Catching Fire

Suzanne Collins
Against all odds, Katniss Everdeen has won the annual Hunger Games with fellow district tribute Peeta Mellark. But it was a victory won by defiance of the Capitol and their harsh rules. Katniss and Peeta should be happy. After all, they have just won for themselves and their families a life of safety and plenty. But there are rumors of rebellion among the subjects, and Katniss and Peeta, to their horror, are the faces of that rebellion. The Capitol is angry. The Capitol wants revenge.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2018-04-21
WOW!!! Just amazing how she fights so hard one way then gives in and goes towards her natural inclination of rebellion. The social elements were very well done and stirring enough to make me rebel. I can not wait for the next one.

Only one draw back it is so similar to Uglies that it made me want to reread that series. AHHHH!!!!!!
Reviewed: 2018-04-13
OK, I admit it - I judged a book by its cover in this case. I had purchased [b:The Hunger Games|2767052|The Hunger Games (Hunger Games, #1)|Suzanne Collins|http://photo.goodreads.com/books/1267255754s/2767052.jpg|2792775] awhile back for my teen, and had never really given it a second thought. The cover looked cheesy, and just didn't draw my interest.

On a whim, I decided to give it a try - and couldn't put the book down! The Hunger Games was good, but Catching Fire? This is the 1st in a very long time that managed to keep my hanging onto every word, and even caught me off-guard on several occasions.

My only disappointment is that I didn't wait to read these titles. I see it will be several months before the final book is to be released, and I could have easily completed the Trilogy one after another over a weekend.

To satisfy my thirst for the finale, I am off to begin [b:The Maze Runner|6186357|The Maze Runner (Maze Runner, #1)|James Dashner|http://photo.goodreads.com/books/1243347999s/6186357.jpg|6366642], as I have heard this fares right up there in intensity.
Reviewed: 2017-12-07
5 stars
This was my second go-around at Catching Fire and I still think it's a great follow-up to The Hunger Games! So glad I re-read it (well, listened to the audio this time) because I forgot A LOT of what had happened. Now I'm more interested to re-read (or listen to) Mockingjay because all I remember is the end pretty much and that I was really disappointed in it.

Full review originally posted on The Book Addict's Guide: SO. This was my re-read of CATCHING FIRE. Since I read all of The Hunger Games trilogy before I started blogging, I figured a review is still appropriate!

First impressions upon finishing my re-read? I STILL LOVE IT. I still love the first book more, but for some reason I was thinking I was a little disappointed in CF, but then I looked back at my Goodreads rating and then I finished and I was like, “Oh yeah, that was just MOCKINGJAY.”

Once again, I was surprised at how little time was spent in the Games and how much time was spent building up to it. I was keeping track on Goodreads (like I always do) and I noticed that my comment about getting to the Games wasn’t until about 70% of the way through! And you know what’s funny is that it felt like it took forever to get there and it didn’t all at the same time. I forgot SO MUCH about what really went on in the first half (and in the Arena too, actually) because (time for a secret if you didn’t already know) I have terrible retention of content when I read. I don’t know if I read too fast or what, but I’m just so incredibly bad at remembering content after I’m done reading a book. That being said, it actually made the re-read pretty exciting! Even though it may seem boring that Katniss and Peeta go on their little Victor’s Tour and we’re not in the action of the Games for a long time, the reader is definitely not lulled into a boring recap of The Hunger Games. We do get a little bit of recap that happens naturally throughout the text so that’s an absolute bonus.

I love the way the plot twists in CATCHING FIRE and my attention was definitely held the whole book. We deal with the same characters that we got to know and love from book one and I guess some people could say that throwing them back in the Games is a cop-out and a repeat of book one, but I love it! It brings what the audience was so thrilled with in book one and is reinvented to keep us coming back for more. The the Games end with a different twist so we don’t repeat THG all over again as well as a whole new agenda for all of the Tributes.

Since the movie is coming up and we’re getting little sneak peeks of pictures and whatnot, it’s definitely helpful to have that recap of what happened in the book so I can be judgmental when I go see Catching Fire and whisper to my friends “That’s not how it happened in the book!”

ALSO, I’m really anxious to get a re-read going of MOCKINGJAY, because let’s face it. I was super disappointed with it my first time around. I’m kind of hoping that now I know what happens, I can concentrate on what’s happening as I read (or listen, if that’s the case) and not being frantically flipping through pages trying to find out how it ends.
Reviewed: 2017-10-14

Don't read unless you want little hints of absolute distopian future. The critical reader will find all sorts of juicy political commentary on current American affairs.

Reviewed: 2017-09-17
A lot funnier than "The Hunger Games". A rare example of a sequel that is better than it's predecessor.
Reviewed: 2017-04-11
Really wanted to read this series for a couple of years now. Glad that I finally did - action-packed and suspenseful throughout!
Reviewed: 2017-03-13
This was a fairly good book but there was just soem parts that were okay
Reviewed: 2017-02-09
Basically, Katniss is an angry Bella Swann and the only reason I continue to devour this series is for Peeta and Haymitch.
Reviewed: 2017-01-29
Best book in the series.
Reviewed: 2017-01-02
The second book in the "Hunger Games" trilogy, it doesn't disappoint. The story moves fairly well, so no "middle entry" problem for this book.

The story picks up where the first book left off, with Katniss and Peeta back in the arena. Why? Good question, but it serves the story completely. I was afraid it was going to be a rehash, but no, it sets the stage for the third book just fine.

I liked how there were often call-backs and that the main character gets depth as she reflects about death, those she lost and what she's going through. I find the rather adult-sounding voice coming from a 16-17 year old rather odd, but then I reconsider what she goes through. It works, perhaps too well for the story.

Definitely a good read.
Item Posts
@jeanielee2007
@jeanielee2007 completed #catchingfire... on 2012-04-17
@jeanielee2007
@jeanielee2007 began #catchingfire... on 2012-04-17
@fromelliott
@fromelliott completed #catchingfiretheh... on 2010-09-27
@livloves
@livloves completed #catchingfire... on 2012-12-27
@bayakers
@bayakers completed #catchingfire... on 2011-08-29
@bayakers
@bayakers began #catchingfire... on 2011-08-24
@jkaarlsen1
@jkaarlsen1 completed #catchingfire... on 2012-11-20
@jkaarlsen1
@jkaarlsen1 began #catchingfire... on 2012-04-19
@wanderlust
@wanderlust completed #catchingfire... on 2011-07-10
@sordidfairytale
@sordidfairytale completed #catchingfire... on 2011-05-30
@sordidfairytale
@sordidfairytale began #catchingfire... on 2011-05-30
@sordidfairytale
@sordidfairytale completed #catchingfire... on 2011-05-12
@sordidfairytale
@sordidfairytale began #catchingfire... on 2011-05-10
@eorlingas23
@eorlingas23 completed #catchingfire... on 2012-10-13
@eorlingas23
@eorlingas23 began #catchingfire... on 2012-10-11