Hunting Prince Dracula

Kerri Maniscalco
In this hotly anticipated sequel to the haunting #1 bestseller Stalking Jack the Ripper, bizarre murders are discovered in the castle of Prince Vlad the Impaler, otherwise known as Dracula. Could it be a copycat killer...or has the depraved prince been brought back to life? Following the grief and horror of her discovery of Jack the Ripper's true identity, Audrey Rose Wadsworth has no choice but to flee London and its memories. Together with the arrogant yet charming Thomas Cresswell, she journeys to the dark heart of Romania, home to one of Europe's best schools of forensic medicine...and to another notorious killer, Vlad the Impaler, whose thirst for blood became legend. But her life's dream is soon tainted by blood-soaked discoveries in the halls of the school's forbidding castle, and Audrey Rose is compelled to investigate the strangely familiar murders. What she finds brings all her terrifying fears to life once again.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2018-08-04

 

I wasn’t quite sure what to expect with this book. I didn’t think the books in this series were completely connected, but I was wrong!
I think the one thing that I didn’t like about this book is that Audrey Rose had to basically redevelop as a character because of the events of the last book. It’s understandable because what happened is something that can emotionally hurt someone and a person does have to grieve, but she didn’t, which makes me think she will still be dealing with her grief in the next book (not a bad thing at all). I think she should have put her grief before anything else, seeing as it was affecting her goals.
The ending of this book has me so excited for the next one. I’m very happy with where Audrey and Thomas’s relationship is heading. I think there are so cute and their bickering is just too funny.
 
Reviewed: 2017-12-07
Initial Impressions 5/8/17 and full review as originally posted HERE on The Book Addict's Guide 8/18/17: Kerri Maniscalso has done it again. HUNTING PRINCE DRACULA is just as fantastic as STALKING JACK THE RIPPER with a whole new exciting and yet horrific tale (and I mean that in the best possible way). I loved that HPD was a sequel to STALKING JACK THE RIPPER but it develops its own mystery and its own story line. The series continues with main characters Audrey Rose Wadsworth and Thomas Cresswell, so readers get to continue reading about their relationship, their work together, and their adventures along the way, but there’s no panic to think about the time that naturally occurs between each new book release because each case wraps up neatly! Although I will say that I’ll still panic a little bit since I read this book so long before its own release in the fall (I finished in May) and now I need to wait probably over a year for book three when I want to read it nowwwww. *ahem*

My only complaint about my experience with HUNTING PRINCE DRACULA is that life got in the way and I didn’t have enough time to just sit down and inhale it, as much as I wanted to. *grumbles things about responsibilities* Just like SJTR, I had so much fun reading this book from start to finish. I love the gothic horror elements, the pieces of true history combined with amazing adaptations and embellishments for the books, and most of all, the excellent banter between Audrey Rose and Thomas. Their relationship is fantastic in every possible way.

The suspense was constant and I loved the way that Kerri Maniscalco continuously shifted focus, as is natural in a mystery. When murders are occurring, it’s natural to be suspicious about everything and everyone and I always am as a reader so it was great to see how the focus tended to shift throughout the book as Audrey Rose and Thomas gathered up more clues. It kept me guessing as a reader and left some excellent surprises in the end! Looking back, I probably should have picked up on a few things but I’m actually glad that I wasn’t even thinking in that direction because the reveal was MOST EXCELLENT and the dark part of my heart totally flipped. out. a certain reveal point!

Kerri Maniscalco’s books are stunningly sensory with great visuals for the reader to picture, wonderful atmosphere, and delightful descriptions that really appeal to every sense. It was so easy to get lost in the castles and forests of Romania in a totally different time period despite knowing little to nothing about either the time or the place. The light tone from the banter amongst the characters really brings a great levity to a horror story that I always appreciate and it breaks some of the more serious moments to allow readers to enjoy some of that character development. The balance of dark and light is truly perfected within these pages and to quote the book, “I am wholly bewitched.”

I cannot wait for the third installment and I will be thinking about it until it’s finally revealed what the third book will be about!!

** I received a copy of HUNTING PRINCE DRACULA from the author, Kerri Maniscalco, for review purposes and to assist in the creation of new candles inspired by the book. The fact that I received this copy to read from the author in no way affected my review, feedback, or the fact that I have the mighty need to be endlessly book-pushing and recommending. **
Item Posts
@slevasse97
@slevasse97 completed #stalkingjackther... on 2018-08-04
@slevasse97
@slevasse97 began #stalkingjackther... on 2018-08-01
@shixam
@shixam completed #huntingprincedra... on 2018-08-02
@shixam
@shixam began #huntingprincedra... on 2018-07-31
@emmiemae
@emmiemae began #huntingprincedra... on 2018-04-12
@cclimer94
@cclimer94 completed #huntingprincedra... on 2018-02-05
@cclimer94
@cclimer94 began #huntingprincedra... on 2018-02-03
@jhonda4687
@jhonda4687 began #huntingprincedra... on 2017-12-27
@luvpinkandbooks
@luvpinkandbooks began #huntingprincedra... on 2017-10-07