Hunger Games, The

Suzanne Collins
In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. Long ago the districts waged war on the Capitol and were defeated. As part of the surrender terms, each district agreed to send one boy and one girl to appear in an annual televised event called,

Reviews

Reviewed: 2019-05-24

School Library Journal: the plot is tense, dramatic, and engrossing. age 11+

Kirkus: Impressive world-building, breathtaking action and clear philosophical concerns

Common Sense Media: For a story about 24 teens forced to kill each other, the gore level is fairly low -- but there is some. Teens are speared, shot with arrows, stabbed, mauled by wild animals, burned, and have their heads smashed and their necks broken. Injuries are realistic, including burn blistering, blood poisoning, and gangrene. A girl's tongue is cut out.

One adult drunk.

 

Series #1

Reviewed: 2017-10-14

Don't read unless you want little hints of absolute distopian future. The critical reader will find all sorts of juicy political commentary on current American affairs.

Reviewed: 2017-09-10

I love this series. It's really dark but I really like the theme and the story and where Collins goes with it. One of the most brutal children's books ever, though. 

Reviewed: 2017-07-03

Great series! Have already reread a couple times

Reviewed: 2017-01-19

FIC COL

If you like action packed books, this one is for you! Something new and exciting happens each time you turn the page! Katniss supports her whole family with hunting animals in District 12, but everyone in the district is very poor. She makes a decision that could determine life or death, to save her sister. Read the book to find out what happens!

Emily C. 

Reviewed: 2017-01-17

This intense book will keep you on the edge of your seat until the end. In the future ashes of North America, a corrupt new government rules. Every year, a boy and girl from each district are chosen to compete in the Hunger Games. The winner recieves fame and fortune. The losers die.

Sydney T.

Reviewed: 2016-12-04

If there is anyone left out there that hasn't already read this series I would certainly suggest that they do. Katniss is a girl that appeals to all readers. Her inner strength, perseverance, and hunting skills will appeal to boys just as much as young female readers. I would use this book to discuss oppressive governments and some of the events that took place around the world that ultimately forced a revolution. This book is easily relatable to many of the revolutions that took place in Europe. Specifically France and the reign of terror under Robespierre. It shows how an oppressive government can take complete control and hold onto it until someone finally finds a way to stand up to it and organize against it. The hunger games is an excellent read that keeps the reader's attention from start to finish.

Reviewed: 2015-04-08
I haven't been grabbed by a story like this in a while. I only wish I already had the second book and didn't have to wait until it comes on monday
I haven't been grabbed by a story like this in a while. I only wish I already had the second book and didn't have to wait until it comes on monday
Item Posts
@jmarrie93
@jmarrie93 completed #hungergamesthe... on 2019-11-02
@jmarrie93
@jmarrie93 began #hungergamesthe... on 2019-10-30
@analopez16
@analopez16 began #hungergamesthe... on 2019-06-08
@kpasqualetto15
@kpasqualetto15 completed #hungergamesthe... on 2019-03-02
@laxbacon13
@laxbacon13 completed #hungergamesthe... on 2012-02-13
@escapinginpaper
@escapinginpaper completed #hungergamesthe... on 2012-05-16
@escapinginpaper
@escapinginpaper began #hungergamesthe... on 2012-05-08
@taylorabranson
@taylorabranson completed #hungergamesthe... on 2013-08-27
@taylorabranson
@taylorabranson began #hungergamesthe... on 2013-08-24
@ellenmiller
@ellenmiller completed #hungergamesthe... on 2010-09-30
@charlap
@charlap completed #hungergamesthe... on 2018-09-01
@charlap
@charlap began #hungergamesthe... on 2018-07-30
@hhoffmann
@hhoffmann completed #hungergamesthe... on 2018-08-30
@hhoffmann
@hhoffmann began #hungergamesthe... on 2018-08-27
@kristinawithak
@kristinawithak completed #hungergamesthe... on 2014-03-23