Catcher in the Rye, The

J.D. Salinger
Anyone who has read J.D. Salinger's New Yorker stories ? particularly A Perfect Day for Bananafish, Uncle Wiggily in Connecticut, The Laughing Man, and For Esme ? With Love and Squalor, will not be surprised by the fact that his first novel is fully of children. The hero-narrator of THE CATCHER IN THE RYE is an ancient child of sixteen, a native New Yorker named Holden Caulfield. Through circumstances that tend to preclude adult, secondhand description, he leaves his prep school in Pennsylvania and goes underground in New York City for three days. The boy himself is at once too simple and too complex for us to make any final comment about him or his story. Perhaps the safest thing we can say about Holden is that he was born in the world not just strongly attracted to beauty but, almost, hopelessly impaled on it. There are many voices in this novel: children's voices, adult voices, underground voices-but Holden's voice is the most eloquent of all. Transcending his own vernacular, yet remaining marvelously faithful to it, he issues a perfectly articulated cry of mixed pain and pleasure. However, like most lovers and clowns and poets of the higher orders, he keeps most of the pain to, and for, himself. The pleasure he gives away, or sets aside, with all his heart. It is there for the reader who can handle it to keep.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2018-12-05
Why is this book so problematic to the US of A?
Why is a child, a young teen, in is angst quest to find himself, to enjoy the fact of being alive and find a porpoise to his existence free (as much as possible) of social pressure be a revolutionary idea so disrupting the book had to be censored?

On the other side, the book depicts to some superficial extent, NYC during the fifties and its proverbial dialect quite good. The story itself isn’t very interesting, though it ca keep you quite hooked since you can hog page after page.

What’s good here, is to somehow revisit the angst, anger and some melancholy every single one of us went through.

Other than that, it’s a cool book one should read, but not to be included on top priorities. It is to me, quite over-hyped.
Reviewed: 2018-09-09
O grande clássico da casa!
Reviewed: 2018-02-17
I know i already said this in the graveyard book but this book actually touched parts of my heart that i thought only i can feel. I felt his loneliness, i felt the hatred, i felt how much he doesnt want to show that he truly cares. I cried during the times he’s with his sister. I adore their relationship. He probably didnt know it, but his sister means everything to him and having a sister and a brother is life changing. The love for your siblings will always be greater than of those for your parents. Ive read reviews where they say Haulden is whiny and he just complained a lot but the thing is, he is broken. After losing Allie he became really depressed and being in the that same situation as him (when i lost my grandpa, i spiraled into depression too) i know how lonely and painful it can get a lot of times. You sort of convert your pain into hate. Hatred of everyone expect the ones that you love. I can relate to him on a very deep and personal level. Heck im in my late 20’s but damn. He’s immature and funny most of the times but it’s what’s inside of him that hits me the most.
Reviewed: 2015-07-04
What can I say about this book? I had no expectations at all. What I really like is that is really "flowy", it flows soooo easily. Maybe it is because it is written as if the narrator, Holden, was just speaking directly to the reader, a pretty long but interesting chat. It kills me!
Item Posts
@bttogranados
@bttogranados completed #catcherintheryet... on 2017-01-09
@gabaroar
@gabaroar began #catcherintheryet... on 2019-10-13
@gabaroar
@gabaroar completed #catcherintheryet... on 2019-10-15
@mistrjosh
@mistrjosh completed #catcherintheryet... on 2017-03-27
@mistrjosh
@mistrjosh began #catcherintheryet... on 2017-03-05
@vivianhalladay
@vivianhalladay began #catcherintheryet... on 2019-05-22
@bacelaaar
@bacelaaar completed #catcherintheryet... on 2019-04-30
@jennys7owls
@jennys7owls began #catcherintheryet... on 2019-04-03
@jennys7owls
@jennys7owls completed #catcherintheryet... on 2019-04-27
@spsides6
@spsides6 completed #catcherintheryet... on 2015-02-28
@baix0x
@baix0x completed #catcherintheryet... on 2018-12-23
@baix0x
@baix0x began #catcherintheryet... on 2018-11-23
@jaytlagged
@jaytlagged completed #catcherintheryet... on 2018-10-14
@jaytlagged
@jaytlagged began #catcherintheryet... on 2018-10-11
@ruthy
@ruthy completed #catcherintheryet... on 2018-09-26