boy to man--and Harry faces more danger than that found in all six books combined, from the direct threat of the Death Eaters and you-know-who, to the subtle perils of losing faith in himself. Attentive readers would do well to remember Dumbledore's warning about making the choice between "what is right and what is easy," and know that Rowling applies the same difficult principle to the conclusion of her series. While fans will find the answers to hotly speculated questions about Dumbledore, Snape, and you-know-who, it is a testament to Rowling's skill as a storyteller that even the most astute and careful reader will be taken by surprise. A spectacular finish to a phenomenal series, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows is a bittersweet read for fans. The journey is hard, filled with events both tragic and triumphant, the battlefield littered with the bodies of the dearest and despised, but the final chapter is as brilliant and blinding as a phoenix's flame, and fans and skeptics alike will emerge from the confines of the story with full but heavy hearts, giddy and grateful for the experience. --Daphne Durham Visit the Harry Potter Store Our Harry Potter Store features all things Harry, including books, audio CDs and cassettes, DVDs, soundtracks, games, and more. Begin at the Beginning Why We Love Harry Favorite Moments from the Series There are plenty of reasons to love Rowling's wildly popular series--no doubt you have several dozen of your own. Our list features favorite moments, characters, and artifacts from the first five books. Keep in mind that this list is by no means exhaustive (what we love about Harry could fill ten books!) and does not include any of the spectacular revelatory moments that would spoil the books for those (few) who have not read them. Enjoy. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince Magic, Mystery, and Mayhem: A Conversation with J.K. Rowling "I am an extraordinarily lucky person, doing what I love best in the world. I'm sure that I will always be a writer. It was wonderful enough just to be published. The greatest reward is the enthusiasm of the readers." --J.K. Rowling Find out more about Harry's creator in our exclusive interview with J.K. Rowling. Did You Know? A Few Words from Mary GrandPré "When I illustrate a cover or a book, I draw upon what the author tells me; that's how I see my responsibility as an illustrator. J.K. Rowling is very descriptive in her writing--she gives an illustrator a lot to work with. Each story is packed full of rich visual descriptions of the atmosphere, the mood, the setting, and all the different creatures and people. She makes it easy for me. The images just develop as I sketch and retrace until it feels right and matches her vision." Check out more Harry Potter art from illustrator Mary GrandPré. From Publishers Weekly Starred Review. Potter fans, relax--this review packs no spoilers. Instead, we're taking advantage of our public platform to praise Rowling for the excellence of her plotting. We can't think of anyone else who has sustained such an intricate, endlessly inventive plot over seven thick volumes and so constantly surprised us with twists, well-laid traps and Purloined Letter-style tricks. Hallows continues the tradition, both with sly feats of legerdemain and with several altogether new, unexpected elements. Perhaps some of the surprises in Hallows don't have quite the punch as those of earlier books, but that may be because of the thoroughness and consistency with which Rowling has created her magical universe, and because we've so raptly absorbed its rules. We're also seizing the occasion to wish out loud that her editors had done their jobs more actively. It's hard to escape the notion that the first three volumes were more carefully edited than the last four. Hallows doesn't contain the extraneous scenes found in, say, Goblet of Fire, but the momentum is uneven. Rowling is much better at comedy than at fight scenes, and no reader of the sixth book will be startled to hear that Hallows has little humor or that its characters engage in more than a few fights. Surely her editors could have helped her find other methods of building suspense besides the use of ellipses and dashes? And craft fight dialogue that sounds a bit less like it belongs in a comic book? Okay, we're quibbling. We know these minor nuisances won't dent readers' enjoyment, at least not this generation of readers; we couldn't put Hallows down ourselves. But we believe Rowling, and future readers, deserved even better. Ages 9-12. (July) Copyright ® Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.
Reviewed: 2017-02-08
4.61
Reviewed: 2016-08-26
July 2007: http://www.3rsblog.com/2007/07/just-finished-harry-potter-and-deathly.html
Reviewed: 2016-07-26
First Read 2007
Reread Times I remember:
2012
2014
Reviewed: 2016-07-05
Hardback
Item Posts
@bas
@bas completed #harrypotterandth... on 2018-11-04 00:00:00
@eorlingas23
@eorlingas23 completed #harrypotterandth... on 2009-08-08
@eorlingas23
@eorlingas23 began #harrypotterandth... on 2009-08-08
@norma143
@norma143 completed #harrypotterandth... on 2018-08-09
@sceadwerhaevn
@sceadwerhaevn completed #harrypotterandth... on 2018-07-26
@jackheilpern
@jackheilpern completed #harrypotterandth... on 2007-08-31
@jackheilpern
@jackheilpern began #harrypotterandth... on 2007-08-05
@slamunyon
@slamunyon completed #harrypotterandth... on 2018-03-22
@victorylane
@victorylane completed #harrypotterandth... on 2018-03-17
@victorylane
@victorylane began #harrypotterandth... on 2018-03-05
@jeanielee2007
@jeanielee2007 completed #harrypotterandth... on 2007-07-22
@jeanielee2007
@jeanielee2007 began #harrypotterandth... on 2007-07-21
@slamunyon
@slamunyon began #harrypotterandth... on 2017-12-29
@aryka08
@aryka08 completed #harrypotterandth... on 2017-09-01
@lborsh
@lborsh completed #harrypotterandth... on 2016-10-27