Everything, Everything

Nicola Yoon
The Instant #1 New York Times Bestseller--soon to be a major motion picture starring Amandla Stenberg and Nick Robinson!If you love Eleanor and Park, Hazel and Augustus, and Mia and Adam, you’ll love the story of Maddy, a girl who’s literally allergic to the outside world, and Olly, the boy who moves in next door . . . and becomes the greatest risk she’s ever taken. This innovative and heartfelt debut novel unfolds via vignettes, diary entries, illustrations, and more. My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.  But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He's tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly. Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.And don’t miss The Sun Is Also A Star, the breathtaking and romantic new novel from #1 New York Times bestselling author Nicola Yoon in which two teens are brought together just when it seems like the universe is sending them in opposite directions. Also soon to be a major motion picture!

Reviews

Reviewed: 2018-08-09
Saw the movie first so knew what was gonna happen. It didn’t fully expand on story line like most books do when compared to the movie. But it was nice seeing the illustrations and the IM view of things. Be brave and risk everything.
Reviewed: 2018-02-19

Amazing. Beautifully written, and a surprise ending.

Reviewed: 2018-01-14

Yoon’s writing is effortless as her writing style is easy to read and one that is universal for avid readers and non-readers alike. The storyline was very well developed along with her characters. One of the best attributes of Yoon’s writing is that her characters are very relatable. At first, I thought this would be reminiscent of John Green’s infamous novel The Fault In Our Stars, and at times it was as it had similar elements, but Yoon’s novel takes a different approach than Green’s and I was glad for the unexpected turn. I really liked the theme of the novel, which is taking risks and risks are apart of everyone’s lives. The thing about is a risk, you have to decide if whatever you are contemplating doing is worth the risk, what it could cost you, what reward is, and what the consequences are.

I related to this so incredibly much and I think it is a great theme for this book as it truly exemplifies the theme through the characters and their actions. Madeline has spent nearly her whole life inside and not being able to experience what the world has to offer because of her illness. Due to her strong feelings for Olly how incredibly different he is than the life she has known, she is compelled to risk her health and even her life to be with him and experience the outside world. Also thanks to her adventure, Madeline learns that she is not really sick at all! I could believe it and after I read it, I could not put the book down until I finished it. I have not been so compelled to finish a book in such a long time and it was a great feeling!

For a debut novel, I would say it is a very strong debut. I enjoyed the entirety of Yoon’s debut novel from the storyline, characters, and the theme. Yoon seems to have a strong sense of her voice which help her amass a loyal following. Yoon already has her second novel The Sun Is Also a Star published for readers to pick up online and in stores wherever books are sold.

Reviewed: 2017-05-14
I definitely read this book in about two hours and now I'm really excited for the movie to come out so I can see it. I can't sympathize with the whole allergic-to-everything thing that Madeline has going on, but I sure do love to read a lot (and I can't help but judge people based on tbe books they like).
Item Posts
@gemini23
@gemini23 completed #everythingeveryt... on 2018-06-24
@gemini23
@gemini23 began #everythingeveryt... on 2018-06-22
@jamiefillbrandt
@jamiefillbrandt completed #everythingeveryt... on 2018-03-23
@jamiefillbrandt
@jamiefillbrandt began #everythingeveryt... on 2018-03-12
@schoate02
@schoate02 began #everythingeveryt... on 2018-02-17
@booknerdgirl97
@booknerdgirl97 completed #everythingeveryt... on 2018-02-19
@booknerdgirl97
@booknerdgirl97 began #everythingeveryt... on 2018-02-15
@booknerdgirl97
@booknerdgirl97 completed #everythingeveryt... on 2018-02-19
@booknerdgirl97
@booknerdgirl97 began #everythingeveryt... on 2018-02-15
@colesmith92
@colesmith92 completed #everythingeveryt... on 2017-11-07
@colesmith92
@colesmith92 began #everythingeveryt... on 2017-11-03
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 completed #everythingeveryt... on 2017-08-15
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 began #everythingeveryt... on 2017-08-03
@emily459
@emily459 completed #everythingeveryt... on 2017-06-22
@julikxxo
@julikxxo completed #everythingeveryt... on 2017-05-31