5th Wave (The 5th Wave, #1), The

Yancey, Rick
The Passage meets Ender's Game in an epic new series from award-winning author Rick Yancey. After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.Now, it's the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth's last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie's only hope for rescuing her brother--or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2020-02-26
I'm giving it three stars because it was entertaining but way too predictable. The world building was SO promising but didn't live up to its full potential for me. Also the conflicted love interest was kinda pointless, and felt forced and unrealistic :( Might give a chance to the second book.
Reviewed: 2018-09-28
Highly Entertained - Other than some frustrations in the formatting of this book, I was highly entertained and will anxiously await the continuation of the story. In the end I loved all the characters, but early on in the book I wanted more of Cassie and her side of the story. In introducing the characters there were long (perhaps 100 pages) of her absence which was annoying to say the least. I see similarities in 2 characters (Ringer and Evan) which I am curious to see if these play out in book 2. Are they more alike than we currently know?
Reviewed: 2018-01-25
After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.

Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother—or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.

I choose to read 5th Wave for New Year's Eve because what better way to end the year, right? I was so glad I did. The book entrapped me from the first page - it was so realistic and I was immersed in the experience. The whole body-snatcher alien theory was turned around in such a way that made you question the limits of humanity. I was pin-balling between dread, anxiety and horror throughout; it was quite intense to read it.

Told from different perspectives, but majorly from the first perspectives of Cassie and Ben, the story questions your deductions at every turn. It is obvious that the boot camp is shady from the start but until halfway through the book, it is very difficult to pin down the real baddie. Cassie was such an amazing character - strong, resourceful, smart and alien-apocalypse-ready. Evan comes off a bit creepy at times, and Ben was annoying in the start with his hero-worship. The writing was brilliant and utterly 3-dimensional and the voices so distinct - Cassie being dry-sarcastic, Ben with his guilt-hero thing, Evan in conflict and Sam through his childish eyes. I wouldn't go into the details of the alien construct, because that would be spoilery, but the whole process of their invasion - totally fabulous. One of the best alien sci-fi I have come across!
Reviewed: 2017-12-07
4.5 stars... I think.

Initial Impressions: What a wild ride! I've heard everyone raving about this book so when I was looking for an amazing book to pick up, this was my choice.
I'm not an alien person at all, so I was hesitant, but it was totally well done and very interesting. I definitely couldn't put it down and it was action-packed.
I think I was waiting for a BIT more epic but the plot was definitely twisty and so many stories interwoven that I never knew which side was good and which side was evil... And that was kind of the point.
I loved Cassie. She was strong-willed, sassy, and sarcastic which definitely kept me entertained.
Very rarely it was a bit hard to follow -- Sometimes because the action was going by so quickly and sometimes just because of the way it was written. It wasn't complicated but it was sort of stream-of-consciousness at times so thoughts had the tendency to jump and I had to follow.
I'd definitely recommend it!

Review originally posted on The Book Addict's Guide:
I was terrified to start THE 5TH WAVE. I do not like alien stories — basically ever — but after so many rave reviews and friends telling me it’s a totally different kind of alien story, I decided to trust them! The aliens in this book — usually referred to as “the Others” (because they’re something other than human) — are not little green men with big eyes come to Earth in corporeal form. They co-inhabit human bodies and have been “awakened” at the right moment, basically after all the growing up and puberty and whatnot, so they really are ONE with the human – body and soul. They look like humans, talk like humans, act like humans… Until they turn around and shoot you.

I think one of the things that also helped with the alien topic was that they were believable. We don’t know what aliens would look like if they did exist and I think this is a great way of NOT putting a body that we couldn’t possibly imagine to that idea of life outside of our planet. Also, the Others are essentially destroying the humans in waves (hence, THE 5TH WAVE) so there’s a sense of post-apocalyptic Earth that was a big part of the book as well. I usually enjoy those kinds of books. (I do love my post-apocalyptic & dystopian books!)

THE 5TH WAVE focuses mainly on Cassie who is essentially telling us her story as it happens to her with a few flashbacks here and there. I gotta say… I loved Cassie! She used to be the nice girl, and once the 1st wave hit, she really instantly toughened up. I loved her sarcasm and biting humor and she actually reminded me of one of my friends so it was almost like reading about someone I knew! I loved that we get to see how tough and brave Cassie is, but she’s still totally scared out of her mind at the same time. She has a lot of tough decisions to make to stay alive and I really felt that sense of nervousness and constant fear from her.

I know a few reviewers had said that the change of narrators was a bit confusing, but it didn’t really bother me. I was expecting each chapter to alternate or jump around, but there are specific sections and each section — not chapter — is narrated by one specific character. Sometimes it changes from first to third person and sometimes the voice is not always immediately clear, but I really wasn’t bothered by it too much. I think it was more of the fact that regardless of POV or narrator, I needed to focus just a bit more. Some parts were alternating between present time and flashbacks, some parts were jumpy because of action, some because of a stream of consciousness-style flow, but I didn’t find it confusing. It just required a bit more focus than reading a “fluffier” type novel.

The thing I loved the most was how all of the loose ends tie up in the end. Stories come together, mysteries solved, and we FINALLY find out who is good and who is bad. The whole point of the book is that Cassie can never trust anyone because the Others look just like any other human and there’s nothing to give them away as untrustworthy. I kept suspecting people left and right, switching my opinions of good and bad in my head, and when everything finally came together, I felt much better! I think because the book received so much hype, I wasn’t let down per se, but I wasn’t TOTALLY amazed and shocked. I loved the suspense, action, characters, and plot, but it wasn’t quite a five-star read for me.
Reviewed: 2017-01-29
It’s only a little over a week into the new year, and I’m honestly afraid I might not read anything better than Rick Yancey’s The 5th Wave for the rest of 2016. Katniss and Tris must make room on the YA heroine pedestal for Cassie, one of few survivors of the first four waves of alien attacks on Earth. Cassie has an unwavering will to save her little brother from the clutches of aliens. But the aliens do their clutching with human hands—in this new world, at the start of the fifth wave of deaths, it’s impossible to tell friend from foe, human from alien. The story alternates between Cassie’s point of view and that of her long-time crush, Ben Parish, who becomes a soldier after the aliens attack. Narrators Phoebe Strole and Brandon Espinoza bring this story of survival and spunk to life (even as they describe being surrounded by death and desolation). With the movie adaptation hitting theaters later this month, it’s high time for any fellow humans to get on this hype train. And, as Cassie writes in her diary, “In case you’re an alien and you’re reading this: BITE ME.”

Originally written for Scribd: http://blog.scribd.com/2016/01/07/top-books-for-january-2016/

I agree with people that it could've used to be cut down a little bit but damn.
Reviewed: 2017-01-15
A solid young adult sci-fi. Good pacing, characters and story. Somewhat predictable, but that might stem from having read/seen a few too many alien invasion stories.

Will definitely pick up the next book in this series.
Reviewed: 2016-07-05
Nah, mate. It may sound cool and all if one is a sci-fi fan, but this is just another romantic creepy storyline involving an alien and a teenager girl... with the uncalled love triangle. This wasn't what I agreed to read. So much potential and good writing lost...
Reviewed: 2016-02-18

This is totally how I imagine an alien invasion would happen, no green aliens in a ship saying, "Take me to your leader" and I liked that. Rick went back and forth between many different voices, but I never had a problem keeping up with the storyline and who was talking. There are some twists that MAY be a bit predictable as you go along, but I still really liked this book and how it was written. The movie on the other hand, I was not a fan of, so if you saw the movie first and didn't like it, still check out the book.



Reviewed: 2016-01-02
I actually really loved this book I'm excited for the movie, it kept me on my toes and I couldn't put it down I finished this book in 2 days.
Item Posts
@maragtzr
@maragtzr completed #0000000005thwave... on 2014-12-13
@maragtzr
@maragtzr began #0000000005thwave... on 2014-12-02
@isilmeaiwe
@isilmeaiwe completed #0000000005thwave... on 2018-03-17
@isilmeaiwe
@isilmeaiwe began #0000000005thwave... on 2018-03-17
@kpdickinson
@kpdickinson completed #0000000005thwave... on 2016-01-30
@kpdickinson
@kpdickinson began #0000000005thwave... on 2016-01-18
@sawcat
@sawcat completed #0000000005thwave... on 2013-10-02
@shortstackdrew
@shortstackdrew completed #0000000005thwave... on 2018-04-28
@angelraven
@angelraven completed #05thwavethe... on 2016-11-09
@angelraven
@angelraven began #05thwavethe... on 2016-11-05
@dsantana3758
@dsantana3758 completed #05thwavethe... on 2016-01-13
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 completed #05thwavethe... on 2014-07-04
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 began #05thwavethe... on 2014-07-01
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 began #05thwavethe... on 2015-07-01
@bnsimpler94
@bnsimpler94 completed #05thwavethe... on 2015-07-04