Catching Fire

Suzanne Collins
Against all odds, Katniss Everdeen has won the annual Hunger Games with fellow district tribute Peeta Mellark. But it was a victory won by defiance of the Capitol and their harsh rules. Katniss and Peeta should be happy. After all, they have just won for themselves and their families a life of safety and plenty. But there are rumors of rebellion among the subjects, and Katniss and Peeta, to their horror, are the faces of that rebellion. The Capitol is angry. The Capitol wants revenge.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2017-09-17
A lot funnier than "The Hunger Games". A rare example of a sequel that is better than it's predecessor.
Reviewed: 2017-07-08
This was a very good follow up from the fantastic plot of the first hunger games book. This might have been my favorite book in the series purely because of the interesting turn the games took and all the madness and chaos that happened. This book would have gotten a higher rating if the writing was better.
Reviewed: 2017-04-11
Really wanted to read this series for a couple of years now. Glad that I finally did - action-packed and suspenseful throughout!
Reviewed: 2017-03-13
This was a fairly good book but there was just soem parts that were okay
Reviewed: 2017-02-09
Basically, Katniss is an angry Bella Swann and the only reason I continue to devour this series is for Peeta and Haymitch.
Reviewed: 2017-01-29
Best book in the series.
Reviewed: 2017-01-02
The second book in the "Hunger Games" trilogy, it doesn't disappoint. The story moves fairly well, so no "middle entry" problem for this book.

The story picks up where the first book left off, with Katniss and Peeta back in the arena. Why? Good question, but it serves the story completely. I was afraid it was going to be a rehash, but no, it sets the stage for the third book just fine.

I liked how there were often call-backs and that the main character gets depth as she reflects about death, those she lost and what she's going through. I find the rather adult-sounding voice coming from a 16-17 year old rather odd, but then I reconsider what she goes through. It works, perhaps too well for the story.

Definitely a good read.
Reviewed: 2016-11-01
read
Reviewed: 2016-07-30

Not only is this my favorite book in the Hunger Games series, it is one of my overall favorite books. It shows Katniss realizing her strength and her vulnerability where her friends are concerned. Even though his role in the books is small, Cinna's death is a catalyst for all that is to come and is pivotal in the series. The emotions are balanced with the action that never seems to stop throughout the book. Just very well written.

Reviewed: 2016-07-05
Hardback
Item Posts
@fromelliott
@fromelliott completed #catchingfiretheh... on 2010-09-27
@livloves
@livloves completed #catchingfire... on 2012-12-27
@bayakers
@bayakers completed #catchingfire... on 2011-08-29
@bayakers
@bayakers began #catchingfire... on 2011-08-24
@jkaarlsen1
@jkaarlsen1 completed #catchingfire... on 2012-11-20
@jkaarlsen1
@jkaarlsen1 began #catchingfire... on 2012-04-19
@wanderlust
@wanderlust completed #catchingfire... on 2011-07-10
@sordidfairytale
@sordidfairytale completed #catchingfire... on 2011-05-30
@sordidfairytale
@sordidfairytale began #catchingfire... on 2011-05-30
@sordidfairytale
@sordidfairytale completed #catchingfire... on 2011-05-12
@sordidfairytale
@sordidfairytale began #catchingfire... on 2011-05-10
@eorlingas23
@eorlingas23 completed #catchingfire... on 2012-10-13
@eorlingas23
@eorlingas23 began #catchingfire... on 2012-10-11
@meanswell
@meanswell completed #catchingfiretheh... on 2012-11-22
@meanswell
@meanswell began #catchingfiretheh... on 2012-11-17