Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, The

Mark Haddon
Christopher John Francis Boone knows all the countries of the world and their capitals and every prime number up to 7,057. He relates well to animals but has no understanding of human emotions. He cannot stand to be touched. And he detests the color yellow.This improbable story of Christopher's quest to investigate the suspicious death of a neighborhood dog makes for one of the most captivating, unusual, and widely heralded novels in recent years.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2018-08-19

The prime reasons I loved this book:

2. The narrator, Christopher John Francis Boone, is a severely brilliant autistic boy aged 15 years, 3 months, and 2 days and explanation of his  thought processes through the entire book.

3. Christopher's pet rat Toby.

5. The hatred of the color yellow, which to Christopher is considered a bad omen. 

7. Christopher's love for Sherlock Holmes stories and his extreme dislike of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle for his belief into the spiritual and supernatural.

11. The footnotes which give more color unto Christopher's thinking.

13. The level Christopher's father's patience for his son for his idiosyncrasies and his everlasting love.

17. 5-fingered hugs.

19. Metaphors are lies and similes are not.

23. Explanation of math equations.

29. The mystery of who forked Wellington, the dog.

31. The overall story gives you a different perspective of the autistic mind.

41. Prime numbers.

Reviewed: 2018-08-16
Despite his overwhelming fear of interacting with people, Christopher, a mathematically-gifted, autistic fifteen-year-old boy, decides to investigate the murder of a neighbor's dog and uncovers secret information about his mother.
Reviewed: 2018-07-18
Jeez, i thought it would take me 3 weeks to read this book. I actually finished it in only 5 days. Amazing as far as a school-assigned book goes.
Reviewed: 2017-08-29
Christopher John Francis Boone knows all the countries of the world and their capitals and every prime number up to 7,057. He relates well to animals but has no understanding of human emotions. He cannot stand to be touched. And he detests the color yellow. Although gifted with a superbly logical brain, for fifteen-year-old Christopher everyday interactions and admonishments have little meaning. He lives on patterns, rules, and a diagram kept in his pocket. Then one day, a neighbor's dog, Wellington, is killed and his carefully constructive universe is threatened. Christopher sets out to solve the murder in the style of his favourite (logical) detective, Sherlock Holmes. What follows makes for a novel that is funny, poignant and fascinating in its portrayal of a person whose curse and blessing are a mind that perceives the world entirely literally.
Reviewed: 2016-12-17
Sweet book.
Reviewed: 2016-10-14
"The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime" is a powerful young adult read. Students will experience for one of the first times at their age of reading a text through the narration of a boy with autism. Through this mystery novel, the reader will have to put together the missing clues of this case alongside the story's young lead, Christopher. By reading this text, students will develop an understanding how the mind of a child with autism works and the struggles one faces when trying to problem solve. In the classroom, I will develop a lesson where I will propose a mystery for my own students to solve. However, their answers to the mystery need to be explained in a puzzle piece design. This mystery will be designed as a puzzle for two reasons. Mainly because the puzzle piece is the symbol of autism awareness and secondly because when solving a mystery, an individual must find the missing pieces of the overall case. The students will work in small groups and present their puzzle to the class to see if they can solve the mystery.
Reviewed: 2016-06-24
This was an OK book for me. I had expected such greatness from this one that the way it played out was a little disappointing for me. At some points, I was intrigued by the thought-processes of Christopher, but at others I was just waiting for the story to start. The book started strong, with a murder mystery (if the death of a dog is considered murder), but then it just meandered along without a set goal. Maybe that was partly due to the fact that the narrator is autistic, but I'm not so sure.

There didn't seem to be any resolution to the story. It just was, and then it wasn't. It was a quick read, and I was interested enough to finish it, which is why it got 2 stars.
Reviewed: 2015-11-28
âPrime numbers are what is left when you have taken all the patterns away. I think prime numbers are like life. They are very logical but you could never work out the rules, even if you spent all your time thinking about them.â

Weird confession. I like prime numbers. They make sense to me. I'm a tiny bit like Christopher, and I think that's why I love this book so much.

What's it all about? It's an interesting perspective into the mind of a boy who is autistic, intelligent in many ways, but still immature to the ways of the world.

Journey with Christopher as he solves the mystery of his neighbor's dog. Travel with him as he strikes out on his own to discover what happened to Wellington, and why. Like me, you might be surprised by the ending. Christopher doesn't necessarily get the answers he wants, but instead gets a lesson in life.

I really enjoyed the different narrator voice from Christopher. I didn't find it gimmicky like some readers, instead I found it to be a delightful journey. Check it out for yourself and see what you think.
Reviewed: 2015-06-23
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Item Posts
@sshamy
@sshamy began #curiousincidento... on 2018-09-12
@ellenmiller
@ellenmiller completed #curiousincidento... on 2017-08-24
@areedcollett
@areedcollett completed #curiousincidento... on 2018-08-12
@areedcollett
@areedcollett began #curiousincidento... on 2018-08-10
@ginadavidson
@ginadavidson completed #curiousincidento... on 2011-07-31
@ddunaj
@ddunaj completed #curiousincidento... on 2018-05-12
@shctclibrary1
@shctclibrary1 began #curiousincidento... on 2018-04-03
@powerawbs
@powerawbs completed #curiousincidento... on 2016-09-09
@gloomyjellyfish
@gloomyjellyfish completed #curiousincidento... on 2016-04-29
@gloomyjellyfish
@gloomyjellyfish began #curiousincidento... on 2015-10-09
@fromelliott
@fromelliott completed #curiousincidento... on 2015-09-07
@fromelliott
@fromelliott began #curiousincidento... on 2015-07-13
@worldsapart91
@worldsapart91 completed #curiousincidento... on 2017-05-05
@livloves
@livloves completed #curiousincidento... on 2014-04-16
@dietchsa
@dietchsa completed #curiousincidento... on 2017-01-14