Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo, The

Taylor Jenkins Reid
From Taylor Jenkins Reid, “a genius when it comes to stories about life and love” (Redbook), comes an unforgettable and sweeping novel about one classic film actress’s relentless rise to the top—the risks she took, the loves she lost, and the long-held secrets the public could never imagine. Aging and reclusive Hollywood movie icon Evelyn Hugo is finally ready to tell the truth about her glamorous and scandalous life. But when she chooses unknown magazine reporter Monique Grant for the job, no one in the journalism community is more astounded than Monique herself. Why her? Why now? Monique is not exactly on top of the world. Her husband, David, has left her, and her career has stagnated. Regardless of why Evelyn has chosen her to write her biography, Monique is determined to use this opportunity to jumpstart her career. Summoned to Evelyn’s Upper East Side apartment, Monique listens as Evelyn unfurls her story: from making her way to Los Angeles in the 1950s to her decision to leave show business in the late 80s, and, of course, the seven husbands along the way. As Evelyn’s life unfolds—revealing a ruthless ambition, an unexpected friendship, and a great forbidden love—Monique begins to feel a very a real connection to the actress. But as Evelyn’s story catches up with the present, it becomes clear that her life intersects with Monique’s own in tragic and irreversible ways. Written with Reid’s signature talent for “creating complex, likable characters” (Real Simple), this is a fascinating journey through the splendor of Old Hollywood into the harsh realities of the present day as two women struggle with what it means—and what it takes—to face the truth.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2021-09-15

Different from everything I'm used to read but enjoyable. It talks about real life matters, love, infidelity, passion, abortion and LGBT community. 

Reviewed: 2021-07-05
A mixed between June and The Thirteenth Tale -- Evelyn's journey is an interesting one to follow. Called the twist that Harry's lover was Monique's dad pretty early on (and that that was her connection). Enjoyed Evelyn's story MUCH more than Monique's -- the writing was better and the dialogue was more interesting. The LGBTQ+ language felt a little heavy handed -- like the author thought she might get called out for misrepresentation, but the characters and relationships felt real and weighted.
Reviewed: 2021-05-29
História linda de amor por vários anos. Evelyn uma atriz de Hollywood que fez tudo pela fama se apaixona por outra atriz. Se casa 7 vezes por não poder casar com quem realmente queria. Seu produtor e melhor amigo morre num acidente de carro e mata seu novo amor (pai da menina que vai escrever a biografia da Evelyn). E Evelyn se mata em sua casa após perder o amigo, o amor e sua filha. História muito triste e que nos faz pensar em tudo que deixamos de fazer pelo que vão falar.
Reviewed: 2021-02-04
4.37
Reviewed: 2020-04-26
An easy and enjoyable read. Perfect weekend or vacation book. The story really proceeds nicely with a big twist right at the end. Keeps the reader engaged.
Reviewed: 2020-01-18
Almost all my GR friends loved this book, so I went into it full of anticipation.

And I did enjoy it, but I was expecting something more deep and meaningful. What I got was chick lit. Very good chick lit, but still chick lit.



Evelyn Hugo uses the weapons she has to claw her way out of Hell's Kitchen and into Hollywood stardom. In her case the weapons are a stunning beauty and a ruthless nature.

And I liked Evelyn. It was everyone else that I either disliked or was indifferent to. Fortunately liking the main character made it an easy choice to keep reading, but I like my chick lit to be of the unputdownable variety. This was an interesting read but I didn't have any trouble for putting it aside for a non fiction book on the history of the Beguines - & I'm not much of a non fiction reader & I'm not religious. I also don't think that Ms Jenkins Reid was waving the Rainbow Flag



for any reason other than it was a very good plot device & possibly as a tribute to some of the great Hollywood stars of bygone years.



Saying that, there was a Big Twist that genuinely surprised me. Maybe it wouldn't have if I had found journalist Monique more interesting.

So like with all good chick lit I liked it. But in a couple of year's time, all I will remember is the stunning cover.
Reviewed: 2019-01-14
wow this was so good! the story and writing are excellent, and you'll never see the twist coming. heartbreaking, impactful, etc.
Reviewed: 2018-07-02

I bought this book a while back, but it has been sitting on my self because I felt that it would be a good Summer-time read. The wait was well worth it for me. I LOVED this book for the following:
1) Lead character is a strong woman who is not ashamed to do what she deems necessary to become famous.
2) The story revolves around the love 2 women share with each other and the lengths they had to go to hide their relationship through the decades because 'polite' society frowned on it, but it was the women themselves who destroyed their relationship due to their jealous and career success.
3) I am a sucker for old Hollywood and this story made me wonder about some of the great actresses of those times. I enjoyed reading the tabloid tidbits in-between the chapters to give a sense of what they were saying at the time.

Item Posts
@carladomenica
@carladomenica completed #sevenhusbandsofe... on 2021-09-15
@carladomenica
@carladomenica began #sevenhusbandsofe... on 2021-09-11
@mbowling
@mbowling began #sevenhusbandsofe... on 2020-04-01
@mbowling
@mbowling began #sevenhusbandsofe... on 2020-04-01
@mooseinspace
@mooseinspace completed #sevenhusbandsofe... on 2019-05-21
@mooseinspace
@mooseinspace began #sevenhusbandsofe... on 2019-05-21
@maragtzr
@maragtzr completed #sevenhusbandsofe... on 2019-09-02
@maragtzr
@maragtzr began #sevenhusbandsofe... on 2019-08-26
@chrisquick
@chrisquick completed #sevenhusbandsofe... on 2019-07-30
@mikaelalou212
@mikaelalou212 completed #sevenhusbandsofe... on 2019-03-30
@mikaelalou212
@mikaelalou212 began #sevenhusbandsofe... on 2019-03-24
@jdanz
@jdanz completed #sevenhusbandsofe... on 2018-12-16
@jdanz
@jdanz began #sevenhusbandsofe... on 2018-12-15
@carlee1516
@carlee1516 completed #sevenhusbandsofe... on 2018-08-03
@carlee1516
@carlee1516 began #sevenhusbandsofe... on 2018-07-31