They Both Die at the End

Adam Silvera
New York Times bestselling author Adam Silvera reminds us that there’s no life without death and no love without loss in this devastating yet uplifting story about two people whose lives change over the course of one unforgettable day. On September 5, a little after midnight, Death-Cast calls Mateo Torrez and Rufus Emeterio to give them some bad news: They’re going to die today. Mateo and Rufus are total strangers, but, for different reasons, they’re both looking to make a new friend on their End Day. The good news: There’s an app for that. It’s called the Last Friend, and through it, Rufus and Mateo are about to meet up for one last great adventure—to live a lifetime in a single day.In the tradition of Before I Fall and If I Stay, They Both Die at the End is a tour de force from acclaimed author Adam Silvera, whose debut, More Happy Than Not, the New York Times called “profound.”

Reviews

Reviewed: 2022-01-02
I struggled with the first half of this book, having to force myself to pick it back up. But somewhere in the middle I stopped being able to gat Mateo and Rufus out of my mind and I ended up really loving this book. It's sad - for sure - but also beautiful.
Reviewed: 2021-07-17

So, I totally reread this amazing book. I love Rufus and Mateo. They're incredibly relatable, despite the fictional aspect of having a heads-up on death.

The second time I read this book was for my book club on Facebook, Monthly Book Club :books:

Reviewed: 2021-06-01
I knew nothing about this book. I bought it a few months ago from a secondhand bookshop because it was cheap and the title sounds familiar, then of course I stack it on my shelf and let it stew for a bit. Next thing I know, I was on a reading slump. I tried some books but they just couldn't get me out of the hole I have dug myself into, so instead of reading the books I have been meaning to read, I closed my eyes and decided to play musical chair with my books, and that was the best decision I made last month.

The title of this book pretty much showed me where this book is going, but I can't help but hope and root for Mateo and Rufus to live just another day, to somehow be the ones to beat the odds. The title of this book gave away its ending but I spent every page praying and hoping to whatever and whoever is listening to me that maybe just maybe they could change the ending, even if it is only for me, and if I were to reread this book this very moment, I would still hope against all hope for Mateo and Rufus to get the happy ending they deserve.

The journey was a painful one, but things are always more beautiful when your glasses has a little blue in it, right? And Mateo's and Rufus' glasses has the best indigo tint on them. And sometimes the books that are the hardest to read are the ones you needed the most.

100000/10 would read again
Reviewed: 2021-03-15
Why, Adam Silvera, why? Why do you create characters to fall in love with and then kill them?

It was interesting going into this book knowing that the two main characters were going to be dead at the end, but that didn’t stop the story from ripping my heart out and shoving it back into my chest in an uncomfortable way. It’s an intriguing idea, to know that you’re going to die within the next 24 hours, and it begs the question: what would you do if it was your last day to live? Nonetheless, I devoured this book in one sitting, which I don’t do much of anymore.
Reviewed: 2021-02-04
4.13
Reviewed: 2020-03-25
A nice, easy read that makes a morbid topic and premise enjoyable to think about. A reminder to appreciate life, love those who are important to you, take a few more risks, and live life on your own terms as often as possible.
Reviewed: 2019-02-06
I think this just wasn't a good match for me.
Item Posts
@jennys7owls
@jennys7owls began #theybothdieatthe... on 2021-11-07
@jennys7owls
@jennys7owls completed #theybothdieatthe... on 2021-11-30
@kpdickinson
@kpdickinson completed #theybothdieatthe... on 2020-07-31
@kpdickinson
@kpdickinson began #theybothdieatthe... on 2020-07-30
@zoearabella
@zoearabella completed #theybothdieatthe... on 2017-09-25
@zoearabella
@zoearabella began #theybothdieatthe... on 2017-09-14
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 began #theybothdieatthe... on 2018-01-08
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 began #theybothdieatthe... on 2018-02-08