Amy & Roger's Epic Detour

Morgan Matson
Amy Curry thinks her life sucks. Her mom decides to move from California to Connecticut to start anew--just in time for Amy's senior year. Her dad recently died in a car accident. So Amy embarks on a road trip to escape from it all, driving cross-country from the home she's always known toward her new life. Joining Amy on the road trip is Roger, the son of Amy's mother's old friend. Amy hasn’t seen him in years, and she is less than thrilled to be driving across the country with a guy she barely knows. So she's surprised to find that she is developing a crush on him. At the same time, she’s coming to terms with her father’s death and how to put her own life back together after the accident. Told in traditional narrative as well as scraps from the road--diner napkins, motel receipts, postcards--this is the story of one girl's journey to find herself.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2017-12-07
Initial Impressions 7/28/17: This book was so cute and also very deep at the same time. I didn't expect tragedy to be involved (no spoiler -- it's why the book happens in the first place) so I might not have picked it up so eagerly if I had known that but I also like that I didn't know that because I could have missed a really wonderful book.

I loved the dynamic between Amy and Roger and how it wasn't instalove. There was so much more to this book than just the romance but I also liked how things ended.

This was my second Morgan Matson book and it was so enjoyable! I can't believe it was written in 2010!! The music was like a high school/college flashback and I LOVED the playlist (and Roger's taste in music)!

Full review as originally posted HERE on The Book Addict's Guide 10/12/17: I’ve actually only read one other Morgan Matson book so far (SINCE YOU’VE BEEN GONE) and I’ve found her writing to be fun, enjoyable, a true to real life. I basically have all of her books on my TBR so when this book came up in an Audible sale, it was a quick pick for me and I was excited to read it!

AMY & ROGER’S EPIC DETOUR was so cute and also very deep at the same time. I didn’t expect tragedy to be involved (no spoiler — it’s why the book happens in the first place) so I might not have picked it up so eagerly if I had known that but I also like that I didn’t know that because I could have missed a really wonderful book. I tend to trust authors who have good reviews or whose works I’ve already enjoyed so I just kind of jumped into this one and I’m really glad I did! The book starts after the death of Amy’s father and I’ve been avoiding a lot of books surrounding death/tragedy/disease, etc to keep things positive and fluffy and happy and surprisingly, this book was both at the same time.

I loved the dynamic between Amy and Roger and how it grew throughout the book. The two start out as near strangers (they used to know each other as kids but barely) and despite only really knowing each other for a few days, their feelings for each other didn’t feel like instalove. Being stuck in a car with someone for several days allows you to get to know them and know them well within a short period of time so I found that quite realistic and positively adorable. They had their shared interests, their differences, a few quarrels, and a lot of really cute moments. I really enjoyed how their friendship and relationship developed as the story went on!

There was also so much more to this book than just the romance. Amy is forced to embark upon this road trip to take the family car from her old home in California to their new home in Connecticut, but she also makes some important life decisions on her own (and with some enlightenment from Roger) and really matures along the way. The death of her father has severely shaken the family, of course, and Amy starts to come to terms with his death, how it happened, and what it means to continue on with life and how to enjoy it without him there. She learns what it means to be an adult and take on responsibility for your actions, how to make better relationships, and how to make decisions that are best for her, even if they’re not the easiest ones to make.

I loved the depth in this story and the character growth while still having that fluffy, happy feeling of a super cute relationship. AMY & ROGER’S EPIC DETOUR was such a fun and wonderful read — oh, and let’s not forgot about the high school/college flashback with all of the amazing road trip playlists! Morgan Matson incorporated music in this book in the form of playlists and everything from Amy’s musicals to Roger’s indie rock took me back to 2010 (when this book was written — I didn’t realize it was that old!) and had me feeling some epic nostalgia too!
Reviewed: 2015-09-19
Lo único quiero ahora es embarcarme en un viaje por alguna carretera sin rumbo definido.

No tenía ninguna expectativa cuando comencé a leerlo, además solo sabía que había un road trip involucrado. Me sorprendió gratamente y me dejó muy satisfecha.

La autora no dudó en usar todos los recursos disponibles a su alcance para hacer de la historia algo más entretenido y real. Cada ciertas páginas te encuentras con fotos, recibos y playlists que Amy va anotando en un cuaderno a medida que avanza en su viaje de un estado a otro.

Como dice la sinopsis es la historia de una chica que intenta ser ella misma de nuevo. Amy ha pasado por un montón de cosas que la llevaron a un estado de indiferencia frente a la vida y a ocultar sus verdaderos sentimientos: la pérdida de un padre, la culpa y el distanciamiento de las personas que se suponen deberían ser mas cercanas a ella en esos momentos. Tiene una gran carga emocional que va aliviándose a través del viaje. Roger, con quien realiza el viaje, es encantador y paciente, es divertido y sociable (si bien hay romance en el libro, tienen que saber que no es lo más importante) y fue clave para que Amy comenzará a dejar ir las culpas y un pasado que no puede cambiar.

Los personajes secundarios, personas con quienes se fueron encontrando en el camino, fueron claves para que Amy empezara a sanar. Todos ellos inspiradores. Mi favorita tiene que ser Bronwyn, siempre viviendo la vida al máximo y la amiga perfecta para alegrarte el día. Y odié a Hadley, que persona más desagradable. Ugh.

La verdad es no se que mas decir al respecto. Cuando lo terminé me sentí bien y feliz y mi primer pensamiento fue âno tengo idea de que voy a poner en la reseña.â En fin, es una historia entretenida, rápida y simplemente encantadora. Es además, el viaje (emocional) de una persona intentado recuperar su vida, restaurar sus relaciones y seguir adelante con la esperanza de que las cosas serán mejor mañana.

Reseña publicada primero en: http://beautifulbookaffair.tumblr.com/
Item Posts
@aleacevedo
@aleacevedo completed #amyrogersepicdet... on 2015-12-14
@sensanchez
@sensanchez completed #amyrogersepicdet... on 2015-06-14
@sensanchez
@sensanchez began #amyrogersepicdet... on 2015-06-11
@sensanchez
@sensanchez completed #amyrogersepicdet... on 2015-06-14
@okklou
@okklou completed #amyrogersepicdet... on 2015-05-01
@okklou
@okklou began #amyrogersepicdet... on 2015-04-12