Catching Fire

Suzanne Collins
Against all odds, Katniss Everdeen has won the annual Hunger Games with fellow district tribute Peeta Mellark. But it was a victory won by defiance of the Capitol and their harsh rules. Katniss and Peeta should be happy. After all, they have just won for themselves and their families a life of safety and plenty. But there are rumors of rebellion among the subjects, and Katniss and Peeta, to their horror, are the faces of that rebellion. The Capitol is angry. The Capitol wants revenge.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2019-09-13

I liked this book even better than the first! Katniss is such an unwilling hero. I appreciated how Suzanne Collins developed her character, and how we as the readers were able to see her wrestle with the reality of the rebellion and what her response should be. I also enjoyed how Suzanne drew out the "character" of the Capitol citizens. They no longer are portrayed as mindless and completely ignorant, but we begin to see their humanity and questioning of their Capitol leadership and decision-making.

Reviewed: 2019-05-23

School Library Journal and Common Sense Media: The violence includes deaths by stabbing, shooting, animal attacks, and poison, as well as torture, threats, and explosions. The language includes "s--t," and one bleeped out use of "f--k" and other expletives.

 

Series (#2)

Reviewed: 2019-05-17
I enjoyed the series, moderately, when I read it three years ago. This second book continued the critique of the Bread and Circuses system, shown in the first book, that pulls resources from the Global South (i.e. particularly Districts 10, 11 and 12) to the developed former colonializing nations (Capitol), still protraying the USA as imperial Rome.

This second book brings into relief the details of the Roman Gladiatorial system, which readers and viewers may not identify with modern life. Perhaps football players and ballerinas 'ruining their bodies for the entertainment of others' comes to mind, similar to the most popular gladiators in Ancient Rome.

But, the revolutionary scenario neglects the difficulties of persuading the elites and semi-elites, Districts 1 and 2 being like some developing countries in terms of rising access to resources, and Gramscian alliances with the Capitol to prevent revolution in the first place.

Overall, while appreciating the references to PTSD, I found the second book more of a thriller than the first book, and a bit less interesting.
ShiraDestinie
U.N. Date: Monday, October 23, 12014 H.E. (Holocene/Human Era)
Reviewed: 2019-04-19
- Quote: Aim higher in case you fall short
- Thoughts: Way better than the movie, wich I truly can't remember anything in part 2 and 3. This probably means I got a really good nap at the theater at the time.
Well, I got some philosophy out of this book that of course I can't write here nor at any public place for not living in a free country, don't get me wrong though, it wouldn't be the government that would get back at me for saying my mind, not for this, I would simple be heavily harassed by people with different mindsets that don't like some truths. So I'll just shut up.
A lot of Catniss not knowing what she want though, probably good for teenagers
▶◀
These are my personal opinions, you may discord, my final rating of the book is not necessarily linked to this system and may diverge from it.
Book Storyline
- Originality: 5/5 stars
- Development: 4/5 stars
- Enjoyment: 3/5 stars
- Writing stile: 3/5 stars
- Funnyness: 1/5 stars
- Epicness: 3/5 stars
- Scaryness: 2/5 stars
- Smartness: 3/5 stars
- Addictiveness: 3/5 stars
- Plot twists: 4/5 stars
- Pace: 2/5 stars
- Storyline planning: 4/5 stars OR /5 negative stars
- Ending: 4/5 stars OR /5 negative stars
- Holes: 2/5 negative stars
- Self contained (Y/N): ✓
- Cliffhanger (Y/N): ✓
- Adult (Y/N): ×
- Mystery (Y/N): ×
- Treasure Hunting (Y/N): ×
- Violence level: An arena to kill everyone else
- Tech level: higher than current
- Religion level: not at all
- Main genre: dystopian
- Subgenre: romance, love triangle, teenagers
- Point of view: Catniss
- Aftertaste: Not exactly for me, but it's solid, I'll rate it a 5 stars on Goodreads.
World
- Originality: 5/5 stars
- Variety: 5/5 stars
- Consistency: 5/5 stars
- Impact on the story: 5/5 stars
- Maps: -/5 stars
- Real world (Y/N): ×
- Fantasy based on real world (Y/N): ×
- Journey (Y/N): ×
- Main scenario: District 12 and the arena
Characters
- Total amount: ~30
- Points of view: main character storyline
- Main characters: Catniss (not sure how to spell it from the audiobook, feels like there should be an 'h' in it)
- Secondary: Finnick, Heimanch, Pita
- Ordinary: The others
- Overall quality: 4/5 stars
- Main: 3/5 stars
- Secondary: 5/5 stars
- Consistency: 4/5 stars
- Connection: 3/5 stars
- Dialogs: 4/5 Stars
- Interactions: 4/5 Stars
- Romance ( Y/ N): ✓
- Underworld Crew (Y/N): ×
- Training (Y/N): Some
- Notable best characters: The old lady from district 4
- Notable worse characters: Nuts and Volts, that other girl in the arena
Setting
- Historical importance: 2/5 Stars
- Historical deep: 2/5 Stars
- Historical score: 2/5 Stars
- Geopolitical importance: 5/5 Stars
- Geopolitical variety: 4/5 Stars
- Geopolitical score: 5/5 Stars
- Setting overall score: 5/5 Stars
- Tension: 4/5 Stars
- Atmosphere: 3/5 Stars
- Supernatural (Vampires, werewolves) (Y/N): ×
- Superpowers (√/○): ×
- Non-human races (Y/N): ×
- Virtual Reality (Y/N): ×
- Monsters (Y/N): ×
- Historical relevant period: Something about District 13
Reviewed: 2018-09-13
The second edition to the trilogy was ingenious. A perfect addition and was heart wrenching, rage filling, anxiety filled story. It was beautiful.
Reviewed: 2018-04-21
WOW!!! Just amazing how she fights so hard one way then gives in and goes towards her natural inclination of rebellion. The social elements were very well done and stirring enough to make me rebel. I can not wait for the next one.

Only one draw back it is so similar to Uglies that it made me want to reread that series. AHHHH!!!!!!
Reviewed: 2018-04-13
OK, I admit it - I judged a book by its cover in this case. I had purchased [b:The Hunger Games|2767052|The Hunger Games (Hunger Games, #1)|Suzanne Collins|http://photo.goodreads.com/books/1267255754s/2767052.jpg|2792775] awhile back for my teen, and had never really given it a second thought. The cover looked cheesy, and just didn't draw my interest.

On a whim, I decided to give it a try - and couldn't put the book down! The Hunger Games was good, but Catching Fire? This is the 1st in a very long time that managed to keep my hanging onto every word, and even caught me off-guard on several occasions.

My only disappointment is that I didn't wait to read these titles. I see it will be several months before the final book is to be released, and I could have easily completed the Trilogy one after another over a weekend.

To satisfy my thirst for the finale, I am off to begin [b:The Maze Runner|6186357|The Maze Runner (Maze Runner, #1)|James Dashner|http://photo.goodreads.com/books/1243347999s/6186357.jpg|6366642], as I have heard this fares right up there in intensity.
Reviewed: 2017-12-07
5 stars
This was my second go-around at Catching Fire and I still think it's a great follow-up to The Hunger Games! So glad I re-read it (well, listened to the audio this time) because I forgot A LOT of what had happened. Now I'm more interested to re-read (or listen to) Mockingjay because all I remember is the end pretty much and that I was really disappointed in it.

Full review originally posted on The Book Addict's Guide: SO. This was my re-read of CATCHING FIRE. Since I read all of The Hunger Games trilogy before I started blogging, I figured a review is still appropriate!

First impressions upon finishing my re-read? I STILL LOVE IT. I still love the first book more, but for some reason I was thinking I was a little disappointed in CF, but then I looked back at my Goodreads rating and then I finished and I was like, “Oh yeah, that was just MOCKINGJAY.”

Once again, I was surprised at how little time was spent in the Games and how much time was spent building up to it. I was keeping track on Goodreads (like I always do) and I noticed that my comment about getting to the Games wasn’t until about 70% of the way through! And you know what’s funny is that it felt like it took forever to get there and it didn’t all at the same time. I forgot SO MUCH about what really went on in the first half (and in the Arena too, actually) because (time for a secret if you didn’t already know) I have terrible retention of content when I read. I don’t know if I read too fast or what, but I’m just so incredibly bad at remembering content after I’m done reading a book. That being said, it actually made the re-read pretty exciting! Even though it may seem boring that Katniss and Peeta go on their little Victor’s Tour and we’re not in the action of the Games for a long time, the reader is definitely not lulled into a boring recap of The Hunger Games. We do get a little bit of recap that happens naturally throughout the text so that’s an absolute bonus.

I love the way the plot twists in CATCHING FIRE and my attention was definitely held the whole book. We deal with the same characters that we got to know and love from book one and I guess some people could say that throwing them back in the Games is a cop-out and a repeat of book one, but I love it! It brings what the audience was so thrilled with in book one and is reinvented to keep us coming back for more. The the Games end with a different twist so we don’t repeat THG all over again as well as a whole new agenda for all of the Tributes.

Since the movie is coming up and we’re getting little sneak peeks of pictures and whatnot, it’s definitely helpful to have that recap of what happened in the book so I can be judgmental when I go see Catching Fire and whisper to my friends “That’s not how it happened in the book!”

ALSO, I’m really anxious to get a re-read going of MOCKINGJAY, because let’s face it. I was super disappointed with it my first time around. I’m kind of hoping that now I know what happens, I can concentrate on what’s happening as I read (or listen, if that’s the case) and not being frantically flipping through pages trying to find out how it ends.
Reviewed: 2017-10-14

Don't read unless you want little hints of absolute distopian future. The critical reader will find all sorts of juicy political commentary on current American affairs.

Reviewed: 2017-09-17
A lot funnier than "The Hunger Games". A rare example of a sequel that is better than it's predecessor.
Item Posts
@kennedianne
@kennedianne completed #catchingfire... on 2019-01-13
@laxbacon13
@laxbacon13 completed #catchingfire... on 2012-02-13
@eorlingas23
@eorlingas23 completed #catchingfire... on 2012-10-13
@eorlingas23
@eorlingas23 began #catchingfire... on 2012-10-11
@mama2eeee
@mama2eeee completed #catchingfire... on 2014-03-03
@mama2eeee
@mama2eeee completed #catchingfire... on 2013-02-22
@ginadavidson
@ginadavidson completed #catchingfiretheh... on 2011-02-06
@drewpy94
@drewpy94 completed #hungergames00000... on 2018-06-21
@jeanielee2007
@jeanielee2007 completed #catchingfire... on 2012-04-17
@jeanielee2007
@jeanielee2007 began #catchingfire... on 2012-04-17
@fromelliott
@fromelliott completed #catchingfiretheh... on 2010-09-27
@livloves
@livloves completed #catchingfire... on 2012-12-27
@bayakers
@bayakers completed #catchingfire... on 2011-08-29
@bayakers
@bayakers began #catchingfire... on 2011-08-24
@wanderlust
@wanderlust completed #catchingfire... on 2011-07-10