Fairest: The Lunar Chronicles: Levana's Story

Marissa Meyer
Mirror, mirror on the wall,Who is the fairest of them all? Fans of the Lunar Chronicles know Queen Levana as a ruler who uses her “glamour” to gain power. But long before she crossed paths with Cinder, Scarlet, and Cress, Levana lived a very different story – a story that has never been told . . . until now.  Marissa Meyer spins yet another unforgettable tale about love and war, deceit and death. This extraordinary book includes full-color art and an excerpt from Winter, the next book in the Lunar Chronicles series.


Reviewed: 2017-12-07
4.25-4.5 stars
Initial Impressions 1/29/15: Well my Goodreads rating may only show four stars but SIIIIGGGHHH my heart is happy and whole with more Lunar Chronicles in my life. I loved the story and I ALWAYS love getting love backstory in my favorite worlds, especially finding out what makes the villains tick.
Levana was fascinating. I felt bad for her and horrified by her at the same time. It was so interesting to see how her history really shaped her life and her way of thinking. I really pitied her and I wished I could reach out to help her before everything started spiraling terribly out of control.
I LOVED the name drops & little glimpses of the other characters that we've met in previous novels (or I guess later in the timeline) and it just made my heart melt! I also really loved getting to know more about Winter's history since I know so little about her. I can't WAIT for her story. (And no, I did not read the teaser chapters because I CANT HANDLE IT.)

Full review posted HERE on The Book Addict's Guide 2/25/15: Ahhh, FAIREST. Just what I needed tie me over until WINTER hits the shelves in November this year! I don’t always read ALL of the novellas that are published, but of course I was going to read a Lunar Chronicles novella and was especially excited to find out more about Queen Levana! She’s pretty terrifying in the books so I was especially anxious to see her history and how she ended up the way she is now.

The first thing I can say about FAIREST? Yeah. Levana is certainly crazy… BUT she didn’t have it easy either. I’m not saying that excuses the way she acts, but she’s had some majorly catastrophic and scarring events (oops, no pun intended but there you have it) happen to her and it seriously messed her up. Things also went down at a young age too so these traumatic events really affected Levana long before she was even close to being in a position of power, or even wanting that position. I definitely still fear her but it also made me pity her. Sometimes these kind of novellas sort of justify who someone is in the present story line and while I don’t think Levana is justified in her actions, I do think I understand her a lot more!

Another thing I really loved was seeing all of the other characters in Levana’s story and exactly how she’s tied to them all. It was really interested to see some of the title characters pop up, along with their friends and family and I got little chills and thrills seeing their names there! I think the most interesting for me was actually Channary. I may need to re-read everything again ASAP (kidding, that’s already in the works so I KNOW I will) but for some reason I don’t remember mention of how horrible she was! She was a terrible older sister to Levana and I really wonder how Levana would have ended up if it weren’t for Channary. I’m going to have to hunt down mentions of her in my re-reads!

FAIREST is very much Levana’s story so it’s not a major point in the series as far as plot goes, but I do still think it’s an important story for fans of the series to read. We learn a lot about the Lunar Queen and there’s also a LOT of Winter’s history in here which I was very excited to see since I don’t really know that much about her yet. There were still a few surprises though and it just goes to show you that there’s always more to learn about everyone!

I had such a blast reading FAIREST and that both filled the void and made me even more hungry for more of this series! I loved falling back into this world for a short time to keep my heart whole before WINTER probably chews it up and spits it out in November. In a good way! I CAN’T WAIT!
Reviewed: 2017-01-09
A very interesting look at Queen Levana and just how deep her delusions truly run. I actually found it more interesting to learn about Queen Channary, and feel she wasn't quite as bad as anyone made her out to be (but still not good, by any means). It is an interesting display of long-term family dysfunction and the effects on the children raised in that environment. Enjoyed little nods of continuity, like the references about Jacin and Cress.
Reviewed: 2016-11-01
Reviewed: 2016-07-26
Eh. It was an interesting background for the main villain. I'm glad she was made a bit sympathetic but not all of her crazy was explained in a way that made you feel bad for her. She's still a horrible person. Good for anyone who enjoyed the series. Can't wait for the next one. Best part was the preview chapters for the last one for sure.
Reviewed: 2016-02-06
Wow just wow. This book was wonderfully written and has only made me want Winter that much more.

Levana. At first I pitied her and thought 'Yeah she would be a better queen than Channary.' After seeing all the things Levana did... I think my hatred for her grew. Yeah Channary was very cruel and abusive to her sister, but Channary loved Selene and finally saw how someone else was and always would be more important than herself. Levana never had that realization. Levana may have loved Evret, but not the way normal couples do. Levana neglected to love Princess Winter. She definitely didn't love Selene. And she doesn't love the people of Luna. She just loves power with no regard for those around her. And I hope in Winter that Levana gets what she deserves.
Reviewed: 2015-05-09

The choices we make define us, and this book showed Levana's choices. It was sadly cruel how her suffering during her childhood impacted her future. It must have been difficult to grow up in a society which prized beauty above all else, and be considered hideous. What was most interesting was her thoughts, how she justified harming her "loved" ones for her own benefit, and in the end she managed to fool even herself into believing her glamors. 

Reviewed: 2015-03-30

This bitch is crazy. 


Item Posts
@fromelliott completed #fairestthelunarc... on 2015-02-21
@fromelliott began #fairestthelunarc... on 2015-02-15
@cclimer94 completed #fairestthelunarc... on 2017-04-18
@cclimer94 began #fairestthelunarc... on 2017-04-17
@dwaynamay completed #fairestthelunarc... on 2017-02-26
@apthetcgraffiti completed #fairestthelunarc... on 2017-01-09
@dia309 completed #fairestthelunarc... on 2016-07-03
@dia309 began #fairestthelunarc... on 2016-06-27
@alyssagibson6 completed #fairestthelunarc... on 2016-05-06
@alyssagibson6 began #fairestthelunarc... on 2016-05-01
@kayis813 completed #fairestthelunarc... on 2015-02-01
@kayis813 began #fairestthelunarc... on 2015-02-01
@tjanla completed #fairestthelunarc... on 2015-12-06
@tjanla began #fairestthelunarc... on 2015-12-05
@jelaplan completed #fairestthelunarc... on 2015-09-09