Into the Water: A Novel

Paula Hawkins
The author of the #1 New York Times bestseller and global phenomenon The Girl on the Train returns with Into the Water, her addictive new novel of psychological suspense. A single mother turns up dead at the bottom of the river that runs through town. Earlier in the summer, a vulnerable teenage girl met the same fate. They are not the first women lost to these dark waters, but their deaths disturb the river and its history, dredging up secrets long submerged.   Left behind is a lonely fifteen-year-old girl. Parentless and friendless, she now finds herself in the care of her mother's sister, a fearful stranger who has been dragged back to the place she deliberately ran from—a place to which she vowed she'd never return.   With the same propulsive writing and acute understanding of human instincts that captivated millions of readers around the world in her explosive debut thriller, The Girl on the Train, Paula Hawkins delivers an urgent, twisting, deeply satisfying read that hinges on the deceptiveness of emotion and memory, as well as the devastating ways that the past can reach a long arm into the present.   Beware a calm surface—you never know what lies beneath.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2021-02-04
3.58
Reviewed: 2019-09-23
I enjoyed this one. The deliciously sinister prologue dragged me right in, and while there was a large cast of characters to keep track of, I liked the different POVs and learning what really happened to them. The ending was predictable but also nicely tied things up for the reader. All in all I enjoyed and thought the narration was really great.
Reviewed: 2019-03-21

Perhaps my expectations were too high after reading Ms. Hawkins debut novel (Girl on the Train), but I found this book a bit a let down.

I remember thinking that she rushed this book out to captialize on the rave reviews that "Girl on the Train" received and that Ms. Hawkins needed more time to perfect this book.

I didn't feel any real connection to any of the characters and found some of the characteristics of the these characters unbelievable.  

I also didn't care much about the relationship of the two sisters, which was a primary theme of the book.  

I did pre-order this book as I was really excited to read it and I started it the day it arrived.  Maybe if I was more luke warm about it going in, I would have liked it better.

I would recommend this book as a good beach read...easy enough to get through, but fairly easy to forget.

Reviewed: 2019-02-26
Good read.
Reviewed: 2017-10-18
An unfair expectation lead to somewhat of a letdown. This book wasn't as good as Girl on the Train. But that's a really tough act to follow. For me, the thing I didn't like the most was the huge suicide theme. It was depressing and I don't want to read about it. There were a bunch of POV's that it switched between, but I didn't have too much trouble keeping up. Honestly, by the end I didn't even care who did it. Bad sign. Not sure I would recommend to a friend.
Item Posts
@loswald
@loswald completed #intothewateranov... on 2018-09-26
@aghteaching
@aghteaching completed #intothewateranov... on 2017-06-07
@shixam
@shixam completed #intothewateranov... on 2018-05-21
@shixam
@shixam began #intothewateranov... on 2018-05-17
@shixam
@shixam began #intothewateranov... on 2018-05-16
@michellelour
@michellelour completed #intothewateranov... on 2017-12-28
@karen2017
@karen2017 completed #intothewateranov... on 2017-07-16