Eyre Affair: A Thursday Next Novel, The

Jasper Fforde
The first installment in Jasper Fforde’s New York Times bestselling series of Thursday Next novels introduces literary detective Thursday Next and her alternate reality of literature-obsessed England Fans of Douglas Adams and P. G. Wodehouse will love visiting Jasper Fforde's Great Britain, circa 1985, when time travel is routine, cloning is a reality (dodos are the resurrected pet of choice), and literature is taken very, very seriously: it’s a bibliophile’s dream. England is a virtual police state where an aunt can get lost (literally) in a Wordsworth poem and forging Byronic verse is a punishable offense. All this is business as usual for Thursday Next, renowned Special Operative in literary detection. But when someone begins kidnapping characters from works of literature and plucks Jane Eyre from the pages of Brontë's novel, Thursday is faced with the challenge of her career. Fforde's ingenious fantasy—enhanced by a Web site that re-creates the world of the novel—unites intrigue with English literature in a delightfully witty mix. Thursday’s zany investigations continue with six more bestselling Thursday Next novels, including One of Our Thursdays is Missing and the upcoming The Woman Who Died A Lot. Visit jasperfforde.com.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2021-08-19
Super fun book. I am glad to hear this is the first in a long series and look forward to reading the rest of them.
Reviewed: 2018-07-24

I read Fforde's The Last Dragonsalyer books and absolutely LOVED them. The Eyre Affair, though earlier writing from him, contains his usual flair- dry humor, witty social commentary, solid characterization, etc. He's hilarious. I think some of his wittyness was lost on me in this one since I haven't actually read Jane Eyre, though.

Reviewed: 2016-01-28
I enjoyed the first Thursday Next novel, and look forward to the next Next. I've read them out of order, and they seem to improve, which is rare in a series!
Item Posts
@rlmatte
@rlmatte completed #eyreaffairathurs... on 2016-08-16
@rlmatte
@rlmatte began #eyreaffairathurs... on 2016-08-10
@azidearest
@azidearest completed #eyreaffairathurs... on 2018-01-15
@azidearest
@azidearest began #eyreaffairathurs... on 2018-01-07
@louise60447
@louise60447 completed #eyreaffairathurs... on 2018-03-19
@iebest
@iebest completed #eyreaffairathurs... on 2017-05-26
@iebest
@iebest began #eyreaffairathurs... on 2017-05-16
@eileenablondi
@eileenablondi completed #eyreaffairthe... on 2015-01-04
@eileenablondi
@eileenablondi began #eyreaffairthe... on 2015-01-03