Catcher in the Rye, The

J. D. Salinger
Anyone who has read J.D. Salinger's New Yorker stories--particularly A Perfect Day for Bananafish, Uncle Wiggily in Connecticut, The Laughing Man, and For Esme With Love and Squalor--will not be surprised by the fact that his first novel is full of children. The hero-narrator of The Catcher in the Rye is an ancient child of sixteen, a native New Yorker named Holden Caulfield. Through circumstances that tend to preclude adult, secondhand description, he leaves his prep school in Pennsylvania and goes underground in New York City for three days. The boy himself is at once too simple and too complex for us to make any final comment about him or his story. Perhaps the safest thing we can say about Holden is that he was born in the world not just strongly attracted to beauty but, almost, hopelessly impaled on it. There are many voices in this novel: children's voices, adult voices, underground voices-but Holden's voice is the most eloquent of all. Transcending his own vernacular, yet remaining marvelously faithful to it, he issues a perfectly articulated cry of mixed pain and pleasure. However, like most lovers and clowns and poets of the higher orders, he keeps most of the pain to, and for, himself. The pleasure he gives away, or sets aside, with all his heart. It is there for the reader who can handle it to keep.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2018-12-31

Just finished my first 100 books...... :D
Reviewed: 2018-10-06
2
Reviewed: 2018-07-20
Read for 10th grade English class. Found Holden to be whiny, unrelatable. Maybe would have liked it better if I hadn't had to read it for school.
Reviewed: 2017-01-26
My highschool required reading was minimal compared to the classics that seem to be universally read throughout other schools. I’ve never picked up nineteen eighty-four, never glanced at Catch-22, or even considered The Catcher in the Rye. I’d picked up some things about the book before going into, such as Holden being a bit of a whiny character who dislikes phonies. My expectations were founded but I didn’t find Holden to be as annoying as so many people seem to think he is.

Holden is a unique character, who is desperately and destructively trying to linger in the innocence of his youth. Whilst he is interested in learning at school, he can’t bring himself to invest his mind because that would be pushing himself further into the adult world that is full of people that are not true to themselves like children are. He finds these people that are grown up and enshrined in dull rituals of etiquette repulsive because they are the catalyst of lost innocence.

The plot is largely non-existent as it focuses on Holden experiencing New York at this transitory time in his life. He isn’t quite a child or an adult, so his place in this city is undefined and shaky. There is a strong contrast between scenes where he is violently unfit for the adult scenery (such as the scene where he has a conflict with a prostitute) and scenes where he is acknowledged as belonging. He may be a compulsive liar but he is not a bad person. I see this clear as day when he was talking with the nuns who are a model of virtue and charity. He can’t help but proffer himself to them and provide charity and company because this is a form of company that is more aligned with his being.

This book is interesting because of how Holden is this physical representation of philosophical difficulties of adolescence. Definitely a fascinating character study and I can see its merit in a classroom.
Reviewed: 2016-12-17
I loved the way he wrote it...... pretty nice and different.
Item Posts
@moonystars93
@moonystars93 completed #catcherintheryet... on 2016-05-07
@carnesd181
@carnesd181 completed #catcherintheryet... on 2006-12-26
@midasrebg
@midasrebg completed #catcherintheryet... on 2018-03-27
@fromelliott
@fromelliott completed #catcherintheryet... on 2012-10-16
@electricidiot
@electricidiot completed #catcherintheryet... on 2017-05-11
@electricidiot
@electricidiot began #catcherintheryet... on 2017-04-29
@jrbest
@jrbest completed #catcherintheryet... on 2016-09-14
@jrbest
@jrbest began #catcherintheryet... on 2016-09-02