Renegades

Marissa Meyer
From #1 New York Times-bestselling author Marissa Meyer, comes a high-stakes world of adventure, passion, danger, and betrayal.Secret Identities.Extraordinary Powers.She wants vengeance. He wants justice.The Renegades are a syndicate of prodigies―humans with extraordinary abilities―who emerged from the ruins of a crumbled society and established peace and order where chaos reigned. As champions of justice, they remain a symbol of hope and courage to everyone...except the villains they once overthrew.Nova has a reason to hate the Renegades, and she is on a mission for vengeance. As she gets closer to her target, she meets Adrian, a Renegade boy who believes in justice―and in Nova. But Nova's allegiance is to the villains who have the power to end them both.

Reviews

Reviewed: 2020-06-08

The best description for this book/series in 10 words or less:

"Boy and girl who unknowingly fight each other work together."

 

The alternating female-to-male point of view is very captivating. It gives more of a feel of what both sides feel about the other and why they act and scheme the way they do. It makes the point that there is no true black and white when it comes to justice. Maybe all the fighting is all for nothing if both sides are not willing to try to see the others' perspectives.

Nova is known as "Nightmare" to the Anarchists, and the Anarchists have raised her after her family's tragic death. She blames the Renegades from not protecting her family and her mission is to annihilate them, so she has closure. Her identity isn't known, so it is only up to her to go incognito as a Renegade under the name "Insomnia" where she tries to find out all their secrets and their weaknesses. She is powerful, resourceful, and could put anyone asleep with a touch. But, will her time with the Renegades show a new light to why they act a certain way?

Adrian can sketch, which is the reason for his superhero name "Sketch," like no one ever could, and his drawings even come to life if he wants them to. After Nightmare tries to kill his father, he makes it his own personal mission to find out who she is and why she is acting against the Renegades. He creates his own suit, tattoos himself, and goes under the name "Sentinel" as he gives himself more abilities and fighting Nightmare. How far will he go before he is caught?

There is a romance in this which makes the stakes even higher and even more exciting. But, you only get a glimpse into this installment.

This novel does explore LBGT as  Adrian is adopting by couple Hugh "Captain Chromium" Everhart and Simon "Dread Warden" Westwood when Adrian's mother "Lady Indomitable" (Unknown Name [Currently]) died in battle when he was very young. You get a good glimpse of their life together with Adrian. But, I am wondering if we will find out Adrian's mother's real identity.

This novel is extremely action-packed. Even though a couple of the fights are a couple of chapters long, you're really kept at the end of your seating waiting for what's to happen next. The cliff hanger at the end was a little disappointing. The book went from such a high intense point and basically died immediately after ending with a mediocre cliff hanger for the next book to pick up from.

 

Refer to my blog for a different view of this review:

https://axarr.blogspot.com/2017/11/new-release-review-renegades-by-marissa.html

Reviewed: 2019-02-28
Ace Anarchy is alive!!! And the Detonator [Ingrid] was killed by Nova.
Reviewed: 2018-07-23
Oh. My. Gosh.
Reviewed: 2017-12-07
Initial Impressions 10/12/17: 4.25 - 4.5 stars
Okay, so I'm trying to be more real about my ratings this year and while I'm always tempted to give anything Marissa Meyer 5 stars since she's an absolute favorite, I'm paying attention to what I read and how I feel about it and not just my fangirl emotions!

So, RENEGADES! This was incredibly enjoyable and I especially think fans of Brandon Sanderson's Reckoners trilogy will love it! The book had some great characters, a fun concept, intrigue, and a few good plot twists that we've enjoyed so much in Marissa Meyer's other books! I really enjoyed this book from start to finish and as always, I regret that I didn't have longer strings of uninterrupted time to read this so I wasn't as distracted, but I did my best!

One thing Marissa Meyer always does a great job with is setting up a new world. Gatlon City easily came alive in my mind, as did the various locations within it, how everything looked, and all the details down to the Renegades uniforms. I'm always able to get such a clear picture in my mind and I love being able to be IN the story like that. I would have loved to get a little more info about prodigies and how they came to be. I'm pretty much always feeling like I need to know the reasons WHY worlds are the way they are in a lot of books lately, leading me to feel like I'm missing a tiny something and I definitely wanted more history of how this current world came to be, but there's also a second book in which we can get a lot more backstory! It's always hard with the first book in a series because I never know what's been held back because of future twists or spoilers!

I LOVED reading from the perspective of an Anarchist (Nova) and a Renegade (Adrian) and seeing how their two worlds collided. It's always so much fun to read the "villain" POV because you know I love villains with a soft heart or those morally grey areas, so I really enjoyed getting to know Nova in that respect! She deals with a lot of questions about herself and her life and I liked being able to see why she was on the side of the Anarchists and why her mission had meaning. I always like villains with a purpose and not just characters who are evil for the sake of being evil, so that was something I really enjoyed about all of the Anarchists. They all had their reasons for choosing that side and it was interesting to be able to see their human side!
The perspective of the Renegades through Adrian's eyes was also incredibly interesting! He's the son of the two "head honchos" of the Renegades council and so his part in missions becomes in more complicated. People wonder if he's favored or given special treatment because of this and he also is "forced" (he chooses) to do things out of the public's eye so he can do something anonymous for once. He aligns with the Renegades, of course, and has a special investment with his fathers being the leaders but like any typical teenager, he also veers off-course and tries to find himself, what's important to him, and essentially rebels just a little bit when he feels he's being left in the dark for no reason.

The forbidden romance aspect is always a favorite of mine and I loved the interactions between Nova and Adrian! I did wish for a bit more banter and for Nova to give him a bit more acid because I adore banter and it's the best, end of story. But it was also something I loved so much about The Lunar Chronicles. Also, with so many different groups -- Renegades, Anarchists, squads, teams, patrols, etc -- I was kind of hoping for some more #squadgoals to appear in this book and the friendships fell just a little flat for me. They were enjoyable but I would have loved to see more interaction, with everyone really, to feel more of a tug at that forbidden romance and really pull at my emotions for Nova and Adrian, and to see more BFFs and squads who have each others back. These elements were surely there but I didn't QUITE feel it at the level I was hoping for and have enjoyed so much in the past.

There were some really great twists here, some I saw coming and some I didn't at all, and I loved all of them, big or small. This book was well thought out and executed and I had fun following this story throughout the first book! I can't wait to see what else is in store for the series to come and I already really look forward to re-reading this on audio before book two comes out! I think my re-read will be even more enjoyable when I'm able to listen at a much more consistent pace than I was able to read my ARC. Always a big fan!
Item Posts
@jennys7owls
@jennys7owls began #renegades0000000... on 2020-04-01
@jennys7owls
@jennys7owls completed #renegades0000000... on 2020-04-26
@emmiemae
@emmiemae began #renegades... on 2019-02-26
@shixam
@shixam completed #renegades... on 2018-06-22
@shixam
@shixam began #renegades... on 2018-06-13
@lilleens
@lilleens completed #renegades... on 2018-02-05
@mkstew
@mkstew completed #renegades... on 2018-01-20