Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, The

Mark Haddon
Christopher John Francis Boone knows all the countries of the world and their capitals and every prime number up to 7,057. He relates well to animals but has no understanding of human emotions. He cannot stand to be touched. And he detests the color yellow.This improbable story of Christopher's quest to investigate the suspicious death of a neighborhood dog makes for one of the most captivating, unusual, and widely heralded novels in recent years.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2017-08-29
Christopher John Francis Boone knows all the countries of the world and their capitals and every prime number up to 7,057. He relates well to animals but has no understanding of human emotions. He cannot stand to be touched. And he detests the color yellow. Although gifted with a superbly logical brain, for fifteen-year-old Christopher everyday interactions and admonishments have little meaning. He lives on patterns, rules, and a diagram kept in his pocket. Then one day, a neighbor's dog, Wellington, is killed and his carefully constructive universe is threatened. Christopher sets out to solve the murder in the style of his favourite (logical) detective, Sherlock Holmes. What follows makes for a novel that is funny, poignant and fascinating in its portrayal of a person whose curse and blessing are a mind that perceives the world entirely literally.
Reviewed: 2016-12-17
Sweet book.
Reviewed: 2016-10-14
"The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime" is a powerful young adult read. Students will experience for one of the first times at their age of reading a text through the narration of a boy with autism. Through this mystery novel, the reader will have to put together the missing clues of this case alongside the story's young lead, Christopher. By reading this text, students will develop an understanding how the mind of a child with autism works and the struggles one faces when trying to problem solve. In the classroom, I will develop a lesson where I will propose a mystery for my own students to solve. However, their answers to the mystery need to be explained in a puzzle piece design. This mystery will be designed as a puzzle for two reasons. Mainly because the puzzle piece is the symbol of autism awareness and secondly because when solving a mystery, an individual must find the missing pieces of the overall case. The students will work in small groups and present their puzzle to the class to see if they can solve the mystery.
Reviewed: 2016-06-24
This was an OK book for me. I had expected such greatness from this one that the way it played out was a little disappointing for me. At some points, I was intrigued by the thought-processes of Christopher, but at others I was just waiting for the story to start. The book started strong, with a murder mystery (if the death of a dog is considered murder), but then it just meandered along without a set goal. Maybe that was partly due to the fact that the narrator is autistic, but I'm not so sure.

There didn't seem to be any resolution to the story. It just was, and then it wasn't. It was a quick read, and I was interested enough to finish it, which is why it got 2 stars.
Reviewed: 2015-11-28
âPrime numbers are what is left when you have taken all the patterns away. I think prime numbers are like life. They are very logical but you could never work out the rules, even if you spent all your time thinking about them.â

Weird confession. I like prime numbers. They make sense to me. I'm a tiny bit like Christopher, and I think that's why I love this book so much.

What's it all about? It's an interesting perspective into the mind of a boy who is autistic, intelligent in many ways, but still immature to the ways of the world.

Journey with Christopher as he solves the mystery of his neighbor's dog. Travel with him as he strikes out on his own to discover what happened to Wellington, and why. Like me, you might be surprised by the ending. Christopher doesn't necessarily get the answers he wants, but instead gets a lesson in life.

I really enjoyed the different narrator voice from Christopher. I didn't find it gimmicky like some readers, instead I found it to be a delightful journey. Check it out for yourself and see what you think.
Reviewed: 2015-06-23
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Reviewed: 2013-03-30
I consider myself a gourmand of the bitter and funny, devouring and savoring all in sight, and this book wasn't either of those things. "Bitterly funny debut novel..." Bitter compared to what? Cotton Candy? Funnier than a heart attack? Furthermore, in place of black humor, I found manipulative, passive aggressive feel-goodery. "Ah, look at the little tyke," the pages seemed to say. "His emotionless innocence is better by far than the raw, wicked complexities of REAL life. We're the ones with the problem! We should examine ourselves. OURSELVES!" Stop grabbing at my heartstrings so greedily. They aren't a leash to lead me around with. That being said, I would have gladly read a mystery about an autistic boy investigating the death of a neighborhood dog. That's what interested me in the first place. I was even okay with the resolution of that mystery. It's too bad, then, that this was actually a tearful family relationship book about a bunch of uninteresting jerks. The whole last half of the book seemed like some kind of apology for the first half. Like a furious bid for Oprah's blessing. Not my thing, I'm afraid.
This was a super quick read but was still an extreme page turner. Being narrated by a child with mental disabilities made it quite unique. The author showed his true talent by taking on this challenge. I really felt that I was inside the child's mind and truly feeling what he felt. This book gives the reader a whole new perspective on life and points on the thoughts, feelings, and experience we take for granted every day. It also brought into view how one may not understand that everyone we see is fighting their own battles. As I study mental health in school, this book was also a learning experience. I would definitely recommend it to anyone both in and out of the field.
To me this book was something like "Adrian Mole goes Rainman". Tragicomic, in a way - you wish you could laugh, but you worry too much about the kid all the time. Nonetheless, it was a time spent well, it caught me and didn't let me go until I finished it. Quite recommended.
3.5

I thought I'd hate the style but I actually didn't mind it.

I thought the ending was really quite abrupt and...hokey.
Item Posts
@powerawbs
@powerawbs completed #curiousincidento... on 2016-09-09
@gloomyjellyfish
@gloomyjellyfish completed #curiousincidento... on 2016-04-29
@gloomyjellyfish
@gloomyjellyfish began #curiousincidento... on 2015-10-09
@fromelliott
@fromelliott completed #curiousincidento... on 2015-09-07
@fromelliott
@fromelliott began #curiousincidento... on 2015-07-13
@worldsapart91
@worldsapart91 completed #curiousincidento... on 2017-05-05
@livloves
@livloves completed #curiousincidento... on 2014-04-16
@dietchsa
@dietchsa completed #curiousincidento... on 2017-01-14
@kwetz824
@kwetz824 completed #curiousincidento... on 2016-03-24
@bas
@bas completed #curiousincidento... on 2015-12-24
@petiteallie
@petiteallie completed #curiousincidento... on 2015-04-29
@petiteallie
@petiteallie began #curiousincidento... on 2015-04-25
@tanakristine
@tanakristine completed #curiousincidento... on 2013-05-12
@tanakristine
@tanakristine began #curiousincidento... on 2013-05-07