Before She Ignites

Jodi Meadows
"A fully realized fantasy world complete with dragons, treachery, and flawed characters discovering their courage. I couldn't put it down!" --C. J. Redwine, New York Times bestselling author of The Shadow Queen From the New York Times bestselling co-author of My Lady Jane comes a smoldering new fantasy trilogy perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Kristin Cashore about a girl condemned for defending dragons and the inner fire that may be her only chance of escape. Mira has always been a symbol of hope for the Fallen Isles, perfect and beautiful--or at least that's how she's forced to appear. But when she uncovers a dangerous secret, Mira is betrayed by those closest to her and sentenced to the deadliest prison in the Fallen Isles. Except Mira is over being a pawn. Fighting to survive against outer threats and inner demons of mental illness, Mira must find her inner fire and the scorching truth about her own endangered magic--before her very world collapses. And that's all before she ignites. 

Reviews

Reviewed: 2018-11-07

This book was absolutely terrible!

I hardly even knew what was going on most of the time. There was so much repetition, there was hardly a plot and the character development was meh. There really wasn't any until close to the very end of the book. You also don't find out why Mira is even in prison until about 250 pages in. So you're left basically guessing what the heck is going on.

I don't think this book was very well organized either. There are so many "flashback" chapters, but they're all in a random order. They don't go in any specific order, which is kind of confusing. In all honesty, some of those chapters weren't really needed. If you wanted to show memories, just do it as a thought from the character. Entire chapters didn't really seem necessary.

I just couldn't stand this book and I was honestly thinking about DNFing it about halfway through. I don't normally DNF books though and I had to force myself to finish it.

Item Posts
@slevasse97
@slevasse97 completed #fallenislesbook0... on 2018-11-07
@slevasse97
@slevasse97 began #fallenislesbook0... on 2018-11-04
@zoearabella
@zoearabella completed #beforesheignites... on 2018-03-06
@zoearabella
@zoearabella began #beforesheignites... on 2018-03-04