Turtles All the Way Down

John Green
Sixteen-year-old Aza never intended to pursue the mystery of fugitive billionaire Russell Pickett, but there’s a hundred-thousand-dollar reward at stake and her Best and Most Fearless Friend, Daisy, is eager to investigate. So together, they navigate the short distance and broad divides that separate them from Russell Pickett’s son, Davis.    Aza is trying. She is trying to be a good daughter, a good friend, a good student, and maybe even a good detective, while also living within the ever-tightening spiral of her own thoughts.    In his long-awaited return, John Green, the acclaimed, award-winning author of Looking for Alaska and The Fault in Our Stars, shares Aza’s story with shattering, unflinching clarity in this brilliant novel of love, resilience, and the power of lifelong friendship.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2020-03-11
Just finished. Completely lost for words. What a fantastic book.
Reviewed: 2018-07-30

 

Este foi o livro de John Green que menos gostei... porque não parecia um livro de John Green. Não me consegui relacionar com as personagens como antes e o enredo central é também dos mais fracos que me lembro.
A temática dos comportamentos obsessivo-compulsivos e dos distúrbios de ansiedade, embora importantes (essenciais?) de abordar, transformam muitas vezes o livro em algo menos prazeroso. Real, mas pouco convidativo à leitura: porque apesar de representar quase na perfeição aqueles ataques de pânico (been there, done that), é morosamente exaustivo (vulgo: chato). Os pensamentos circulam a mil à hora, sem pausas ou abrandamentos, e andam sempre à volta do mesmo, sem que consigamos sair daquele ciclo vicioso. E muitos dos caracteres escritos neste livro baseiam-se nisso. Chega até a ter uma página inteira entre a discussão mental entre o “anjo” e o “diabo”, em que quase os conseguimos imaginar em cada ombro da personagem principal, puxando a brasa à sua sardinha. (Tanto que eu decidi saltar a página).
E não sei se é por eu já ter passado por episódios que de alguma forma de relacionam com os da Aza, mas a leitura não me trouxe prazer. Incomodou-me, até - e se calhar é mesmo esse o objetivo, estar na pele de alguém com estes problemas. Só que não é o meu objetivo quando leio um livro.
Para além de tudo mais, achei o final previsível. A questão do título é explicada, tem graça, mas não me parece ter dimensão suficiente no livro para lhe dar o nome. Mas enfim: são escolhas.
Acredito que esta seja uma obra um tanto ao quanto emocional para o autor, mas dá-me ideia que foi escrita à pressa, em cima do joelho. Para mim, deixou muito a desejar.
Reviewed: 2018-06-04

I’d actually rate this book 3 1/2 Stars. 
It was another great book by the amazing John Green. Unlike most of his books that are completely heart breaking, this is more serious. 
I honestly felt like I could relate a bit to Aza. Green touched on a lot of real life relatable (somewhat controversial to talk about) topics. It definitely a book that hits a lot of sensitive spots, but was well worth the read.
I didn’t feel that there was a lot of character development. Of course it’s hard in such a short period of time to develop on the issues Aza faced. The little development that did occur came a lot closer to the end. 
The time line of events seemed to confuse me a lot. I wasn’t always sure how long had passed between events, especially the disappearance of Davis’s dad.
It was a good book. Not one that I’ll want to keep on my shelf forever though. It didn’t hit me in a spot that made me want to read it over and over again. To be honest, it may just be how sensitive the subject of the book was. Sometimes it’s hard to be reminded that you’re going through that.

Reviewed: 2018-05-07
This book follows the main character Aza, who struggles with OCD and anxiety. Her and Daisy (her best friend) are doing detective work on a missing billionaire fugitive, and Aza happens to know his son, Davis. There is a hundred-thousand dollar reward and Daisy is determined to get it. As soon as I started this book, I was feeling nervous. This is the first time that I have read a book and felt so connected to the main character because of my hypochondria. For those of you not familiar with that term, it’s essentially a person who is very anxious about their well being. And while reading this Aza was continuously worried that she was going to contract c. diff. Now, Aza and I aren’t exactly the same, her anxiety is a lot more intense than mine. Also, she’s constantly googling symptoms and signs of c. diff and that is a huge NO to me. I have learned the hard way that googling anything health related, makes it so much worse and essentially sends my thoughts spiraling. This book just does such a wonderful job of showing readers what goes on in the mind of someone with this type of anxiety. Most of the mental health books that I have read deal with social anxiety, so it was nice to read something different for a change. Daisy, I think was my favorite character, aside from Aza. Daisy is so funny and she seems like someone that would be fun to hang around. When Daisy and Aza have their fight, I was siding with Daisy at first because I understood where she was coming from about how Aza is self-centered and doesn’t know anything about what’s going on in Daisy’s life. I have been that friend, that is always there for my friends and they know nothing about what is going on with me or in my life. So I definitely saw where Daisy was coming from. But then when Aza said that she can’t get out of her head, I understood what she meant as well. Daisy says, “Mychal said once that you’re like mustard. Great in small quantities, but then a lot of you is… a lot.” Then Aza goes to say a little while later, “To use Mychal’s clever little analogy, imagine eating NOTHING BUT mustard, being stuck with mustard ALL THE TIME…” This analogy was just so perfect in describing how Aza’s mind works. I highly recommend this book. It’s so so good! It’s definitely one of my favorite reads of the year. Let me know your thoughts if you have read it.
Reviewed: 2018-04-04
Boring plot line and story no really big event
Reviewed: 2017-10-13

Listened to the audiobook version, believe this is my first time doing that for a John Green book, and I gotta say, I think this may be my favorite work of Green's. I really loved the main character's best friend, Daisy. She was very, very funny. I'm in a funky mental state myself right now (my friends keep saying I need to see a therapist), so I really related to and felt Aza's mental afflictions. Love interest Davis is also a great big cheeseball. It's got all the usual John Green elements — teenagers who talk very, very deeply and philosophically, unexpected tidbits of historical trivia that are crucial to sideplots, tons of emotional distress and angst — but for once, I didn't find most of that to be a distraction (except sometimes maybe the teens started getting a little too wordy with their philosophy). It felt like Green had finally struck the right balance, at least for me.

Overall: It's The Hunger Games of your mind.

Item Posts
@intermediacy
@intermediacy completed #turtlesalltheway... on 2019-08-31
@mangoquest
@mangoquest completed #turtlesalltheway... on 2019-01-16
@ashleynicole98
@ashleynicole98 completed #turtlesalltheway... on 2018-12-20
@ashleynicole98
@ashleynicole98 began #turtlesalltheway... on 2018-12-18
@jdanz
@jdanz completed #turtlesalltheway... on 2018-12-11
@jdanz
@jdanz began #turtlesalltheway... on 2018-12-11
@aghteaching
@aghteaching completed #turtlesalltheway... on 2017-11-16
@slevasse97
@slevasse97 completed #turtlesalltheway... on 2018-03-04
@slevasse97
@slevasse97 began #turtlesalltheway... on 2018-03-04
@stephaanniieee
@stephaanniieee completed #turtlesalltheway... on 2018-03-04
@randomreads00
@randomreads00 completed #turtlesalltheway... on 2018-02-09
@randomreads00
@randomreads00 began #turtlesalltheway... on 2018-02-01
@krixano
@krixano completed #turtlesalltheway... on 2017-12-25
@krixano
@krixano began #turtlesalltheway... on 2017-12-24
@lilleens
@lilleens completed #turtlesalltheway... on 2018-01-15