Death Cure (Maze Runner, Book 3), The

James Dashner
The third book in the New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series—The Death Cure is a modern classic for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent.Thomas knows that Wicked can't be trusted, but they say the time for lies is over, that they've collected all they can from the Trials and now must rely on the Gladers, with full memories restored, to help them with their ultimate mission. It's up to the Gladers to complete the blueprint for the cure to the Flare with a final voluntary test.What Wicked doesn't know is that something's happened that no Trial or Variable could have foreseen. Thomas has remembered far more than they think. And he knows that he can't believe a word of what Wicked says.The time for lies is over. But the truth is more dangerous than Thomas could ever imagine.Will anyone survive the Death Cure?

Reviews

Reviewed: 2017-12-07
I'm actually pretty disappointed with this! A serious lack of answers, I think, and just not the way I expected the book to go. Oh well.

Review originally posted on The Book Addict's Guide: Oh, The Death Cure. What can I possibly say about you? I know there were other reviews around that were disappointed with how this series concluded — and I had expected to feel the same way — but secretly, I was hoping to enjoy it. Nope. Didn’t happen. I was disappointed too.

Firstly, I felt a little bit like I did at the end of Lost. We were left with a somewhat satisfying but mostly unresolved ending. We know where our characters end up and can imagine a future for them as we leave them at the end of the series, but I still had a lot of questions. It bothered me so much because I wondered why Thomas WASN’T curious. WICKED was all he knew of his whole life – and other people’s lives hedged on what he knew about WICKED and his decision whether it was ultimately good or if they had a hidden agenda (well, of course they do). I guess I can understand that he didn’t want to know about all of the horrible things he may have spawned before the Maze, but don’t you think ultimately, good or bad, knowing what he did could help him change things for the greater good if that’s what he wanted to do? Anyway. The whole thing just bothered me. As a reader, I hate being left in the dark unless it’s for suspense/mystery purposes. Since this was the final piece of the puzzle of the series, I expected WAY more reveals than we had.

I’m glad Minho was still with the group, but I also didn’t like that we almost completely lost all of our favorite Gladers, the people we knew and trusted from the first book. Minho is actually one of my favorite characters, so if he would have been absent from this book, I would have been really upset. I don’t really care for Brenda — even in this book I didn’t know if I could trust her – and I’m still upset that Thomas never really came back around to Teresa. We were left with Brenda and Jorge. And even after seeing him in The Scorch Trials, who is Jorge? He seemed to be there simply for the fact that he can fly a Berg and that’s it. Not to mention Dashner’s portrayal of Jorge as a Hispanic character is wildly stereotypical with every sentence ending in “muchacho” or “hermano” (which as a Spanish major, I’ve personally experienced that there’s WAY better slang than that and I’ve rarely heard Spanish-speaking people call anyone else “muchacho”) so that actually really bothered me.

Overall, I was just really disappointed with the book. The ending picked up when we got into a bit more of the action, but the first two books were definitely more exciting and suspenseful for me.
Reviewed: 2016-07-05
Hardback
Reviewed: 2016-06-24
*Sigh*

This was such a disappointment. It pains me to say that. It really, really does, because I loved the first two books, and thought that this series had huge potential. I was so excited to read this book, to find out what was going on... And then this? This is just... it?

So. Frustrating.

I just don't even know where to start. I thought that the concept of this series was fascinating. The mysteriousness, the everyone starts at One and figures it out as we go thing was great - I loved it, although I am sure many others didn't. The action, the confusion, the mistrust... all of that was great in the first two books, which had me chomping at the bit for the conclusion.

Well let me not keep you in suspense. It fell hard, like Wile E. Coyote right after he realizes he's been duped off a cliff... again. The resulting splat was flatter than a pancake.



The ONLY reason I'm giving this two stars and not an abysmal one star, is that it WAS still exciting to read, mostly, and I kept hoping against hope, as the remaining page count grew smaller and smaller, that there would be some redemption to this book, that the revelation at the end would knock me on my ass and leave me stunned and wondering just how I could not have seen it coming.

Alas, there was not and it did not.

This was just... fluff. Nothing but 325 pages of filler and then a fucking cop-out ending. This series should have been a slightly expanded duology. About 50 pages of this book should have been tacked onto The Scorch Trials along with a decent ending, and I'd have been thrilled. But this. Ugh. All I can say is I'm glad I didn't buy them.

The characters showed zero growth. Zero. And not only zero, but... negative. NEGATIVE GROWTH. OK, so... I'm going to assume that if you're reading this review, you've read at least through The Scorch Trials. So you know that Thomas, the main character, and his best friend Teresa, have 1) secrets about their past that tie into WICKED, meaning that they worked for WICKED and helped design the program and experiments, etc and 2) have had all of their memories of those secrets, their roles as mentioned above, and the rest of their pasts, wiped. They know their names, but other than that, they're basically operating on instinct and feelings. They've determined that WICKED has been experimenting on all of the Gladers in order to find a cure for a disease that is running rampant on Earth, turning people into raging, cannibalistic psychopaths.

So... No-Memory Thomas doesn't trust WICKED, and wants to get away from them and stop them from experimenting on people... 'Cause it's all mean and they lied and stuff. (Seriously, that's pretty much his reasoning.) Given the chance to get his memories back, to remember exactly what WICKED is, and what its goal is, HOW HE CAN STOP IT USING INSIDER INFORMATION THAT HE WOULD HAVE BECAUSE HE EFFING DESIGNED THE SHIT, he decides he doesn't want them back. "Nope. No thanks, I'm good," says he.

But OK. I can get the logic of not wanting people he mistrusted to muck around in his head anymore. OK. I can go with that. So... when a person he is willing to trust is given the OK to muck around in his head, he STILL DOESN'T WANT THE KNOWLEDGE OF HIS MEMORIES.

Are you fucking KIDDING ME? >_<



I do not get the logic... and this is where this book started to abide by the laws of gravity, being no longer held up by the suspension of my disbelief. Oh, I disbelieved a LOT. Better believe it. If your whole goal is to figure out what's going on and stop it from happening to other people, and you're given a huge huge huge asset like the kind I just mentioned, you don't say, "Nah, I'm good. I'll just go it alone, in the dark, with a trail of breadcrumbs and a feeling." You take the fucking advantage and USE IT.

But then, my next question is, WHY is he so absolutely positive that WICKED isn't doing exactly what they say that they are doing? We do animal and human testing ALL THE TIME. If, theoretically, there was a virus or disease or whatever that affected peoples' minds, escalated in times of stress, I would WANT someone to try to find a way to stop it. Experimentation might be cruel, inhumane even, but if it helps in a big picture sense, is it not worth it? WICKED wasn't even able to complete a full round of experiments to see if they could do it.

Fucking illogical. Call me cold-blooded, but this shit is just a cop-out. It was like Dashner ran out of people he was willing to kill off, so just pulled the plug.

Ugh. UGH. I'm getting more and more pissed off the longer I type, so I'll make the rest of this short and sweet.

This book was a disappointment, a massive logic fail, and had a weak, unsatisfying cop-out ending. One hopes that with a handful of monkeys, writing for about a week, the resulting manuscript would contain a better resolution.

Yeah. Screw it. I'm giving it one star. I'm just mad. Wanna fight about it?
Reviewed: 2016-06-07
I felt like this was the best of the trilogy. I know other reviews have not been so kind but I felt that things were tied up nicely and somewhat unexpectedly. I thought the end was an interesting twist.

When I finish a series, I am often left heartbroken that it's over. This series was not like that at all. It was a good series but I was ready for it to be over.
I just finished reading it less than a minute ago. I don't even know how to review the end of one of my favorite trilogies. Once I sleep on it, I'll add more.

I will say it made me cry much like the first book did.

I feel some things were tied up nicely, but am a bit confused on a few others. (The things I'm confused about were intentionally left kind of open and I appreciate that typically AFTER the initial shock wears off. ;) )

I'm not disappointed in the ending in any way, I'm actually pleasantly satisfied by the way it was handled.
Item Posts
@ccipriano
@ccipriano completed #deathcuremazerun... on 2018-06-27
@theawesomeread
@theawesomeread completed #deathcuremazerun... on 2015-12-10
@theawesomeread
@theawesomeread began #deathcuremazerun... on 2015-12-06
@misskaelyn
@misskaelyn completed #deathcuremazerun... on 2015-02-23
@misskaelyn
@misskaelyn began #deathcuremazerun... on 2015-02-20